We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lip smacking Far East Cuisine coupled with great service”
Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #5 of 221 Hotels in Kolkata
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
1 review
“Lip smacking Far East Cuisine coupled with great service”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I usually take all my overseas clients to ITC Sonar Bangla's oriental restaurant - Pan Asia and almost all the time i am thanked for the wonderful dinner/lunch experience by my guests.

Last week i attended a Sunday Champagne Brunch hosted by my brother in law and to tell you the truth it was unparallel to a lot of similar Sunday brunch events being hosted by other establishments in the city. The hors d'oeuvres coupled with some real refreshing cocktails (like passion fruit vodka or green apple champagne or vodka infused with olives) was a complete treat. My personal favorite was the nigirizushis and grilled chicken with yakitori sauce.

They have an extensive and delectable entree selection panning Thai, Japanese and Chinese. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to all foodies for an authentic experience of Far East food experience in the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshvardhanAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for your patronage. It is the appreciation of our guests that works as a motivation to strive for better. ITC Sonar showcases a plethora of Food & Beverage offerings, including locavore cuisine showcasing timeless delicacies from Bengal. Here under one umbrella, you will be able to experience specialty cuisines ranging from Peshawri offering ‘robust flavours of the North West Frontier’ to Pan Asian savouring the ‘flavours of East Asia’ to Dum Pukht reliving ‘the Grand Cuisine of India’ and West View, Kolkata’s very first ‘Bar & Grill’.

On behalf of ITC Sonar , we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    362
    82
    35
    34
See reviews for
290
158
171
1,175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

ITC Sonar is built differently than the other 5 Star Hotels I've been to. Fairly pricey but decent value for money. Rooms are large and well laid out but the quality of maintenance was not as good. Curtains and rugs looked old and stained. Food as with most ITC properties is awesome and a visit to the restaurants for Indian Food is highly recommended.

Breakfast selection is wide and excellent quality. You'd be better off hiring cars from the outside as the hotel rates are very steep.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharad_Sridhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback with great concern. We truly value your patronage and shall endeavour to ensure a seamless experience to you on your future visits

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed in itc for 2 night from 1st July, stay was nyc, but 3 things which i dint like, first: when i checked in there was noone to escort us to the room.second: wifi on chargeable basis in the room, third: i used the Busines centre for just about 10 mins when it got deactivated and i was told 30 mins of complimentary usage, when i asked the lady present there she told she don't know!
So on the basis of hospitality taj always scores better i feel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear our valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback with great concern and assure you that this is not representative of our services and the standards that our guests have come to expect from us.

On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we request you for an opportunity to reinstate our creditability and look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar in the near future.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I have been staying in this hotel ever since it opened in 2002, and it is one of the best luxury resort properties i have stayed in globally. Excellent properties, Peshawri, Dum Pukht, Eden Pavilion, & West View offer some of the best food in the world. Great rooms, and exceptional service. I have also used the hotel for business conferences, seminars, & lawn parties, and have had great experiences always

Room Tip: Try getting a upgrade in room, the executive suite rooms are just awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethurayar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

It's a delight to stay at ITC Sonar Kolkata ... While travelling on business and you need to be close to the city as well as airport, this is the best location to be.. Moreover great place to have meetings over lunch and dinner at it's various restaurants.. Staff is nice and rooms are absolutely spacious..

Room Tip: Rooms facing lily pond can be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivdutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

We thank you for your kind words. The story behind ITC Sonar is very compelling – Bengal is the inspiration & ITC Sonar is ITC’s tribute to the City of Joy. ITC Sonar showcases a plethora of Food & Beverage offerings as well as Kaya Kalp- The Spa; spread over 15000 sq feet and offering a delightful retreat from the pressing modern world.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 221 in Kolkata
2,030 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#4 of 221 in Kolkata
1,830 reviews
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#7 of 221 in Kolkata
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
3.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 221 in Kolkata
1,247 reviews
4.8 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 221 in Kolkata
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
#5 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,650 - ₹ 12,782
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing