We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
17
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews college street book stalls medical college excellent hotel balcony uber tv shower india wifi mr location
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Staffs were very nice. They always gave some advice for travel in Kolkata. A room was very clean and big enough for two persons. Breakfast was excellent. We could order as much as we want and the price was included in the room price. Location was good, near metro and across the medical university.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thitaporn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Hotel Cecil was exactly the calm, clean, comforting sanctuary I needed, arriving in this massive, frenetic City feeling unwell.
You would never guess it from the surroundings but, tucked away in a backstreet off the College Road is the entrance to what amounts to a boutique hotel of international standard.
The room was fairly small but bright and airy and the space was used cleverly. The bed was large and comfortable and the décor and furnishings stylish and new-looking. I had all mod cons in a way I had not had since Heathrow, including tea/coffee making facilities, a full room service menu, a satellite TV, luggage rack and ample storage space.
Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Despite seeming like a brand new international style hotel, Cecil still had some character, helped along by the classic-style wooden furnishings and the pleasant balcony overlooking the busy College Road.
The room service food was really tasty and good quality. The friendly staff could not have been more efficient and attentive. I ordered meals and drinks, arranged laundry and hired taxis through them and took their advice on travel in Kolkata and on a day trip out of the city - all of which they dealt with briskly and effectively.
The location of the hotel was also very convenient, being a short walk away from the very useful metro line at the Central station. I could reach just about any point of interest in the city within a short, comfortable train ride.
I will certainly be staying at Hotel Cecil, the next time I'm in Kolkata and I highly recommend it to others.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Surprisingly very clean and comfortable hotel for this part of the city, the best, cleanest (and paradoxically cheapest) during our trip through India. Very helpful staff, excellent service. Will take it again if again in this chaotic city

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thanks a lot sir for your encouraging review. It compels us to work even harder. We really hope that we meet again in the future. Cheers !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017

Hotel Cecil is wonderful! The staff are very kind, friendly and helpful. I had an issue in my first room when I checked in late at night; it was resolved the next morning, and I was moved to their largest room with a terrace overlooking College Street. The room had a lot of character, was clean and a good size, and the terrace was great to look at the traffic and the lights of the city from. Good breakfast, room service and laundry are all available.
The location is fine but there's not much around in terms sights, restaurants or malls. However, everything is really a short and inexpensive Uber/Ola ride away.
As a female traveler, like the reviewers before me, I felt safe, comfortable and welcome at the hotel. Throughly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 6thSymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank you madam for your review. We are more than happy to have been able to serve you. We do hope we meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Booked this Hotel through Roomalaya.com, stayed from 19th Sept. to 21st Sept. 2017 on a business tour. Hotel is centrally located and nearby to main business areas & metro rail stations. Recently renovated, this hotel is well maintained. Room was spacious with neat & clean floors, bathroom & linens. Manager, Mr Umesh Pandey & his staff are very warmly welcomed me & were ready to help every time throughout my stay. Even, one of their staff iron my clothes without charging any cost. However, I thanked him with a tip. There was good variety in complementary breakfast they offered in Room Service. They are having their own kitchen, food is delicious with both veg & non veg options. During check out met Mr. Rohit Bhowmick, Owner of this hotel & find him very friendly too. Overall experience was great. Recommended for business, group or family travellers.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rajgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohit B, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks a lot sir for you review. It was a pleasure to have been able to serve you. Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews