We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$32
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Vio.com
$28
View deal
Trip.com
$29
View deal
Agoda.com$28
Etrip$29
eDreams$32
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
179
154
36
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
154
36
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ranjan lama top floor complimentary breakfast nehru road approach road taxi stand paratha in house restaurant basic amenities clock tower budget hotel attic mountains mall kanchenjunga view mr
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2022

Stayed in March 2022 with family.

FIRSTLY THE NEGATIVES

1. Extremely Small rooms, you will hardly be able to move. Room 303 where we stayed had issues with toilet drainage and the switches for the TV and power outlet were oddly placed below a table at the corner making it difficult to switch on.

2. If you are travelling with old people or people who have knee or breathing or any physical problem then don't stay here as climbing stairs is a pain and its extremely steep

3. No availability of inhouse Dinner which will make you hunt for food every night from different restaurants

4. The breakfast is the same every day and no choice ( for continental you get 2 sausages, 2 hash browns, 2 poached eggs, bread, butter and jam and coffee and juice)

NOW POSITIVES

1. Budget hotel which will not break your bank

2. The views from rooms are okayish if you are lucky to get 303 or 304 or attic 503 or 504 room

3. It will take approx. 10-15 mins to reach mall if you walk leisurely

4. There are small shops nearby from where you can buy water, have a cup of tea

Room tip: Get 303/304 or 503/504
Date of stay: March 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ShoestringTravel_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 March 2022

Hotel is clean. no view from the room expect the rooms in the 5th floor. rooms are small but cozy. staffs are helpful and always smiley. no provision of Lunch and dinner in the hotel every time you need to walk 100 - 200 meters to have your food which is disgusting. this should be mentioned before booking which hotel is not mentioning.

Date of stay: February 2022
1  Thank CHEL1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

The best rooms are the attic rooms in the top floor with tremendous view of the Himalayas and the Kanchenjunga. They provide a sumptuous complementary breakfast with excellent room service. The rooms are clean and very well maintained. The location is pristine . It is very near to Darjeeling Clock Tower minus the crowd and the Mall Road is just 5-8 mins walk downhill. The only downside is that being a heritage hotel it doesn't have lift so expect a flight of stairs. So not recommended for people who cannot climb the stairs. Also there is no in house restaurant hence you have to take care of lunch and dinner outside. They have the option of heating the food that you buy from outside for a very nominal charge. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience for us.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank astroexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 February 2021

We stayed in Sangrila hotel for 4 days. It was a pleasant experience. Extremely good ambience, good food and courteous behaviour of the hotel staff. It is close to the Mall. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. I would greatly recommend this place for a pleasant and happy stay.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank tanaya121193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

For hotels in Darjeeling, here's is what I look for
1) Nearness to Mal
2) Car access
3) Scenic view
4) Rational Budget
In Darjeeling,hotels on the Mal are numerous, but there exists "strict no vehicle " policy. It's a nightmare after reaching one's hotel to pull uphill. And others which have car accessibility have no view at all. Of course there are exceptions like Elgin & Mayfair but their budget is quite high.
Hotel Sangri La Regency excels in all these matters.
1) I am quite obese but it took me about 6 to 7 minutes to reach Mal from this hotel.
2) We stayed at room no 504, which had a clear view of the Kanchenjunga.
3) park literally in front of the hotel.
4) Rent is quite pocket friendly.
And now other features
1) Can be booked through hotel's website.
2) Someone from the hotel gets in touch with the customer and supplies number so one can discuss any doubts.
3) Hotel provides reliable service for pick up, customised tours and drop for reasonable costs.
4) The complimentary breakfast has both Indian and European cuisine and as far as complimentary breakfasts go, are fine.
5) Rooms, linens and bathrooms exceptionally clean.
6) Geyser and tea coffee makers are complimentary.
7) Room heater is free for the 1st night, chargeable from the next
8) Lunch & Dinner are to be pre ordered, as they don't have any kitchen within the premises. They bring the food from their sister hotel Sangri La on the Mal. Anyway there's a lot of fine restaurants including the legendary Kevs within 3-4 minutes walking distance.
9) Though the hotel do not have a lift, the staircase is quite adequate. I stayed at 5th floor (opted for the majestic view).

I must also mention Ms Farah who on behalf of the hotel had been in touch with me over from the day of my booking looking into any kind of issues I had.
All other staffs had been courteous and were pleasantly helpful.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank AMGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews