We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce place, great food”
Review of Ashoka Hotel

Ashoka Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolkata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashoka Hotel
Ranked #190 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at Ashoka Hotel for a night. It is located near the Howrah station and it takes 5 min cab ride to reach Howrah station from the hotel.

Now the rooms. The room are good especially the ones on 1st floor. The room had a mini fridge, good AC and good spacious bath. The bed was comfy and the food tasted too good.

The service was very prompt. In all, a great value for money hotel in Howrah.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KIRTYANAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Ashoka Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

Dear all ,
recently i hv visited kolkotta & unfortunately choose to stay in this hotel service is very very poor & staff attitude is very bad , no hot water available in room / AC not working properly & no one ready to respond

only advantage is this hotel is at walking distance from Howrah station other wise all things are negative

Room Tip: as far as possible avoid stay or try to minimize it
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nirajkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I booked my stay here through IndiaHotelReview website. The guy at the reception, possibly the owner was very rude in his behavior. Going in their age-old lift was a horrible experience which was overly crowded and jam-packed. The ac room we checked-in was filled with cigarette smoke as someone was using it till the moment we dropped into the hotel and when we told their staff about this, they asked us to open the windows and adjust. Even the guy who dropped us was expecting a higher tip and was not ready to leave the room. The bathroom window was towards the hotel corridor and the staff was always sitting below the window. Overall, not the place to stay for the educated class.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sukhoi35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Dear Trip advisor travellers,

Recently me and my friends visited and stayed in this hotel.
On my floor construction work was going on about whom they haven't told me
Horrible sounds were coming and vibration of hammer so I decided to complain on reception but it is very unfortunate that i haven't got any positive response.
After getting responsiveness behaviour from reception finally I complained to owner of hotel but owner has none interest in visitors comfort, he only want money and money only.
I never seen such a bad human being.
Don't waste your money by taking stay here.
It is such a bad hotel and even hotel owner is also not cooperative.


Thanks
Somendra Pareek

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We staying at Hotel Ashoka at kolkata,Near Howrah Railway Station, Nice Staff,hospitality and other facility....Defiantly we recommendation to this hotel for first visit kolkata,You go any where from this hotel, like Market, zoo, Airport and other Interesting places.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeranjan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolkata
0.0 km away
Hotel Utsav Plaza
Hotel Utsav Plaza
#2 of 6 in Howrah
3 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#50 of 224 in Kolkata
97 reviews
0.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
Hyatt Regency Kolkata
#12 of 224 in Kolkata
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Oberoi Grand
The Oberoi Grand
#2 of 224 in Kolkata
2,108 reviews
0.0 km away
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
Marina Hotel & Restaurant
#111 of 346 in Kolkata
43 reviews
0.0 km away
Vedic Village Spa Resort
Vedic Village Spa Resort
#22 of 224 in Kolkata
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashoka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashoka Hotel

Address: P-24, Dobson Lane, Kolkata 711 101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 224 Hotels in Kolkata
Price Range: ₹ 2,000 - ₹ 4,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Ashoka Hotel Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing