We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunflower Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$ 133
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 155
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency Kolkata(Kolkata)
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swissotel Kolkata(Kolkata)
US$ 96
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 194
US$ 151
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 112
US$ 46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 82
US$ 78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 144
US$ 89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ethnotel(Kolkata)
US$ 61
US$ 51
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
42
107
79
25
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
107
79
25
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watersudder stold colonial buildingpeter catprivate bathroomrooms are basictop floorfantastic locationstayed for nightsmetro stationvictoria memorialbudget hotelguesthouseelevatorstreetparkmarket
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed in Sunflower Guesthouse for 3 nights and overall it was a really pleasant stay. The location is really central (close to both Sudder St. and Park St.) and compared to other guesthouses in the area, the price was very reasonable. The rooms were basic but were large and very clean. The bathroom was also really clean. One piece of advice is to make sure and have a mosquito net with you as we were bitten a lot.

The staff in the Guesthouse were really friendly and really accommodating. We had originally booked for 4 nights and there was no problem when we wanted to leave a night early. There is always a staff member on duty monitoring the rooms so it feels very secure. These staff members are also very helpful.

Overall, I would recommend this guesthouse and would stay there again. Don't expect it to be a luxury guesthouse but it does the trick.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I enjoyed my time in Sunflower. It is in a great location, 15 min walk to Motherhouse, just beside Park Street. It's close to Sudder street but is in a quieter area which makes it more peaceful. The accomodation is clean and comfortable and the staff are easy going and let you get on with your business.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Very basic accommodation in what could be a beautiful art deco building but is left to disrepair. Rooms are spacious and well priced and considering there aren't many options in Calcutta for a backpacker budget this is a good choice. But don't expect anything fancy, it does the job but isn't inspiring in any way. There is a lift for the higher floors. Bathrooms also have hot water which is a blessing in India.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Attracted by the 'Our pick' tag on the Lonely Planet guide, I decided to spend my only night in Kolkota in this guest house. The location is good: not too far from Victoria Memorial (15 min walking) and in a district peppered with bars (Barista Lavazza, Cofee Day, Cha at the Oxford Bookstore), fast food (MacD), well known restaurants (Mocambo, Peter Cat, Moulin Rouge etc...), shops (Oxford Bookshop and Music World). Everything right next the corner.

The guest house is in a old, cannot-miss-me pink, four floor building (elevator available, with the same old fashion taste) that also host private apartments. I had an ok, no-frills room with TV, A/C (most welcome in this season) and a minuscule bathroom with shower (24/h hot water). No fridge in the room and no cupboard. I did not bother because it was only for one night, for longer stay I guess other rooms may be better furnished. Top-roof terrace can give a nice spot on Kolkota and is for sure enjoyable in the right season. Room cost (breakfast included) is very convenient (almost 1400 INR=21Euro/25USD).

If you are looking for a fancy hotel, maybe this is not the right choice; while budget travelers will appreciate this place. To me, very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lungoilcammino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I was in Kolkata in march 2012, stayded there 5 days with my wife and childreen. We took the AC rooms on the 5 floor. It was basic but very clean, good AC, nice floor, very nice living room. At first when you arrive, you are not sure from outside (especially if you arrive late at night) but once you sit in the living room, it feels good. Staff is nice, there is a very big terrasse on top with a great view on Kolkata. To get there from the airport it takes 25 to 45 minutes depending on the time with a prepaid taxi (250 RS , good for 3 persons) . The location is great, many restaurant nearby (peter cat, some good Indian restaurant, chines, MCdo, Coffeeday, ) within 3 minutes walk. It is also very quiet at night. No internet access but I some internet cafe nearby. I made the reservation by mail and it was perfect.

Room Tip: 5th floor AC room is my take
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricduQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews