We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #4 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the ITC Sonar with my family attending a family wedding we had booked a bulk of room but i was bowled over by the level of service by each and every staff member.They wanted to help in every little way to do anything to make our stay and function a memorable success.Right from the check in,bell captain,elevator attendant .room service ,travel desk ,restaurant the service was just fabulous.KUDOS!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijaychandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We thank you for your kind words. We at ITC Sonar, strive to achieve customer expectations, by imparting training to our associates so that the services are rendered with warmth. Its great to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    355
    82
    35
    34
See reviews for
265
152
157
1,111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I stayed at ITC Sonar for a couple of nights. I must stay I had a great time. The hotel is about 30 mins drive from the airport but can get longer depending on the time of the day. The front desk was courteous and check-in was quick. I stayed at one of the Tower rooms. The rooms are luxurious and service is good. The breakfast spread is decent. The Awadhi cuisines served at the Dum Pukht restaurant is one of the best in the city. Overall very good experience

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shuvajit_Basu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your warm feedback. At the gastronomiqe plane we offer the finest yet diverse cuisines in settings that would interest the modern yet also the more traditional connoisseurs of fine taste. ITC Sonar brings this exceptional repertoire of culinary excellence to Kolkata in a selection of the city’s finest dining destinations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Outstanding is the word for the service and the interiors of the hotel. It has lived upto my expectation everytime i have visited here .. The rooms and the staff are amazingly good.

Only the location is a major concern.. but the tiring drive feels relaxing after entering the hotel.. Food served in all its restaurants is great and classic..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonikaPurohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the appreciative note. At ITC Sonar, expect an unsurpassable experience of luxury and warmth, in the gentle embrace of nature. Set in an enchanting expanse of beautifully designed gardenscapes with over a million trees and gentle water bodies dotted with water lilies complemented by the artful minimalism of the hotel’s architecture, ITC Sonar offers an unusually leisurely environment for a 5 star luxury business hotel, in Kolkata

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms were a genuine 5 star standard and everything about this hotel is top quality. The staff are excellent, the rooms are really well appointed and the grounds are extensive. There are multiple restaurants to choose from and the breakfast buffet is comprehensive.

The location of the hotel is ok, near the airport and not too far from Salt Lake. If your business is downtown Kolkata then this may not be the best location but worth the traffic to return to each night.

Room Tip: Request a club room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. ITC Sonar is arguably the finest business resort in the country - a resort in the urban context, one that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. In keeping with the theme of the hotel, there is a world class Kaya Kalp – The Spa – a place to appreciate and rejuvenate surrounded by the calm serenity of water.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed in this hotel for several times. I love the small pond all over the places in the property. Big rooms, sliding door between bath and bedroom, good food and separate floor for single women traveler differentiate it from rest. I forgot my jeans once in during my stay. The Hotel guys made it a point to return the cloth back to Bangalore, amazing service. These kind of service is only expected in India. Peshawri, and Dum Pukht has worlds best food serve.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chandraruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to learn that you had a most enriching and distinctive experience while staying at ITC Sonar and that our team looked after you. ITC Sonar showcases a plethora of Food & Beverage offerings as well as Kaya Kalp-The Spa, spread over 15000 sq feet and offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 219 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#3 of 219 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
5.6 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#7 of 219 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 219 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
10.3 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#8 of 219 in Kolkata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,401 - ₹ 14,864
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing