We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel and its location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Siliguri, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel and its location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Myself and my friend stayed in this hotel with our families. Location is quite good and hotel is also nice including its room. Hospitality of room service (Shintu) was very good but manager/reception person were quite indifferent. Food was delicious specially in view of our off season tour. It is not advisable to book the hotel online specially in low season. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: It is advisable to check the rooms personally before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vktiwari770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    81
    29
    10
    16
See reviews for
103
48
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was the worst hotel I have every stayed with. why? Here the answer follows

1. I booked the hotel by seeing 3 star category on makemytrip. I am unable to find any single reason why this hotel is given 3 star.

1. As soon as you enter the hotel reception with family the attendant give you a cold look, looks like he is treating you as another piece of work which he need to do.

2. When we entered the room we found room stinks.

3. The carpet on the room floor was years old, dirty.
4. The blanket was dirty and years old, those were aged out, however hotel is still keeping those.
5. If you ask for normal drinking water, the water mug is old , cheap, plastic and dirty enough that you cant even touch that.
6. If you look out from hotel window..You will find another dirty wall filled with filth just 2 foot away. better you keep the window closed. There is no AC or fan in the room, through which you can get some air circulation.
7. I thought bathroom must be having an exhaust fan, which I can run to get air circulation in the room, but I failed there as well
8. Room width is just 7.5 or 8 foot, room height is again 7.5 foot and with stale air in the room it gives you a feeling that you are locked up in a prisoner’s cell.
8. In the night at around 11:30, I heard a lot of noise. I found that hotel staff was taking dinner and making lot of noise while having dinner. I requested them but noise didn’t go low.
9. Next morning I enquired attendant about if they can arrange a cab for local sightseeing, I got a cold answer that he doesn’t know much and I should talk to a person sitting in lobby on guest sofa.
10. I asked that person, the casually informed that person who deals with cab is not around and you can arrange a cab yourself by going to taxi stand.
11. Later I realized that person I talked with was the hotel manager who was sitting on guest sofa without even taking a bath and with 2-3 days old shave.
12. The breakfast offerred was pathetic, just omelet and tea, forget fresh cut fruits or juice or cornflakes.
13. I took my son to bathroom at 9:00 am and found that there is cold water running. When I complained, I found that they shut down water heaters from some center point even without informing the guest.
14. Overall a third grade, pathetic, stinking hotel with inhuman, rude attendants and Manager. Go to this only if you want to get a prison like experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A_K_008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed in Sonar Bangla Darjeeling from June 4- 6, 2012. The rooms (404- 405) are very- very dirty & the service is extremely poor. The blankets are torn off.

The complimentary breakfast is never served on time. The dinner was taste less. During dinner when we ordered soup the waiter said pl. do not order as it may take almost an hour to serve. For additional chapatees the waiter souted back & said it may take about 30 min.

pl. do think over before going to thei hotel.

Room Tip: pl. think several times before going to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anil397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were in Room No. 506. Location is excellent. Service boy Manoj’s behaviour is good. But I feel tariff is at higher side. Do not book online. We will not get discount. Over phone you will get better discount & better room. Manager & Reception person are non-accommodative. Food so so, but higher priced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Partha_Pandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The room service and food is very good. Specially they welcome good way.Some guy named Fatik was very nice with us in delivering food or cleaning room upto see us off.Another thing is they know timings.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pabitra430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.0 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#57 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#15 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel The Rink Heritage
Hotel The Rink Heritage
#50 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,506 - ₹ 6,425
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing