We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Stop for Hyderabadi Biriyani ....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arsalan

Arsalan
Ranked #7 of 4,048 Restaurants in Kolkata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kolkata
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“One Stop for Hyderabadi Biriyani ....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

To get the real taste of authentic Mughlai cuisine one need to visit ARSALAN a trusted name in Mughlai dishes at the heart of the city of joy.

I am a snob when it comes to Biryani. Having had the best of the Biryani (Hyderabadi) world, I can't be otherwise. Comparing the two styles will be blasphemy and hence I won't. The mutton biryani (the real deal for benchmarking) was surprisingly good and the mutton stew to go with it was incredible.
I do have some problems though. I don't like potatoes in my Biryani (and the Calcutta version is notorius for it) and little less of kewra essence (which is rampant in eastern Indian muslim cuisine) would do but hey, I am not complaining. A great experience.
The service was neat and the staff friendly.


ARSALAN being incorporated on 6th of October 2002, is serving the food loving people of Kolkata with a variety of Mughlai dishes starting from a range of Tandoors, Kababs, Biryanis, Rotis to choose from at their Mariana Garden Court, 191, Park Street (Park Circus, 7 Point Crossing) Kolkata – 700017.

Marina Garden Court, 191,
Park Circus Area,Kolkata
033-22848556,033-22844010,033-64525366

QUICK FACTS
Timings:
10:30 AM to 12:30 AM (Open All 7 Days)
Food Type:
Indian, Mughlai
Price: Moderate
Payment Methods: Visa, Master, Cash
Meal Type: Lunch, Dinner
Ambiance: Casual Dining
Average Meal for Two: Rs. 300

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    481
    124
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Chicken Arsalan Kebab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

It was our anniversary & she loved the way we celebrated with a dinner in Arsalan with Biryani, Chaap & unmatched Chicken Arsalan Kebab.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rudranil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“best moghlai food in reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

i can assure you in normal days the food quality,varity, and service is realy good.the moghlai food is just mouth watering. you guys will get everything there, all kind of items for veg and non veg, its a great family and freinds hang out option

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Avishek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
307 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The biryani was awsome. As was the Chaap and Rezala. Though I would feel, Shiraj is still the best in Kolkata.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Debopam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
2 reviews
“One of the best Kolkata Mughlai Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Kolkata is known for its unique Lucknawi Mughlai cuisine that got introduced in the milieu by the forced exile of the Nawab Wajid Ali Shah in the mid 19th Century. But Kolkata being Kolkata, it also added its own uniqueness to the food (where else do you get a large potato and an egg (boiled) in your Biryani for example!) with its subtle flavors and method of cooking!
This restaurant, though claiming to serve Mughlai food, is actually unique in its cuisine though the influence of Lucknow is clearly visible.
The service is friendly and prompt. The Ambiance (in the restaurant in Park Circus) is good and the food is fabulous.
Try the Biryani (preferably Mutton), Cheese Kebab and Mutton Rezala. Never had it so good! This restaurant remains a favorite and scores extremely high in my recommendation.
Mid priced (Food for 4 around Rs. 1000-1200). Value for money and great taste.
Importantly, though the food being Mughlai clone is oily but the overall food is very light and compared to other similar restaurants, is lighter by miles!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SANDGHOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arsalan also viewed

Kolkata, West Bengal
Kolkata, West Bengal
 
Kolkata, West Bengal
 
Kolkata, West Bengal
Kolkata, West Bengal
 

Been to Arsalan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing