We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic to stay there” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic to stay there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

it is a really good place to stay in darjeeling. All meals and amenities you get are laudable. the staff is also good natured. Small gift shop inside the hotel is superb and you will get amazed by their amicable support to everyone. you can buy awesome good stuff in reasonable price from their shop. you can also visit the darjeeling market as it is walking distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pathik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Guest

Than k you so much for a rating us with 4 star for which we appreciate very much

WE will try to live upto your expectation and do hope that you will keep in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well

regards


Jigme D Bhutia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    154
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
129
101
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2nights and had a wonderful experience. The staff are very friendly and the owner Yeshie (so sorry if that is spelt wrong!) was lovely and couldn't do enough to help us with information on the area and things to do!
The beds are big and comfortable with plenty of blankets. They even gave us a hot water bottle when we went to bed which we thought was a great touch :)
We ate our main meals here. The chef is fantastic. They had a wide range of vegetarian meals for me and plenty of meat for my husband. Try the momos!
The hotel is in a great location, very easy to walk to everything
(Tip in regards to the train ride to Ghum and back - get the normal train instead of steam as its half the price and does exact same route pretty much at the same time. And if you're going to tiger hill I wouldn't bother doing the train at all as the route is the same, the tracks go along the road.)
All in all a great stay and we would definitely stay again
Thanks again!

Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JadeyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Guest

We are very happy that you like our hotel and thank you so much for rating us with 5 star
rating for which we really appreciate with thanks

Hope that You will keep in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well

regards

Jigme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

It's a nice hotel owned by a Tibetan family. We stayed in 3rd floor Kanchenjunga facing room. It was nice. Bathroom was standard but clean. Room service boys regularly clean rooms. One more thing to mention is their food. It's awesome. Especially chicken sizzler and grilled chicken items and obviously the non veg club sandwich all with very reasonable price. They also run a small gift shop. Travel desk arrange cars with reasonable rate for excursion.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shibaji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for rating our hotel and NIce and Clean hotel.

for which we appreciate and do hope that you will keep us in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well

regards


Jigme D Bhutia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

This was a last minute booking and I was misled by the higher rating. Other than the fact that this hotel lies bang on the down town / shopping district & they have a great restraunt. Nothing else goes in its favour, IMHO.

First its located down a road where the cars just cant go cause of massive traffic jams. I had to wheel down my luggage from the entrance of the road and again wheel up the incline on the day of departure. Its a good 500 odd meters on a steep incline before you reach the junction beyond which taxi drivers dread to drive in.
Second the windows open to some of the dingiest streets I have come across and its well past midnight before the street noise drowns out.
Third the rooms are horrible, the first room I got, the bathroom doors wont shut and the room reeked of the smell. The second room I got was a wee bit better but i could constantly here people walking on the wodden floor board above. I hardly could get a decent sleep on both nights.
Last, over all cleanliness is a big let down, both the hotel and the vicinity. Its like staying in the bylanes of GrantRoad, Mumbai, if you know what I mean.

Their only saving grace is the restaurant and I had to have all my meal there, thanks to the demonitization phenomena which started midway through my travel. I was not disappointed at any time. However, I would rather stay elsewhere and come here just for a chow.

Easily one of the worst places I have stayed in my travel experience and perhaps thats why am more disappointed than I should be !

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Srikanth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Sir

Our humble apologies for all the inconveniences you had to faced during your stay here with us. It is very much true that our hotel is located in a narrow lane but vehicle do reach upto the hotel. I dont know why the driver caused you so much of trouble, had you inform us we would have reached your luggage to your taxi.

WE are indeed very sorry for the inconvenience

Any way glad that you liked our Restaurant and the cuisines which we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016

Nice little hotel very close to Chowk bazar (Its a 100m walk from taxi stand, cabs try asking 200 more to drop you to front of hotel as they need to take another route, better to just walk unless u have lot of luggage). Rooms are cozy, bathroom is ok, food in the restaurant is decent but not great. The hotel is very well decorated. Overall, a nice stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikas y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 24 December 2016
Dear Sir

Thank you so reviewing us and giving 4 star for which we really appreciate

Hope that you will keep us in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well.

regards

Jigme D Bhutia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
3.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 3,677
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing