We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to come back again and again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Oberoi Grand
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to come back again and again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

this is one hotel with a great history and tradition. Service is superb. Main buffet restaurant is great. Thai restaurant is failing to make any mark. Swimming pool needs a refurbishment. Mr. Sarcar in the concierge is an institution by himself. This must be the best hotel in kolkata.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Light-a-candle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team.

Indeed Mr.Amitava Sarkar our Head concierge is a gem and has is one of the most knowledgeable concierges of the city who would not only ensure that your arrival and departure at the airport is smooth but would also ensure that he tailor makes your itinerary so that you enjoy the “City of Joy” to the fullest. I have read your comments about the Thai restaurant and the swimming pool. I will certainly enhance the areas.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Kolkata and to The Oberoi Grand.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,456
    297
    65
    15
    7
See reviews for
281
486
197
650
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I had such a lovely time at the hotel. The staff are so welcoming and helpful. The Thai resturant provided lovely food as did the bar. The hotel is beautifully furnished too and well set up for the business traveller.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Baan Thai restaurant is an award winning specialty Thai restaurant of the city. The hotel is also located next to the famous “New Market” of Kolkata. It is a preferred hotel of both our leisure and business travellers as it is located in the business hub of Kolkata. I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Well, what a hotel! What follows is a bit of a “gushing” review but this hotel is exceptional. On arrival you turn off the street which is lined with stalls with all the noise and hustle and bustle of a Calcutta street market and you are saluted by the gate staff in welcome. You then drive into the absolute calm of the Oberoi hotel. The contrast could not be greater.

You are made to feel absolutely welcome by the reception staff more than half of whom are simply gorgeous Thai/Indian ladies wearing traditional dress and the other half very handsome and beautifully dressed young men. The manners, bearing and turn out of all the staff could not be bettered.

How the staff keep up this standard I have no idea, but the duty manger sits at his desk in the foyer in his frock coat welcoming guests and keeping a close eye on activities so the standard is set from the top.

The rooms are very fine as shown in the images for the hotel - but what the pictures don’t show is how comfortable the rooms are. I had the best night’s sleep I have ever had in a hotel at the Oberoi.

Most people miss out on the lunch buffet in the main restaurant but it is a really good idea to take lunch at the hotel the detail and care over the preparation of the individual dishes is a joy to see. Some of them literally look too good to eat.

As I was checking out I had half an hour to spare before I went to the airport so I thought I would grab a coffee in the bar. Now by Indian standards this was expensive at 250INR (normally expect to pay 100). But the waiter brought a full сafetière of good coffee with warm milk and two freshly made chocolate brownies – worth every Rupee!

I could only stay one night at the Oberoi on this trip to India and I am writing his from another 5 start hotel which I will review later but I really want to return to the Oberoi!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonStump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts the old world charm and Victorian culture and the hotel and its setting is indeed intimate. Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest. I am delighted to know that you found the rooms comfortable and enjoyed a good night’s sleep at the hotel.

Baan Thai restaurant has been awarded as the best specialty restaurant in the city. The hotel is located next to the famous “New Market” of Kolkata. It is a preferred hotel of both our leisure and business travellers as it is located in the business hub of Kolkata. I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you. Your appreciation has been a tremendous source of inspiration for each of us and I am sure your words of encouragement would definitely go a long way in inspiring and motivating the team to deliver Service Par Excellence to all our discerning guests.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best wishes,
George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

A charming heritage hotel in the heart of Kolkata, near the bustling New Market. More than the hotel, its the service, the hospitality that's impeccable - right from the reception, to the security to the waiters in the restaurant.

I had a medical emergency during our stay & had to spend some time in a hospital. It was commendable - the way the hotel staff assisted me & my family through my illness. Since I couldn't eat properly, the chef made me special meals - without my asking them. They even spent time with my 4 year old child to distract her from my ill-health.

We certainly plan to return.

Room Tip: No suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PriyaRaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope you had a comfortable retun journey and have fully recovered now.

Your words of appreciation especially for the chefs and for the food and beverage team will go a long way to motivate them to continue to deliver a high level of service to our valued guests.

Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I cannot recommend the Oberoi highly enough. It is a stunning hotel. The rooms are elegant, spacious and extremely comfortable. The outdoor pool area is a perfect place to relax and seek respite from the heat. The day spa is also world class. The feature "Thai" restaurant has a varied and interesting selection as does the more casual bistro.

It is however a 5 star hotel and not for those wanting an "Indian" experience. Once you enter the Oberoi you could be in any sophisticated, international city. But as a treat coming off an Indian Adventure it is pure luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillySAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEOKOL, General Manager at The Oberoi Grand, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Oberoi Grand Kolkata recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

The Oberoi Grand is referred to as the “Grand Dame of Kolkata” which depicts the old world charm and the Victorian culture and the hotel and its setting is indeed intimate. Our pool side rooms have a great view of the swimming pool which has often been termed as an “oasis” by most of the guest.

Baan Thai restaurant has been awarded as the best specialty restaurant of the city. The hotel is located next to the famous “New Market” of Kolkata. It is a preferred hotel of both our leisure and business travellers as it is located in the business hub of Kolkata. I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

Thank you for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Oberoi Grand and Kolkata.

Best Wishes

George Kuruvilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
3.1 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 214 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
0.9 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.8 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 214 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#6 of 214 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
5.1 km away
ITC Sonar
ITC Sonar
#3 of 214 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
5.6 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#9 of 214 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Grand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Grand

Property: The Oberoi Grand
Address: 15 Jawaharlal Neharu Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,100 - ₹ 18,222
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oberoi Grand, fondly referred as the 'Grande Dame of Chowringhee' offers the ultimate classical residence in the City of Joy. This heritage hotel’s neo-classical facade and grand pillared entrance mark a successful fusion of classical Victorian and traditional Indian style and reflect the city’s colonial history.Standing stately for over 125 years, The Oberoi Grand combines classic architecture and charm with state of the art amenities and facilities, offering guests an oasis of tranquility amidst the bustling city.The hotel features elegantly appointed rooms, equipped with all modern facilities blending uniquely with the colonial architecture.The hotel is located in the main business and shopping district of Kolkata (Park Street, BBD Bag, and Chowringhee) and is in walking distance from most corporate and government offices. It is also conveniently located close to major convention centers, legislative offices, banks, Consulates, Deputy High Commissions, Chambers of Commerce and clubs. This ideal location makes the hotel a perfect base for the business and the leisure traveler.The dining options at the hotel provide a great opportunity to savor cuisines from around the globe. Recreational facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, a fitness centre and a full service Oberoi Spa.The city centre location makes the hotel an ideal conference and meetings venue. The options vary from a spectacular ballroom for large conferences and smaller meeting rooms for business gatherings and seminars. A 24 hour business centre fully equipped with modern facilities includes a meeting room along with secretarial services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your The Oberoi Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oberoi Grand Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Oberoi Grand Kolkata
Oberoi Grand Hotel
The Oberoi Grand Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing