We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kolkata means The Oberoi Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Kolkata means The Oberoi Grand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I visit Kolkata, at least, 4/5 times a year on business/ leisure. Except for Hyatt, I've done the 5 star hotel circuit few times. In my opinion, The Oberoi Grand is the best and for the last one year I've been staying here during my visits to Kolkata. Why ? Firstly, because of the location. New Market ( where my wife does most of her shopping ) is only 2 minutes walk from the hotel; Park Street ( Kolkata's Oxford Street ) is 3/5 minutes in a taxi; the hustle & bustle of Chowringhee. Secondly, the character of the hotel.....amazing woodwork, very old trees in a well kept garden, wonderful foyer and traditional and comfortable rooms. Thirdly, friendly and professional service. Fourthly, dining is a pleasure, from great buffet breakfasts to excellent Thai dinners at Ban Thai. Lastly, the warm feeling that the staff are trying their best to make you feel at home.
Conclusion: My most favorite hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden / pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyedDhaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts the old world charm and the Victorian culture.

Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest. Our Thai restaurant has been awarded as the best specialty restaurant of the city. The hotel is located next to the famous “New Market” of Kolkata. It is a preferred hotel of both our leisure and business travellers as it is located in the business hub of Kolkata. Indeed it is a perfect setting for an anniversary.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata and making it even more special for your next visit.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,560
    322
    68
    15
    7
See reviews for
307
522
207
685
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Ive been lucky enough to stay at the Oberoi Grand on several occasions and can honestly say that it is my favourite hotel anywhere.
Just to walk into the foyer is a wonderful experience.
The staff are charming and professional and know how to make a guest feel special.
The rooms are traditional and very comfortable, and the public rooms are quietly
elegant.
The restaurants are superb, and so is the Spa.
its everything one could desire in a hotel - think Id like to live there!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Indeed it has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and warm and friendly service to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is probably my favourite hotel in the world. The staff is exceptional, with each member knowing not only their own job, but how what they do fits into the larger picture. They are charming, attentive, and faultlessly professional. Everyone from the Front Desk manager to the housekeeping staff, the concierge, and the wait-staff in the restaurants are helpful and smiling. And all this with a no-tipping policy (though it is permitted to leave something for the whole staff at the end - they really deserve it!).This is so rare in the world that it really warrants mention. The hotel itself is impeccably maintained and strikes the right note between modernity and tradition. Room service and La Terrasse are both excellent.

The oasis like quality of the Oberoi Grand is often remarked upon and it is most certainly true. The oasis is not merely a physical property though. The standards and traditions observed in this lovely hotel are exceptional and make a stay at the Oberoi Grand a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lebaronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay recently at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It has indeed been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality. Your appreciation has been a tremendous source of inspiration for our team members and I am sure your words of encouragement would definitely go a long way in inspiring and motivating the team to deliver Service Par Excellence to all our discerning guests. Many of our guests identify the hotel as an oasis to come back to after spending a long day in the city. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our special pillow menu

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dhaka
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

As my previous visit in Kolkata was a "no, no, no" (see my report on Lytton hotel...), I decided to go back to the Oberoi Grand, where in the past I had had a good experince.
Though it was quite expensive (about 200 usd/night), we decided to book a room at this hotel through Agoda. We add some preferences online (no smoking room, high floor, twin beds), but when we arrived (about 6.30 pm, so not an early check in!), only the "no smoking room" option was fullfilled. We were kept at the reception for quite an uncommonly long time and we thought that something was wrong: when we were taken to our room, we were told that the system had a breack down and electronic key card were not working. It happens, bur this doesn't excuse what happened after. The first room was really nice, but with a king size bed: my friend and I asked for a twin beds room and we were taken to another one. Unfortunately the girl from the reception was not able to open the door with the "regular" key, so, as it was getting really late, we told her that we'd leave all our luggage at the reception and we'd entered our room after coming back from dinner (we had already told them that we had a dinner, after seeing that the check in was taking us a bit too long). When we came back to the hotel after dinner we were given the new elctronic key cards: the system was ok and we managed to enter our room on the first floor. We asked again to have a room on a higher floor and the receptionist told us that it would be possible the day after, as all the rooms were occupied. The room was smaller than the first one with the king size bed and apparently it was supposed to be for one guest: one pair of slippers, one bath robe, one botle of water. We called the room service and asked for a second set of things and we were given immediately. The day after we reminded the new receptionist about the moving to a room on a higher floor and he said that it would be possible, but we'd have to pay for an upgrade. We accepted, but when we were given the new room, we realised that the room was exactly the same in, apart from being on the second floor and having a small balcony. We expected that after all the problems of the first day, the so called "upgrade" would be free of charge. On top of this I have to point out that the Wi-fi is quite pricey (6 usd every 30 minutes) and the system is not working properly. Apparently you use your surname as username and the number of the room as password, but in the first room it did not work. We called the reception and we were told that they used the name of the second guest instead of the one of that who checked in. We had another problem with the second room and my friend went to the reception to point it out. She was told that everything was working, but when she showed them that it wasn't, they apologised and told her that they'd fix the problem immediately. They did it. Another thing we did not expect was the fact that in the bathroom of both the rooms there was not the essentials you usually find in 5 star hotels: my friend forgot her toothpaste and not even a minisize was to be found. Neither spare tooth brush, comb, razor or nail buffer. Maybe we got spoilt in Thai hotels, but all over the world these little things are common nowadays even in lower class hotels. As for the confort of the two rooms, we should say that the beds in the first one were much better, as the ones in the second room seemed too soft (maybe they were a bit older). What we really liked was the breakfast: all the sort of food was available and the quality was really high. The waiters calling you by your name (after getting to know it when you get in and tell them your room number for the breakfast)and always smiling is a plus that makes you feel home. So, in the end, considering that other experience in Kolkata hotels were not so positive, the Oberoi Grand remains an option, though a bit too pricey for the service they provided this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, as those on the first floor make you feel like in a basement (you have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay recently at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed and concerned to learn that your experience at the hotel was not up to your expectation and I have shared your feedback with our team. We will do everything possible to correct the shortfalls you have experienced this time. I sincerely apologise regarding this matter.

I have noted that you liked the demeanour and spirit maintained by the team while serving our guests.

Thank you for your patronage. The team and I request you to view this in isolation and not let it mar your overall impression of the hotel and its services. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.

Regards

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Absolutely brilliant. We don't normally stay in top end hotels but decided to stay at the Oberoi Kolkata - mainly because the pool looked fantastic - it was very hot. What we hadn't appreciated was the gracious hospitality, superb food, genuine friendliness of the staff, beautifully appointed, quiet room and real attention to detail. We were travelling with our kids - age 11 and 6 - the staff went out of their way engage with them - the head pastry chef took them to the kitchen for a lesson in cookie making and at breakfast My daughter was presented with chocolate pancakes - which we hadn't ordered but she clearly enjoyed. Superb stay. Worth every penny of the bill. Stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorHedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are delighted to receive your feedback. You had a great stay in all aspects and we are really happy to know that. Nothing is more encouraging than comments such as these !

Thank you for mentioning our personalized and attentive service. We always aim for that and being praised on doing it successfully is really special.

A BIG thank you from the team at The Oberoi Grand,
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
3.2 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
0.8 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 218 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
5.1 km away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#5 of 218 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
5.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,280 - ₹ 14,950
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing