We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great travel experience !”
Review of Shangrila Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shangrila Regency
Ranked #14 of 99 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Location- Very good. Away from the maddening crowds of Mall Road, yet walkable distance from the legendary Keventers' and Glenerys' (Restaurant and tea bar respectively).
Room- Limited no. of very warm welcoming rooms !! (So better book early)
Staff/ Service- Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served at a common hall where you get to meet other lodgers and fellow travellers. The food's good and so is the ambience.

Staying at Shangrila Regency is an entire experience in itself. Must go and stay if you love the journey as much as the destination !

Room Tip: Call the hotel in advance. They will help you out with the rooms available and will also let you kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvlyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 199 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

After a long and tiring journey this hotel was exactly what I wanted and I felt relaxed immediately on entering the building. The room was very clean and well appointed as well as being quiet. Breakfast as stated elsewhere, was delicious and was a great and relaxing way to start the day. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve22England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our stay at Shangrila Regency was absolutely a remarkable one. The cozy room where we stayed was a nice place to laze around. Though the fog interrupted the view from our window, the service rendered by the people at Shangrila deserves praise. We liked the way they, especially Samuel, dealt with us. The sumptuous breakfast consisting of baked beans, sausages, cornflakes and eggs was mouthwatering. There was no scarcity of water and electricity as the hotel always maintains a generator backup and the geyser also functioned surprisingly well. However, the reception on the ground floor needs a little overhaul; the place is not spacious enough. Overall, we had a fantastic experience during our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itchyfeet_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed in the attic room which was cozy, clean and comfortable. The service was at once informal and professional. The breakfast was good and the lounge with surrounding views a great feature of the hotel. When due to unforeseen circumstances all the restaurants in the city closed for the day, the hotel management went out of their way to arrange for lunch and dinner. The staff was attentive and helpful too in arranging for trips in and around Darjeeling. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JelleW809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The stay at Shangrila Regency was comfortable. We had booked the attic rooms. Both the rooms , though small can accomdate an extra bed. The views from the attic rooms are good since they are five floors up !!! The rooms are not recommended for senior citizens or those who have difficulty in climbing. There is no lift in the hotel. The rooms are clean and neat. Good service by the staff and they can arrange for all the sightseeing in and around Darjeeling which have fixed rates. Both the attic rooms are adajacent to each other and are separated by a very thin wall , hence one can hear the people in the next room.
The hotel itself is in an area that is conjested with buildings and residences. It is waling distance from the main Mall road.
The entrance to the hotel is just near a garbage dump and maybe a deterrant to staying here. Notwithstanding the above, the hotel staff are very warm and courteous and make up for any such deterrants with their friendly and ever welcoming manner. The breakfast is excellent and good.

Room Tip: the best view is from the attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darylmili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.8 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.3 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
3.4 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 99 in Darjeeling
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Everest
Hotel Villa Everest
#10 of 99 in Darjeeling
193 reviews
0.5 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangrila Regency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangrila Regency

Address: 21, Gandhi Road | Opp:Bethany School, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#8 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Price Range: ₹ 2,261 - ₹ 4,005 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the views of the Kanchenjunga from the rooftop lounge, reputation for friendly staff and quality accommodation Shangrila Regency represents good value for money. All the rooms have en-suite bathrooms. Rates are for two people sharing and include breakfast. We have our own high quality cars that can be booked in advance to pick you up from the airport/station as well as for tours and onward travel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shangrila Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Darjeeling
Regency Hotel Shangrila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing