We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Nearby Hotels
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 108
US$ 85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Viceroy Hotel(Darjeeling)
US$ 156
US$ 122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 99
US$ 84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel White Yak(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$ 101
US$ 94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Krishna Residency(Darjeeling)(Great Value!)
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 81
US$ 68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Darjeeling(Darjeeling)
US$ 166
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
54
92
34
12
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
92
34
12
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtaxi standsuper deluxe roomsthe check in processroom service was excellentbengali foodplace to staybudget hotelstayed in this hotel for nightshot waterroom rentprime locationtop floorwalking distancehotel managementbasic amenitiesvisiting darjeeling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I wouldn't stay here again, the linen was blood stained, the blankets were grotty (I would assume never washed), and the rooms were stuffy and moldy. When we opened the window to let air in all we got was oil fumes from kitchen below. This place is completely overpriced and I would not recommend, better places to stay in area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I was there from 2nd July to 5th July. Though the trip was short to be termed as a vacation trip but the stay would remain as one of my memorable trips. I was been given a Half-Duplex room and it was facing the Kunchan Jungha. It was my bad luck that due to monsoon and fog, I could not get the glimpse of it. The room service is such that it cannot be explained in words. I had earlier experience of staying the chain hotel at Mandermoni and was unsure about the service there at Darjeeling but the cordial welcome, promt assistance and the kind hospitality of the managemnet people there at Sonar Bangla Darjeeling really worth more than the money that I spent there. The property is located in the middle of Mall and Chowk Bazar and making it convenient for anyone who is shopping freak. The rooms are neat and clean and there is a lot of variety of foods (breakfast, lunch, tiffin and dinner) available in the hotel.

Room Tip: Once your room is booked, try to contact the hotel over phone and request for arranging a room as per your choice.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank shamim33in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a very good budget hotel. We had a Super Deluxe Room which had valley view. The room is very good value of money. The toilet is also good and clean. The Restaurant offers very good food, though expensive. The staffs are very good and courtious. The breakfast is OK. Overall very good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanjibScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

very good rooms, with bfast complimtary just 3 mins walk to mall road , makes it a ideal place to stay, very good restaurent as well...sightseeings can be arranged from the hotel, very co operating staff n good room service as well, at 2000 bucks wat else can u ask for...

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank avi_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Sonar Bangla is located very close to the mall road with all amanities..stayed with my wife and son...room quality is very good....food quality is also good..some issues in room services but overall comfortable stay...would recommend to stay in this hotel...they have limitied rooms with a view of Kanchanjundga...was lucky to get the view rooms

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaurav1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews