We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and very high standards”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #9 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Of all the hotels we have stayed in India thus far, this was one of the best in terms of overall amenities, cleanliness and service. The infinity pool was closed at the time and we were upgraded to a room with a private outdoor jacuzzi and we loved it. Rooms had style and were very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Food was great at the buffet. Service generally at a high level, but even though I went to book the airport shuttle the evening before as it was a very early morning flight, this was somehow missed and the crucial time spent waiting for the shuttle ended up with us missing our flight. The other issue is that this hotel is attached to a large mall close to the airport. Very far from all the sights in Kolkata so would only recommend this place if you want to be close to the airport or just want a place to unwind without going far.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluuedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco S, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Swissotel Kolkata.

Thank you for sharing your kind words about your experience at our Hotel. It gives us great satisfaction to know that your stay has been one of absolute pleasurable. From our end we consistently endeavor to provide you excellent quality, genuine hospitality, and intuitive reliability in each aspect and contribute to make your stay with us gratifying.

We assure you that on your next visit with us, you will find the accommodation even more comfortable and services, a more elaborate blend of the finest of hospitality in the two great cultures of Bengal and Swiss. We look forward to a long lasting rewarding relationship with you and to serving you again. Owning guest loyalty through their experience is of utmost importance to us.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude for the encouraging and glowing comments. The support we receive is highly appreciated and we look forward to your support always.


Marco Saxer
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,542)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Kolkata
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,368 - 1,372 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Brilliant rooms, fantastic service, breakfast was great and over all had a great experience at this hotel. I had mainly picked this hotel cause it was close to the airport, but i am glad i did. We were here only for one night but the staff there made sure we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SvenBerlin, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us at TripAdvisor!

We are grateful that you chose to stay with us, and delighted that you enjoyed your complete experience. We hope that your next stay with us is longer, and we get an opportunity to serve you at length with our products.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon, I remain,

Yours Sincerely,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

From the moment I walked in until the moment that I checked out I felt taken care off. The reception was great, friendly polite staff, nice room with very comfortable bed and all necessary amenities. Inroom dining, great food !

Had a surprising very nice breakfast with almost private butler services, all kinds of coffees and eggs on the menu, the rest of the food on the buffet, great selection with fresh delicious food.

After checking out was helped in the taxi and waved out by 2 staff.

Wonderful experience, definitively a recommende hotel to stay !

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noisecontrol63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SvenBerlin, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

We take immense pride in our service standards and work very hard to ensure that each of our guests have an experience like yours. Do let us know when we can expect you again in Swissotel Kolkata. We will work towards providing you with an even greater and more delightful experience than your existing one.

Our staff is very grateful for your glowing reviews and join me in wishing you well.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotels 4 times so far and on all occasions the service has been excellent.

It gets 5's across the board however, because when I did have a minor complaint on my 3rd stay, my 4th was a free upgrade to the jacuzzi and I was met at the entrance door by staff who knew my name. Superb.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s22urf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SvenBerlin, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor!

Our connect with our regular guests has always been extra special, as each of our employees represent Swissotel's brand attributes of Genuine Hospitality.

We thank you for your kind words, and hope to meet you again. Do stay in our Executive Suite with Jacuzzi the next time you book with us for an ultimate experience of Swissotel Kolkata.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Located close to the airport, the hotel is very good. The rooms are clean and the breakfast spread is brilliant. The hotel is attached to a Mall and hence no dearth of food options. The hotel itself has a fine dining option and we enjoyed the quality of food there. The staff is extremely helpful and will make your stay a lot more enjoyable. If we visit Kolkata, we will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on Swissotel Kolkata!

Thank you for your fabulous review of our property, excellence standards, varied cuisine and staff friendliness. It gives us immense pleasure to note that you enjoyed your entire stay with us during your trip to Kolkata.

We hope you plan to stay with us again and very soon.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
12.2 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata
2,108 reviews
12.0 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
4.9 km away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata
1,305 reviews
15.2 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#6 of 224 in Kolkata
1,914 reviews
12.7 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata 700157, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#8 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Price Range: ₹ 5,999 - ₹ 14,965 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Ostrovok and TravelGuru so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing