We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline$72
eDreams$72
Agoda.com$72
Tripadvisor$72
Trip.com
StayForLong
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
40
25
10
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
40
25
10
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old world charm the heart of the city in house rooms are spacious fairlawns colonial foreigners market glory joy era staycation vintage bathtub spread
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed just one night in this lovely hotel. We booked for two nights, but had to leave earlier because of the corona-curfew on sunday 22nd and our rescheduled flight to Delhi to catch the connecting flight to Europe. Management refused any refund for the skipped second night. Well, OK, they stood in their rights and we were the only guests so they probably did not have a good week, but still.....they nade a false start in my opinion.
Electricity was off (only in our room) from check in (2.30pm) to evening (6.45pm), due to rewiring outside. The reception staff knew about all this, but did not warn us upon check in, should have offered us another room. No excuses were made when I went down to make a friendly complaint. Also the dining room was not available, because maintenance-workers. We had dinner in the garden. The dinner was fine, and we left the next day after a great breakfast.
Maybe too short a stay to give a full review, but long enough to see and feel there is a lot to gain in customer centric-attitude!p and behaviour.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank robertjoosth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, Owner at The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Sir !

On behalf of the entire team from The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata (Calcutta), I sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us . I have made a note of your helpful feedback and i have made the necessary corrections so the same mistakes are not repeated for our future guests . Should you need assistance with your refund please feel free to contact me anytime after the coronal curfew is lifted which should be the 15th of April hopefully . My contact details are below for your ready reference.

As you are aware ! The Elgin heritage hotel chain run by the Oberoi family of hoteliers has recently acquired the property and please be rest assured that as this iconic hotel is passed down from the Smith family to the Oberoi family all efforts will be made to restore and refurbish the property with all modern amenities yet keeping in mind the colonial ambience and aesthetics . The idea and aim is to strike the right balance between the yester years and the modern contemporary world, and so we envision to bring back this colonial beauty back to life as a boutique heritage hotel with all its history and glory.

Housed in a 1783 building with a colonial-era vibe, this memorabilia-filled, family-run hotel is a minutes' walk from the Indian Museum and a 6-minute stroll from the nearest metro station. It’s also 2.3 km from the landmark Victoria Memorial. The rooms feature free Wi-Fi, plus flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, and tea and coffee making facilities.Complimentary perks include full English breakfast and parking. Other meals (including afternoon tea) are offered in a dining room, as well as on a terrace. There's also a relaxed guest lounge and a garden patio. The property has a generator for backup power.

My warmest regards,

Mr Rabindra Nath Pal,
General Manager,
The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata
13A, Sudder St,
Kolkata, West Bengal 700016
Telephone: +91- 33 2252 1510
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email- reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020 via mobile

My daughter and I visited here for lunch and it had a lovely relaxed ambience. The lunch was very tasty and the drinks were good. I stayed here twice when Violet was alive and loved it. Her presence is sadly missed by all it is not the same.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank beadfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, Owner at The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Sir !

On behalf of the entire team from The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata (Calcutta), we thank you for your feedback !

It was indeed very heartfelt of you to give such a warm and genuine detailed review and we are indeed grateful!

Housed in a 1783 building with a colonial-era vibe, this memorabilia-filled, family-run hotel is a minutes' walk from the Indian Museum and a 6-minute stroll from the nearest metro station. It’s also 2.3 km from the landmark Victoria Memorial. The rooms feature free Wi-Fi, plus flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Other meals (including afternoon tea) are offered in the Imperial dining room, as well as on a terrace. There's also a relaxed guest lounge and a garden patio. The property has a generator for backup power.

My warmest regards,

Mr Rabindra Nath Pal,
General Manager,
The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata
13A, Sudder Street,
Kolkata, West Bengal 700016
Telephone: +91- 033 2252 1510
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email- reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2020 via mobile

This is a good hotel which makes the most of its history and celebrity links: photos and letters from a range of guests over the years decorate all the walls. The staff are courteous and helpful and the more expensive rooms are excellent value for their comfort and decor. The breakfast is great with a range of food well presented in the 'open' dining area, staff are courteous and helpful. The hotel does not serve alcohol. The balcony sitting area is good to relax and unwind and the courtyard serves a good afternoon tea. This is generally a stay that is in a central location and an experience with quirky touches reminiscent of a particular time in India’s past.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Kem1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, Owner at The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Sir !

On behalf of the entire team from The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata (Calcutta), we thank you for feedback ! We are happy to know of your feedback and we would like you to know that we envision to positively breathe life back into our property and bring about the much needed positive transformation that a vibrant city such as Kolkata (Calcutta) deserves !

As you are aware ! The Elgin heritage hotel chain run by the Oberoi family of hoteliers has recently acquired the property and please be rest assured that as this iconic hotel is passed down from the Smith family to the Oberoi family all efforts will be made to restore and refurbish the property with all modern amenities yet keeping in mind the colonial ambience and aesthetics . The idea and aim is to strike the right balance between the yester years and the modern contemporary world, and so we envision to bring back this colonial beauty back to life as a boutique heritage hotel with all its history and glory.

Housed in a 1783 building with a colonial-era vibe, this memorabilia-filled, family-run hotel is a minutes' walk from the Indian Museum and a 6-minute stroll from the nearest metro station. It’s also 2.3 km from the landmark Victoria Memorial. The rooms feature free Wi-Fi, plus flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, and tea and coffee making facilities.Complimentary perks include full English breakfast and parking. Other meals (including afternoon tea) are offered in a dining room, as well as on a terrace. There's also a relaxed guest lounge and a garden patio. The property has a generator for backup power.

My warmest regards,

Mr Rabindra Nath Pal,
General Manager,
The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata
13A, Sudder St,
Kolkata, West Bengal 700016
Telephone: +91- 33 2252 1510
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email- reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2020 via mobile

It’s a shame that The Fair Lawn still has no licence, especially as it has upgraded its sitting out areas so well. The renovation here is slow, of course it must retain some of its old eccentricity but though they mop from noon to night they don’t really clean. The cheaper are good value but the newly renovated rooms are expensive in comparison with other hotels in town.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank milksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, Owner at The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Sir/ Madam!

On behalf of the entire team from The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata (Calcutta), I would like to apologise to you that we couldnt serve your beer, we have applied for our alcohol license and we should have it soon to enable us to serve beer once again.

Once again we thank you for feedback and we would like you to know that we envision to positively breathe life back into our property and bring about the much needed positive transformation that a vibrant city such as Kolkata (Calcutta) deserves !

Housed in a 1783 building with a colonial-era vibe, this memorabilia-filled, family-run hotel is a minutes' walk from the Indian Museum and a 6-minute stroll from the nearest metro station. It’s also 2.3 km from the landmark Victoria Memorial. The rooms feature free Wi-Fi, plus flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, and tea and coffee making facilities.Complimentary perks include full English breakfast and parking. Other meals (including afternoon tea) are offered in a dining room, as well as on a terrace. There's also a relaxed guest lounge and a garden patio. The property has a generator for backup power.

My warmest regards,

Mr Rabindra Nath Pal,
General Manager,
The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata
13A, Sudder St,
Kolkata, West Bengal 700016
Telephone: +91- 33 2252 1510
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email- reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

This is an amazing hotel!! It's walls are covered in photographs of famous people who have stayed there and who have appreciated not only the place but the warm welcoming of the Oberoi's who own it. Diamond Oberoi specializes in boutique hotels and you will find many interesting people who choose to stay here and to return. Our room was spacious and interesting, some antique furniture etc. The food was excellent as was the service. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony upstairs for drinks and to visit with other guests. Our wonderful tour guide David Trattles has known the Oberoi's for many years and their is apparent mutual affection on both sides. I can't recommend it highly enough. I think it is popular so try and book ahead

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Judi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, Owner at The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2020

Dear Madam !

On behalf of the entire team from The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata (Calcutta), we thank you for your feedback !

It was indeed very heartfelt of you to give such a warm and genuine detailed review and we are indeed grateful!

Housed in a 1783 building with a colonial-era vibe, this memorabilia-filled, family-run hotel is a minutes' walk from the Indian Museum and a 6-minute stroll from the nearest metro station. It’s also 2.3 km from the landmark Victoria Memorial. The rooms feature free Wi-Fi, plus flat-screen TVs, mini fridges, and tea and coffee making facilities.

Other meals (including afternoon tea) are offered in the Imperial dining room, as well as on a terrace. There's also a relaxed guest lounge and a garden patio. The property has a generator for backup power.

My warmest regards,

Mr Rabindra Nath Pal,
General Manager,
The Elgin Fairlawn, Kolkata
13A, Sudder Street,
Kolkata, West Bengal 700016
Telephone: +91- 033 2252 1510
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email- reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews