We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fair hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

Fair enough for a budget B&B. Room was not upto the mark in neatness. But I liked the bathroom which was big and neat too.

Room Service and Restaurant Service:
Very good waiter. Very pleased with the service offered by him. Not so courteous receptionist.

Wouldn't be my first choice hotel, but if included in a package then I would take it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    78
    29
    10
    14
See reviews for
98
48
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

I wouldn't stay here again, the linen was blood stained, the blankets were grotty (I would assume never washed), and the rooms were stuffy and moldy. When we opened the window to let air in all we got was oil fumes from kitchen below. This place is completely overpriced and I would not recommend, better places to stay in area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

I was there from 2nd July to 5th July. Though the trip was short to be termed as a vacation trip but the stay would remain as one of my memorable trips. I was been given a Half-Duplex room and it was facing the Kunchan Jungha. It was my bad luck that due to monsoon and fog, I could not get the glimpse of it. The room service is such that it cannot be explained in words. I had earlier experience of staying the chain hotel at Mandermoni and was unsure about the service there at Darjeeling but the cordial welcome, promt assistance and the kind hospitality of the managemnet people there at Sonar Bangla Darjeeling really worth more than the money that I spent there. The property is located in the middle of Mall and Chowk Bazar and making it convenient for anyone who is shopping freak. The rooms are neat and clean and there is a lot of variety of foods (breakfast, lunch, tiffin and dinner) available in the hotel.

Room Tip: Once your room is booked, try to contact the hotel over phone and request for arranging a room as pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank shamim33in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a very good budget hotel. We had a Super Deluxe Room which had valley view. The room is very good value of money. The toilet is also good and clean. The Restaurant offers very good food, though expensive. The staffs are very good and courtious. The breakfast is OK. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjibScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

very good rooms, with bfast complimtary just 3 mins walk to mall road , makes it a ideal place to stay, very good restaurent as well...sightseeings can be arranged from the hotel, very co operating staff n good room service as well, at 2000 bucks wat else can u ask for...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
3 Thank avi_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
1.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.2 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Hotel White Yak
Hotel White Yak
#25 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 km away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#17 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling

Property: Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Address: 1/1, Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,488 - ₹ 4,976
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Yatra and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing