We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 217 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Oberoi grand is the best hotel I have ever stayed by any criterion. Friendly and highly professional staff, clean and comfortable rooms, convenient location - I wish this chain was available in every city I visit :)))

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeSunset441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    306
    66
    15
    7
See reviews for
288
503
201
660
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We first stayed at this hotel 9 years ago when our flight to Singapore was cancelled and were so impressed that we have stayed there on our biennial holiday visits to Kolkata ever since--even though we have the option to stay with family for free. Why? Because of the friendly welcome guests receive upon arrival, because of the assistance with every need a guest might express, because of the impeccable service, because of the delectable breakfasts (step out of your comfort zone and order their superbly addictive masala dosas, you will want them every morning thereafter), because of the way the staff makes our 9-year-old daughter feel like the most important guest in the hotel, because of the aromas of jasmine oil that delicately grace the passageways and of the cypress-orange toiletries in the bath. This is a city hotel, so there are no spacious grounds with waltzing peacocks; when you leave the hotel you are right there in the midst of Kolkata. Within walking distance are the subway and the social and shopping destinations of New Market and Park Street. In 5 minutes you can be at the historic Asiatic Society; in 10 minutes at the Indian Museum. Take in the colonial history on offer at the Victoria Memorial or step off the beaten path to the Park St. Cemetery for a somber impression of what life was like for the British in 1700s Calcutta. When you need a respite from the business of the city, then step back through the doors of the calm and comforting Grand. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, the fitness center excellent, the concierge Mr. Sarkar brilliantly knowledgeable about the city and its offerings, the restaurant staff and managers exhibit top-quality standards at all times of day. We usually stay here in December (Christmas high season), but have just booked a weeklong stay in July to attend a family wedding. I dread the heat and humidity with which Kolkata will greet us in midsummer, but cannot wait to step out of the car and through the threshold of the Grand again no matter what time of year. TCN & SG.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool/central courtyard are preferred; external rooms overlook the city, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eur0phile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Most of our guests would stay with us on their return visit to Kolkata and we do believe in providing all our guests - “ A home away from home” experience

We are very grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests. Our endeavour is to offer excellent hotel accommodation, food, service and technology to all our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in July to The Oberoi Grand and to Kolkata.


Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

One night at the Oberoi Grand was all I could afford but I loved every minute of it and wouldn't have missed it for the world. This is a brilliantly run hotel. There's extraordinary attention to detail and the staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful. The swimming pool was a luxurious delight and the bar and restaurant both excellent. The room was huge, the bed super-comfortable and the bathroom an indulgent relief after some hard travelling.

Yes, it's all rather old-fashioned but who cares when it's delivered with this level of care and style?

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts the old world charm and Victorian culture and the hotel and its setting is indeed intimate. Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest. I am delighted to know that you found the rooms comfortable and enjoyed a good night’s sleep at the hotel.

Your appreciation has been a tremendous source of inspiration for each of us and I am sure your words of encouragement would definitely go a long way in inspiring and motivating the team to deliver Service Par Excellence to all our discerning guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best wishes,
George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in January for a week and had the experience of a lifetime. The service, attentiveness, ambience and concern for our wellbeing, right down to the smallest detail, could not have been of a higher standard.
We are planning another trip early next year.
Mr. Kuruvilla, the hotel manager, went out of his way to make our stay particularly memorable.
Graeme Mulvey

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope you had a comfortable retun journey.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata very soon.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

There was a time thirty five years back when walking back from a football match, sweat drenched, a young boy would pass by the Grand Oberoi awe struck by the grandeur of the hotel. Today when the man stays in the hotel he is still awe struck by the grandeur. Add o that the welcome smile , the hospitality, the food, the serene pool, the room decor and space ........it is truly truly the grandest of the grand hotels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajshankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

“The Grand Dame” of Kolkata stands tall for more than 128 years and still carries the elegance and a persona of its own. We are delighted to know that this experience helped you travel down memory lane.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests. Our endeavour is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and my team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing this review.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
3.1 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 217 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.8 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#17 of 217 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 217 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
5.1 km away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 217 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
5.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 217 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,787 - ₹ 15,954
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing