We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ITC Sonar; enchanting and engaging as always...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ITC Sonar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ITC Sonar
Ranked #5 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“ITC Sonar; enchanting and engaging as always...”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Repeated experiences at ITC Sonar have reinforced the uniqueness of the product and the service. Right from the experience at Eden Pavilion(all day dining restaurant) to the equisite cuisine offered by the signature restaurants...ITC Sonar stands ahead in all areas - comfort, rooms, service and cuisine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToraPhera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for the appreciative note. It is the appreciation of our guests that works as a motivation to strive for better. The concept of ITC Sonar is indigenous to the local culture of the region. Created in today’s popular uncluttered style, the architectural design is distinctly eastern, capturing the essence of the region’s ‘Baganbaris’ (garden houses of yore), through water bodies resplendent with water lilies and the vibrant flora, fauna complimenting it. ITC Sonar is a business resort catering to guests who are on business as well as leisure. For your indulgence and to complete the royal experience at ITC Sonar, we have Kaya Kalp – The spa to rejuvenate your senses.

Look forward to your next stay with us.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,209
    345
    79
    33
    33
See reviews for
246
138
145
1,037
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed here twice recently and would certainly repeat it. Very courtious staff, spacious and tastefully done ambience without being overpoweringly gaudy. The dellightful gardens and lotus ponds in the premises provides a solastic haven at the end of a gruelling, polluted day in kolkata. I did not therefore mind the location, just outside the hustle of the main city. Single lady travellers can be accomodated in their Eva section, the rooms have everything that would be needed by a lady! Pleasently surprised at the minute detailing of the toileteries and comfort services in the room... You feel cared for....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rucksack12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure that the services rendered by us were up to your expectation. The Eva floor originates keeping in mind the increase in single lady corporate, who travel to our business resort for work and leisure. At ITC Sonar we bring you awarding winning cuisines under one umbrella- ranging from Peshawri offering Robust Flavours of the North West Frontier to Pan Asian savouring the flavours of East Asia to Dum Pukht reliving The Grand Cuisine of India. For a complete getaway, relax your senses at Kaya Kalp – The Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

In December, there was major construction underway adjacent to the hotel, on a 24/7 basis. After one night, we moved to the other side of the hotel. The new room was super quiet with very effective double glazing. Two minor glitches - The safe in my room was too small to take my laptop, and there was no security latch or chain on the room door. The next four nights at the hotel were really enjoyable. Food and service was superb throughout the stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!

Thank you for the words of appreciation. We have noted your feedback on your experience during your last stay. Your feedback has certainly been considered for us to evaluate our product to ensure a positive and superior experience in the future.
On behalf of the ITC Sonar family, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

ITC Sonar do have efficient infrastructure & soothing layout but real difference comes from the people there. The hotel staff know thier job well & ready to help, even the Restaurant staff helped me to choose the local food. Overall the food is too good !! Keep it up.
The hotel layout, Garden with lake & lot of golden fishes can make anybody happy to be there - those are is well kept.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manpreet1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for the appreciative note. ITC Sonar is arguably the first business resort in the country. A resort in the urban context. One that has the efficiency of a business hotel yet the feet-up-feel of a resort. An upscale, world class, Asia’s best business Hotel set amidst resort surroundings. A fine fusion of functionality and creativity in an aggregated best location. One that is a consonance with ITC Hotels’ ethos of reflecting “rooted in soil” but dynamic in form and philosophy.

We look forward to welcoming you back to ITC Sonar, your home away from home.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at the ITC for two nights for work and this hotel deserves an excellent rating: the rooms are spotless. The staff goes over and beyond it's way and guarantees a very high service. I ate at the coffee shop a few times and the food is excellent.

Not one negative thing to say only a big compliment to the staff of the ITC in Kolkata: keep up the fantastic work!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ITCSONAR, Hotel Management at ITC Sonar, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear valued reviewer,

Warm Greetings from ITC Sonar, Kolkata!!

Thank you for your patronage. We at ITC Sonar are committed to providing you world class facilities backed by courteous and efficient services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kolkata & ITC Sonar. Whether you stay with us on business or on leisure, we offer distinct facilities that will help you make the most of your visit. Should you like anything specific during your next stay, please do let us know when you make your next reservation.

Warmest regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
5.1 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#1 of 218 in Kolkata
1,965 reviews
6.6 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#2 of 218 in Kolkata
1,758 reviews
5.6 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
JW Marriott Hotel Kolkata
#10 of 218 in Kolkata
189 reviews
3.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#11 of 218 in Kolkata
1,210 reviews
10.3 km away
Swissotel Kolkata
Swissotel Kolkata
#7 of 218 in Kolkata
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ITC Sonar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ITC Sonar

Property: ITC Sonar
Address: Haldane Avenue, Kolkata 700046, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#2 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,653 - ₹ 15,873
Hotel Class:5 star — ITC Sonar 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ClearTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your ITC Sonar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Itc Sonar Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Itc Hotel Kolkata
ITC Sonar Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing