We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #140 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata
Goa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

i had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, the staff is very friendly and professional.
I would like to stay at Hotel Oriental again. Overall a great experience :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor_lovs_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
9
12
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Where on earth you wold find such a nice pace at such affordable prices. Felt not only comfortable but homely. Would love to visit again. Kudos to the staff who have really helped me during my stay. Worth the money's buy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajid-Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A very cozy well located neat & clean hotel with a surprisingly well mannered & helpful staff... My 2 day stay was worth it (value for my money)... Would recommend it positively... thanks

Room Tip: Double Deluxe AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I paid in advance, and had an e-mail correspondence with staff to confirm that I would be able to check in when my (3am) plane arrived; however, when I got there the doors were locked and barred. I was forced to find (expensive) lodging elsewhere.

Not worth the money, not worth the hassle, and I would never place my trust here again!

Room Tip: there are plenty of other hotels in the area - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata hotels

Phang Nga, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I thought I did a reasonable job checking out all the reviews about this establishment. Every other Hotel I stayed at in India gave great value for money. I was aware Calcutta can be more expensive than even Delhi, but at around 1000 INR a night, I recommend paying more to stay somewhere else!! I found the staff arrogant and certainly was not offered being shown any other rooms. The bathroom was quite frankly disgusting, what did work leaked, and forget the nice hot shower, judging by the waterpipes to the shower, there has not been a hot shower in the room I stayed for many years. I cannot recommend this place at all - by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
1.7 km away
Shila International Hotel
Shila International Hotel
#112 of 214 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#136 of 214 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.0 km away
Golden Inn
Golden Inn
#101 of 214 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Rushabh Home
Hotel Rushabh Home
#107 of 214 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.0 km away
The Hotel Avisha
The Hotel Avisha
#30 of 214 in Kolkata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 km away
Aafreen International Hotel
Aafreen International Hotel
#114 of 214 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: 9A Marquis Street, Kolkata 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 214 Hotels in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,489 - ₹ 68,223
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oriental 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oriental Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing