We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow ...was too good...”
Review of Swissotel Kolkata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Kolkata
Ranked #8 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Gangtok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow ...was too good...”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

...Missed my flight and was with family. I was compelled to look for a place to stay. surfed and found swissotel... at first was'nt too convinced if it would work out well. However, having stayed there... hence will always stay there. Everything was very good. very clean and the AC within was swell. my children also tried the swimming pool which was a treat. The wi fi was free and the food was good. One small suggestion to the faculty is, "please provide a bucket and a mug also..as national tourists would like it...".

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

We are grateful to you for deciding to stay with us with your family on your recent visit to the City of Joy. It gives us great pleasure to note that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

We await to welcome you back on your next trip, and to continue to serve you better, and thank you for your suggestions.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    406
    82
    24
    32
See reviews for
231
189
118
832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

On a 3 weeks business trip to Kolkata i stayed at Swissotel, together with my colleagues.
The staff was very helpful and always smiling, the room was very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom spacious.
They had a diverse breakfast menu and i did not get bored with it throughout the 3 weeks stay. I also dined in the restaurant and the experience was very good.
The hotel is one door away from a shopping mall, in case anyone is interested in some quick shopping. Additionally there is a very nice bar in the hotel (Maya) where we had some corporate parties.
There is also one roof top pool which is great for relaxing and cooling off.
I am looking forward going back there and i can't wait to try the spa treatments as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaGiurca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

Long staying guests become a part of the Swissotel Kolkata family. The longer you stay with us, the more we get to know your preferences, likes, and choices and can cater towards meeting all of them.

It gives us immense pleasure to note that you enjoyed your entire stay with us. We hope you plan to stay with us again and very soon.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

On a days business trip to Kolkatta I stayed at Swissotel. It was a pleasent experience. The rooms were well maintained and comfortable. It has a mall adjacent to the hotel hence you want to go around or watch cinema you need to travel.

Room Tip: You can choose a room on the top floors as you can get the ariel view of the green Kolkatta
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kareem21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor!

It gives us immense pleasure to note that you enjoyed your entire stay with us during your recent day trip to Kolkata. We hope you plan to stay with us again and very soon.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed here overnight on our way to Paro, Bhutan and found this a lovely place to stay. We had a great package for 6500 plus taxes which included airport transfers and a well laid out breakfast. The room was spacious and the bathrooms were good as well, with separate shower areas. I was a bit puzzled when the front office person insisted on seeing my wife's identification, but after a flight from Singapore, I didn't want to argue. Despite this I thought that the rest of the service was spot on. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shashwatbelapurkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

It gives us great pleasure to note your hearty approval of our contemporary and luxurious rooms, the restaurant food and the heartfelt service.

With regard to checking of identification, we stand dutybound to abide by the current guidelines circulated by the Government of India.

We look forward to welcoming you soon and thank you very much indeed for your recommendation.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I happened to spend 2 nights here with my wife and infant son as a part of our quite new year celebration. It was an amazing stay, even our son enjoyed to the fullest! We got a new year special package deal which cost us about Rs. 7500 per night including breakfast and a gala dinner at New Year's eve which was absolutely worth it.

Our check in was quick and smooth. The room and the bathroom was nice, spacious and luxurious. The hotel cafe has enough options for breakfast and if you want anything which is not on the buffet table, the chef would try his best to cook it for you. The hotel pool is on the terrace and has an amazing view if the city skyline.

The hotel is situated right next to a mall so you don't have to drive anywhere if you want to shop, roam around or eat out someplace else.

Overall our stay was a welcome break and this hotel and its staff did their best to make it all the more special for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilesh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swiss0telK0lkata, General Manager at Swissotel Kolkata, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to note that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us during New Year.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Marco Saxer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
12.2 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata
2,070 reviews
12.0 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
4.9 km away
Novotel Kolkata Hotel and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata
1,287 reviews
15.2 km away
Taj Bengal Kolkata
Taj Bengal Kolkata
#5 of 224 in Kolkata
1,883 reviews
12.7 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#14 of 224 in Kolkata
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Kolkata? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Kolkata

Property: Swissotel Kolkata
Address: City Center New Town, Action Area 2D | Plot No. 11/5, Rajarhat, Kolkata 700157, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Business Hotel in Kolkata
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolkata
#7 Spa Hotel in Kolkata
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,712 - ₹ 18,290
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Kolkata 5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissôtel Kolkata is one of the most luxurious addresses in the city of Kolkata which offers well-appointed leisure and business facilities. Boasting an under-one-roof concept, Swissôtel Kolkata has 147 contemporary guest rooms and luxury suites with spectacular Jacuzzis, four restaurants and bars, a fitness centre, a rooftop swimming pool, and over 1261 square meters of meeting space with the largest pillarless banquet in the city. The hotel is part of a new urban development with an attached mall featuring shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema. Located in Rajarhat beside the IT hub, the hotel offers a distinct mix of leisure and business facilities, and is noted for its unique offering of Swiss hospitality and attention to detail. The award-winning rooftop Sky Lounge is the jewel of the hotel's three restaurants and bar, offering views over the city. An in-house nightclub with resident DJ attracts hip locals and guests alike. The sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day.The business centre and two meeting rooms more than cover all your business needs. Over 1000 guests can be accommodated in cocktail/reception style in Bern, the largest pillar-free banqueting facility - and a team of event planners is on hand to help you hold the perfect wedding at Swissotel Kolkata. Swissotel Kolkata's alpine-inspired Purovel Sport offers you an exclusive ambiance in which to continue your exercise routine, with a fully equipped gym and a breathtaking infinity swimming pool on the roof.The hotel has separate smoking and non-smoking floors, there is free internet throughout except in the banquet areas, and secure parking is also available for your vehicle during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Swissotel Kolkata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Kolkata Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Swissotel Kolkata West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing