We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Grand
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 135
US$ 104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 190
US$ 119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata)
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 121
US$ 98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,325)
Filter reviews
2,325 results
Traveller rating
1,860
364
77
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,860
364
77
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantan oasisla terrasseold world charmthe heart of the citybusy cityindian museumthe general managerpool sidein room diningvictoria memorialcoffee shopvisit kolkatahousekeeping stafffront officebaanmarket
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,751 - 1,756 of 2,325 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Ive been lucky enough to stay at the Oberoi Grand on several occasions and can honestly say that it is my favourite hotel anywhere.
Just to walk into the foyer is a wonderful experience.
The staff are charming and professional and know how to make a guest feel special.
The rooms are traditional and very comfortable, and the public rooms are quietly
elegant.
The restaurants are superb, and so is the Spa.
its everything one could desire in a hotel - think Id like to live there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosslyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the service provided by the team. Indeed it has been our endeavour to offer excellent accommodation, food and warm and friendly service to all our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

This is probably my favourite hotel in the world. The staff is exceptional, with each member knowing not only their own job, but how what they do fits into the larger picture. They are charming, attentive, and faultlessly professional. Everyone from the Front Desk manager to the housekeeping staff, the concierge, and the wait-staff in the restaurants are helpful and smiling. And all this with a no-tipping policy (though it is permitted to leave something for the whole staff at the end - they really deserve it!).This is so rare in the world that it really warrants mention. The hotel itself is impeccably maintained and strikes the right note between modernity and tradition. Room service and La Terrasse are both excellent.

The oasis like quality of the Oberoi Grand is often remarked upon and it is most certainly true. The oasis is not merely a physical property though. The standards and traditions observed in this lovely hotel are exceptional and make a stay at the Oberoi Grand a real treat!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lebaronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay recently at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

It has indeed been our focus to provide our valued guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality. Your appreciation has been a tremendous source of inspiration for our team members and I am sure your words of encouragement would definitely go a long way in inspiring and motivating the team to deliver Service Par Excellence to all our discerning guests. Many of our guests identify the hotel as an oasis to come back to after spending a long day in the city. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our special pillow menu

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

As my previous visit in Kolkata was a "no, no, no" (see my report on Lytton hotel...), I decided to go back to the Oberoi Grand, where in the past I had had a good experince.
Though it was quite expensive (about 200 usd/night), we decided to book a room at this hotel through Agoda. We add some preferences online (no smoking room, high floor, twin beds), but when we arrived (about 6.30 pm, so not an early check in!), only the "no smoking room" option was fullfilled. We were kept at the reception for quite an uncommonly long time and we thought that something was wrong: when we were taken to our room, we were told that the system had a breack down and electronic key card were not working. It happens, bur this doesn't excuse what happened after. The first room was really nice, but with a king size bed: my friend and I asked for a twin beds room and we were taken to another one. Unfortunately the girl from the reception was not able to open the door with the "regular" key, so, as it was getting really late, we told her that we'd leave all our luggage at the reception and we'd entered our room after coming back from dinner (we had already told them that we had a dinner, after seeing that the check in was taking us a bit too long). When we came back to the hotel after dinner we were given the new elctronic key cards: the system was ok and we managed to enter our room on the first floor. We asked again to have a room on a higher floor and the receptionist told us that it would be possible the day after, as all the rooms were occupied. The room was smaller than the first one with the king size bed and apparently it was supposed to be for one guest: one pair of slippers, one bath robe, one botle of water. We called the room service and asked for a second set of things and we were given immediately. The day after we reminded the new receptionist about the moving to a room on a higher floor and he said that it would be possible, but we'd have to pay for an upgrade. We accepted, but when we were given the new room, we realised that the room was exactly the same in, apart from being on the second floor and having a small balcony. We expected that after all the problems of the first day, the so called "upgrade" would be free of charge. On top of this I have to point out that the Wi-fi is quite pricey (6 usd every 30 minutes) and the system is not working properly. Apparently you use your surname as username and the number of the room as password, but in the first room it did not work. We called the reception and we were told that they used the name of the second guest instead of the one of that who checked in. We had another problem with the second room and my friend went to the reception to point it out. She was told that everything was working, but when she showed them that it wasn't, they apologised and told her that they'd fix the problem immediately. They did it. Another thing we did not expect was the fact that in the bathroom of both the rooms there was not the essentials you usually find in 5 star hotels: my friend forgot her toothpaste and not even a minisize was to be found. Neither spare tooth brush, comb, razor or nail buffer. Maybe we got spoilt in Thai hotels, but all over the world these little things are common nowadays even in lower class hotels. As for the confort of the two rooms, we should say that the beds in the first one were much better, as the ones in the second room seemed too soft (maybe they were a bit older). What we really liked was the breakfast: all the sort of food was available and the quality was really high. The waiters calling you by your name (after getting to know it when you get in and tell them your room number for the breakfast)and always smiling is a plus that makes you feel home. So, in the end, considering that other experience in Kolkata hotels were not so positive, the Oberoi Grand remains an option, though a bit too pricey for the service they provided this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room, as those on the first floor make you feel like in a basement (you have the view from half of your window...). Those facing the garden and the pool are preferable, as those facing the city can be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank max4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay recently at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am disappointed and concerned to learn that your experience at the hotel was not up to your expectation and I have shared your feedback with our team. We will do everything possible to correct the shortfalls you have experienced this time. I sincerely apologise regarding this matter.

I have noted that you liked the demeanour and spirit maintained by the team while serving our guests.

Thank you for your patronage. The team and I request you to view this in isolation and not let it mar your overall impression of the hotel and its services. I look forward to personally welcoming you back to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.

Regards

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Absolutely brilliant. We don't normally stay in top end hotels but decided to stay at the Oberoi Kolkata - mainly because the pool looked fantastic - it was very hot. What we hadn't appreciated was the gracious hospitality, superb food, genuine friendliness of the staff, beautifully appointed, quiet room and real attention to detail. We were travelling with our kids - age 11 and 6 - the staff went out of their way engage with them - the head pastry chef took them to the kitchen for a lesson in cookie making and at breakfast My daughter was presented with chocolate pancakes - which we hadn't ordered but she clearly enjoyed. Superb stay. Worth every penny of the bill. Stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorHedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are delighted to receive your feedback. You had a great stay in all aspects and we are really happy to know that. Nothing is more encouraging than comments such as these !

Thank you for mentioning our personalized and attentive service. We always aim for that and being praised on doing it successfully is really special.

A BIG thank you from the team at The Oberoi Grand,
Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

This hotel exceed my expectations, the Tai restaurant is very good and ammendities and location are also great, highly recomended!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalonzo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the experience at the award winning Thai restaurant. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews