We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value For Money & Centrally Located !!!”
Review of Walson Spa "O" Tel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Walson Spa "O" Tel
Ranked #117 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Value For Money & Centrally Located !!!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

It's completely a value for money and worth staying at Bawa Walson. Sudder Street is better in terms of cleanliness, calmness and availability of various shops than Marquis Street, Lindsay Street, Free School Street and Mirza Galib Street. These mentioned streets all are near by to the New Market area but Sudder Street is the best and worthn staying for all for sure. This Hotel was basically a house and afterwards modified to the Hotel. Thus, room is spacious like 25 ~ 28 Sqm. I was in the 3rd Floor (room # 306). I along with my wife and 2.5 years daughter was with me and they like this hotel. Hotel has a restaurant itself but bit expensive than usual. There is a open area i.e. courtyard which is really a nice one to relax yourself at late evening. I'll be back again in my next visit for sure..........

Wishes all the best to Bawa Walson and see you next time. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shohagepyllion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    82
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
40
44
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

There are bed bugs in this hotel, therefore if you do not want to suffer from bed bug bites, please stay somewhere else! My mother and I just returned from Kolkata, and we had a very unpleasant stay with sleepless nights. At first glance the hotel seemed impressive as location was great, and rooms looked nice and clean with modern décor. However, upon a closer look, the sheets and pillow cases appeared unclean with visible stains. I overlooked this as overall the room was nice and cozy, and was generally clean. During our first night at the hotel (Room 201), I was woken up in the middle of the night with terrible itching, and found two huge bed bugs on the bed. After I told the reception about this the next morning, they moved us to another room on the same floor (Room 210). I was woken up in the middle of the night again due to itching, and found bed bugs on the pillow cases. The reception staff are also extremely unhelpful, as they reacted very nonchalantly when I reported this to them. Clearly the hotel management is not doing enough to keep the hotel clean and hygienic, and they should be embarrassed to charge anything from guests who have had this experience during their stay at the hotel. I would strongly advise against staying at this hotel if you wish to have a pleasant stay in Kolkata.

Room Tip: Since there were bed bugs in both the rooms we stayed in (201 & 210) I am guessing all other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msarwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
328 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a reasonably modern hotel better than the average Sudder St backpackers. Rooms are clean and comfortable and were serviced regularly. Towels were very coarse. Included breakfas\t was very poor. There were a lot of steps up to the room but a lift was being installed. We would stay here again as it represented fair value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Booked this hotel to for a group of my relatives and a friend who were in Kolkata during end-of-Feb'12. I got an all round remark from my family who stayed at this place that it was quite nice. The proximity to major areas like New Market is a delight ! Price was very reasonable. The staff want too friendly to start with but improved every time I met them on their communication skills and customer relationship management. Rooms were very well done. Some construction was going on a major part of the hotel so there was a lot of noise but I hope that should be complete by now.

IMHO - They need to investigate ways to get better in areas like Room Service, Wait time for Orders.

Would definately keep this in the list for future travels to Kolkata. Good Job Bawa Walson ! Hope an even better experience next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soumalya_sengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel from 7th April for 3 nights..very nice hotel in that location and the price is also reasonable..wifi signal was good nd complementary breakfast was good enough..not so much varieties but ok..location is excellent..my room was on 3rd floor and the only problem is lift was not working, some construction work is going on..staff is helpful and they try their best..I strongly recommend this hotel and I will stay again in my next trip to kolkata

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssaiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
0.2 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#45 of 219 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#68 of 219 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#34 of 219 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#47 of 219 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
1.5 km away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#18 of 219 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#131 of 219 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walson Spa "O" Tel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walson Spa "O" Tel

Property: Walson Spa "O" Tel
Address: 5-A Sudder Street, Taltala, Kolkata 700016, India (Formerly Shilton Hotel)
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata District > Kolkata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 219 Hotels in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,425 - ₹ 10,017
Hotel Class:3 star — Walson Spa "O" Tel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walson known as erstwhile Walson Hotel, the newly refurbished Walson Spa o Tel, opened its doors to the indulgence seeking populace on 1st Sept 2010 in the city's central districts such as park street and the new market, make it a sought after location to be in. The vibrance & the exuberance of the city are at an arm's reach as major shopping markets, cinema hall, the Victoria Memorial and underground metro network and famous Hawarah station and corporate sector in Park Street all situated in the vicinity. This makes the hotel an ideal place of convenience and indulgence both for business travelers and tourists. The rooms are equipped with all the modern amenities and are luxuriously furnished o allow the patrons to sink into leisurely & delightful stay experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra, OYO Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walson Spa "O" Tel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bawa Walson Hotel Kolkata (Calcutta)
Walson Spa "O" Tel Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing