We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #153 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata
Kolkata, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Where on earth you wold find such a nice pace at such affordable prices. Felt not only comfortable but homely. Would love to visit again. Kudos to the staff who have really helped me during my stay. Worth the money's buy.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajid-Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    24
    16
    5
    13
See reviews for
10
12
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A very cozy well located neat & clean hotel with a surprisingly well mannered & helpful staff... My 2 day stay was worth it (value for my money)... Would recommend it positively... thanks

Room Tip: Double Deluxe AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I paid in advance, and had an e-mail correspondence with staff to confirm that I would be able to check in when my (3am) plane arrived; however, when I got there the doors were locked and barred. I was forced to find (expensive) lodging elsewhere.

Not worth the money, not worth the hassle, and I would never place my trust here again!

Room Tip: there are plenty of other hotels in the area - go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kolkata hotels

Phang Nga, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I thought I did a reasonable job checking out all the reviews about this establishment. Every other Hotel I stayed at in India gave great value for money. I was aware Calcutta can be more expensive than even Delhi, but at around 1000 INR a night, I recommend paying more to stay somewhere else!! I found the staff arrogant and certainly was not offered being shown any other rooms. The bathroom was quite frankly disgusting, what did work leaked, and forget the nice hot shower, judging by the waterpipes to the shower, there has not been a hot shower in the room I stayed for many years. I cannot recommend this place at all - by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Having read some decent reviews the only real benefit was the location, that is if you want honking horns and noisy nights. Room had dirt on floors, shower did not work, taps trickled, paper thin walls and very noisy. Overall hotel is not well maintained and would not recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
0.3 km away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#158 of 218 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Heera
Hotel Heera
#115 of 218 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
1.4 km away
Aafreen International Hotel
Aafreen International Hotel
#104 of 218 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Gulshan International
Hotel Gulshan International
#111 of 218 in Kolkata
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Aura
Hotel Aura
#127 of 218 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.4 km away
Lytton Hotel
Lytton Hotel
#67 of 218 in Kolkata
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: 9A Marquis Street, Kolkata 700016, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 218 Hotels in Kolkata
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,491 - ₹ 2,269
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Oriental 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oriental Kolkata, West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing