We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
91
95
22
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
91
95
22
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home stay hot water tashi delek gandhi road tibetan refugee home away from home homely atmosphere walking distance sight seeing per night budget hotel room heater clear view mountain view visit darjeeling mr kanchenjunga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

Had A good stay comfortable and clean located in the heart of the city very friendly and extremely helpful staff, good breakfast but definitely needs more variety. Pick up and drop from the airport really make things comfortable.Recommended if all you have to do is come back and sleep there but definitely not a place where you can laze around and relax. Excellent place to make as a base and travel in and around Darjeeling.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 216sunitak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowlion H, Owner at Snow Lion HomeStay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2019

Hi Sunita,
TashiDelek!!!
Thank you so much for taking time out to post your valuable & positive feedback :-))

You have highlighted all the things that we as a team strive to excel, deliver & provide true value for money!!!

As is our motto, we provide true value for money! Always a pleasure to have happy guests who are satisfied with our services. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.
Our rooms are standard size double rooms with a king-size bed and ideal for 2 persons however on guest request, we permit an extra person in a room. We provide Dunlop mattress with quilts, pillows and blankets.

We are centrally located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient. There are many popular multi-cuisine restaurants & cafes along Gandhi road and Mall road. We serve choice of Eggs and toast with butter and jam/ Cereals/ Muesli/Porridge and Aloo paranthas/ Tawa rotis with Subzi along with tea/coffee and fruit for breakfast. Breakfast is served in our dining area from where the KanchenJunga mountain ranges can be viewed on a clear day & also from our Roof-Top terrace. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.

All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc. WI-FI is freely accessible all over the property.

I am glad to inform you that we have upgraded all our rooms with Bhutan Pine wood panelling on the walls and Italian wooden flooring.We have 24 X 7 CCTV Surveillance enabled for security and safety measures of our guests.
It is always such a pleasure and humbling experience when your collective efforts are acknowledged. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Darjeeling & hope you come back soon in the near future!!!

We strive to treat all our guests with warmth, personalized service & hospitality. We are constantly trying to better ourselves on all aspects. I, on behalf of the entire Snowlion Homestay family thank you for choosing to stay with us and cherish the memories of your visit to this part of the world.
TashiDelek!!!
Gailly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed in snow lion for 1 night. Rats were found in room and family had a horrible time during the stay. Only breakfast was good and hotel's in easily accessible location to market. Hope hotel management will take steps to avoid these discomfort to tourists.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ganapathy9583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowlion H, Owner at Snow Lion HomeStay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2019

Hi ,
Tashidelek!
We called pest control and the matter was resolved that very day. Suprisingly you did not mention that I waivered the charge for 1 night as your train was delayed and you checked –in one day late
.
Our rooms are 15ft x 17ft excluding the attached bathroom which is a standard size double room with a king-size bed and ideal for 2 persons, however on guest request, we permit an extra person in a room. We provide Dunlop mattress with quilts, pillows and blankets.

Hotels on Gandhi road charge upwards of 4k/5k. We are a family owned & managed property so we have kept our tarrif very reasonable to provide true value for money!!!

We are centrally located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient. There are many popular multi-cuisine restaurants & cafes along Gandhi road and Mall road. We serve choice of Eggs and toast with butter and jam/ Cereals/ Muesli/Porridge and Aloo paranthas/ Tawa rotis with Subzi along with tea/coffee and fruit for breakfast. Breakfast is served in our dining area from where the KanchenJunga mountain ranges can be viewed on a clear day & also from our Roof-Top terrace. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.

All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc. WI-FI is freely accessible all over the property.

I am glad to inform you that we have upgraded all our rooms with Bhutan Pine wood panelling on the walls and Italian wooden flooring.We have 24 X 7 CCTV Surveillance enabled for security and safety measures of our guests.
It is always such a pleasure and humbling experience when your collective efforts are acknowledged. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Darjeeling & hope you come back soon in the near future!!! We are located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient.
We strive to treat all our guests with warmth, personalized service & hospitality. We are constantly trying to better ourselves on all aspects. I, on behalf of the entire Snowlion Homestay family thank you for choosing to stay with us and cherish the memories of your visit to this part of the world.
TashiDelek!!!
Gailly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019

We stayed here for 2N. Initially it was very difficult for us to locate the rooms as it looked quite different from the pics externally.
Talking about the location it is great. It is on Gandhi road which is close to restaurants and for shopping.
The hotel staff are very helpful and provide great hospitality.
The food provided is yummy (The paratas)

However i was little upset about the rooms. We had booked 2 rooms for 6 adults. 3 persons in each room and the rooms were really small and congested. After keeping our luggage, we hardly had any place to walk or move around with all the furniture they had kept. For the amount we paid which is like 3k per night, per room, i felt it was expensive.

Also, the bathrooms were not all that clean. It could definitely improve.

Plus the room had no views as it was inside. Plus parking is a problem as it is on the busy street of Gandhi road.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sindhurakatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowlion H, Owner at Snow Lion HomeStay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2019

Hi Mrs.Venkatesh,
Tashidelek!!! Thank you for taking time out to post your valuable & positive feedback :-))
FYI, our rooms are 15ft x 17ft excluding the attached bathroom which is a standard size double room with a king-size bed and ideal for 2 persons, however on guest request, we permit an extra person in a room. We provide Dunlop mattress with quilts, pillows and blankets.
Hotels on Gandhi road charge upwards of 4k/5k. We are a family owned & managed property so we have kept our tarrif very reasonable to provide true value for money!!!
We are centrally located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient. There are many popular multi-cuisine restaurants & cafes along Gandhi road and Mall road. We serve choice of Eggs and toast with butter and jam/ Cereals/ Muesli/Porridge and Aloo paranthas/ Tawa rotis with Subzi along with tea/coffee and fruit for breakfast. Breakfast is served in our dining area from where the KanchenJunga mountain ranges can be viewed on a clear day & also from our Roof-Top terrace. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.
All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc. WI-FI is freely accessible all over the property. I am glad to inform you that we have upgraded all our rooms with Bhutan Pine wood panelling on the walls and Italian wooden flooring.We have 24 X 7 CCTV Surveillance enabled for security and safety measures of our guests.
It is always such a pleasure and humbling experience when your collective efforts are acknowledged. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Darjeeling & hope you come back soon in the near future!!!
We strive to treat all our guests with warmth, personalized service & hospitality. We are constantly trying to better ourselves on all aspects. I, on behalf of the entire Snowlion Homestay family thank you for choosing to stay with us and cherish the memories of your visit to this part of the world. TashiDelek!!!
Gailly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019

Mr. P. T. Gillay, Snow Lion Homestay owner, was very helpful during my stay at his hotel. He helped me to find a store with an original iPhone charger which I forgot at home, so I could get in touch with my family abroad, and he also helped me to do my online banking with safety. He arranged for me to go to Kalimpong for an important spiritual ceremony. Having provided for me to cross the Indian Nepal border by land in Khakarbitta, he instructed the driver, Rajem Thami, also a very friendly guy and good driver, to crossed the border with me and drop me off at the airport in Bhadrapur, Nepal, an amazing and unforgettable experience!!! All the tour prices are fixed. I am very grateful to him and to the staff always ready to help, specially Rohit Gurung. Thank you so much Mr. P.T. Gillay! Couldn't find a better place to stay in this lovely, beautiful and wonderful city that is Darjeeling!!!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank LedaMontenegro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowlion H, Owner at Snow Lion HomeStay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2019

Hi Leda,
TashiDelek!!!
Thank you so much for taking time out to post your valuable & positive feedback :-))
You have highlighted all the things that we as a team strive to excel, deliver & provide true value for money!!!
As is our motto, we provide true value for money! Always a pleasure to have happy guests who are satisfied with our services. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.
Our rooms are standard size double rooms with a king-size bed and ideal for 2 persons however on guest request, we permit an extra person in a room. We provide Dunlop mattress with quilts, pillows and blankets.

We are centrally located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient. There are many popular multi-cuisine restaurants & cafes along Gandhi road and Mall road. We serve choice of Eggs and toast with butter and jam/ Cereals/ Muesli/Porridge and Aloo paranthas/ Tawa rotis with Subzi along with tea/coffee and fruit for breakfast. Breakfast is served in our dining area from where the KanchenJunga mountain ranges can be viewed on a clear day & also from our Roof-Top terrace. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people.
All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc. WI-FI is freely accessible all over the property I am glad to inform you that we have upgraded all our rooms with Bhutan Pine wood panelling on the walls and Italian wooden flooring.We have 24 X 7 CCTV Surveillance enabled for security and safety measures of our guests.
It is always such a pleasure and humbling experience when your collective efforts are acknowledged. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Darjeeling & hope you come back soon in the near future!!!

We strive to treat all our guests with warmth, personalized service & hospitality. We are constantly trying to better ourselves on all aspects. I, on behalf of the entire Snowlion Homestay family thank you for choosing to stay with us and cherish the memories of your visit to this part of the world.
TashiDelek!!!
Gailly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019

Had Visited and Stayed for 4 Days, 3 nights at Snowline Homestay in January 2019. Its nice and memorable place to stay. Its based on Tibetan theme decor.

Rooms:

- Rooms are Clean, cozy. Bed sheets, towels, pillows provided also clean.
- Facility of Hot Water for 24 Hrs, Wi-Fi, Television and also Room Heaters available on reasonable chargeable basis (complementary for 1st day ).
- They have standard rooms, deluxe rooms and large attic rooms.

Service:

- Hotel Owner Mr. Gailly is very much supportive.
- Hotel is basically run by his family. All staff is very much helpful and polite.
- They provide complementary breakfast, which is good in Taste. Even remembering Taste of paranthas .
- They have there own cab service for roaming around in Darjeeling.

Location: -

- This Home stay (but looks like 3 star hotel)is situated at Gandhi Road.
- Walkable distance to explore things in Darjeeling.(Darjeeling Railway station 15 mins, Chowrasta mall 15 mins)
- Kanchenjunga view from hotel is so beautiful and scenic, even no need to go tiger hill point. (view from the roof and the dining hall on a clear day)
- Lots of food option available nearby location. (Make sure to have food approx 7.00pm, as 95% hotels will be closed at 7.00-8.00pm.)
- If anyone traveling with own Vehicle, then ask for parking of car, as its property located at narrow road, so parking is not possible.

Other then, Hotel Owner maintained his property Very well. They have their library section for reading books. Nice to see all Tibetan antique collection.

At the time of departure, they give us small gift of good luck.

I would recommend this place to anyone staying in Darjeeling.

Room tip: Choose double deluxe mountain facing rooms.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank bhushandavande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowlion H, Owner at Snow Lion HomeStay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Dear Bhushan,
TashiDelek!!! Thank you so much for taking time out to post your valuable & positive feedback :-)) You have highlighted all the things that we as a team strive to excel, deliver & provide true value for money!!! As is our motto, we provide true value for money! Always a pleasure to have happy guests who are satisfied with our services. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people. Our rooms are standard size double rooms with a king-size bed and ideal for 2 persons however on guest request, we permit an extra person in a room. We provide Dunlop mattress with quilts, pillows and blankets. We are centrally located on Gandhi road which is a continuation to the Mall on a straight gradient. There are many popular multi-cuisine restaurants & cafes along Gandhi road and Mall road. We serve choice of Eggs and toast with butter and jam/ Cereals/ Muesli/Porridge and Aloo paranthas/ Tawa rotis with Subzi along with tea/coffee and fruit for breakfast. Breakfast is served in our dining area from where the KanchenJunga mountain ranges can be viewed on a clear day & also from our Roof-Top terrace. Everyone appreciates our location with parking facilities esp families with elderly people. All our rooms have en suite (attached) bathroom with showers, hot & cold running water (24hrs), W.C, in-house telephone and remote control television with Cable TV (37 channels including BBC, Star TV, Zee, ESPN etc. WI-FI is freely accessible all over the property I am glad to inform you that we have upgraded all our rooms with Bhutan Pine wood panelling on the walls and Italian wooden flooring.We have 24 X 7 CCTV Surveillance enabled for security and safety measures of our guests. It is always such a pleasure and humbling experience when your collective efforts are acknowledged. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us during your vacation in Darjeeling & hope you come back soon in the near future!!! We strive to treat all our guests with warmth, personalized service & hospitality. We are constantly trying to better ourselves on all aspects. I, on behalf of the entire Snowlion Homestay family thank you for choosing to stay with us and cherish the memories of your visit to this part of the world. TashiDelek!!! Gailly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews