We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Tibetan Style boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #13 of 94 Hotels in Darjeeling
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Tibetan Style boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016

Pros:

1) Rooms are really good, wooden , warm , well furnished in tibetan style.. All the rooms are good, so you may book it online blindfoldly.. But all the rooms don't come with view , but all are quite spacious and open..
2) The hotel has an inhouse quite big bar n restaurant, where you get some excellent cuisine at a very reasonable price.. I tasted chicken sizzler, which is the best sizzler I have ever tasted in Darjeeling.. So, if you plan to chill out or sip a drink in the warmth of a wooden bar with exotic food at a very reasonable price, then this is the place... I highly recommend the restaurant of this holel , even you don't put up here, specially the Europeans the South East Asian travellers.
3) Located at the middle of Chowbazar ane Mall .. So easy to reach

Cons:

Not much in the downside... Mall is 5 minutes walk.. Unless you are quite aged , or not fit to walk up that small distance, should not be a problem for you.... And like most of the hotels in Darjeeling, no electrical equipments including charging points work in case of power cut, which is frequent

Overall , very good , highly recommended..

Room Tip: All the rooms are good and spacious , in case you require rooms with view, book accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAIDEEP_BANERJEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear Sir,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your glowing reviews regarding the food, specially the Chicken sizzler have been communicated to the Chef who is now overjoyed.

We thank you once again and we look forward to serving you, your friends the next time you are in Darjeeling.

Regards,

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    154
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
129
101
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My mix review is -

View : 9/10
Food: 10/10
Room location: 7/10
Room condition:8/10
Hotel decorations: 10/10
Manager behavior: 5/10
Other stuff behavior: 6/10
Little Shop inside hotel : 10/10

Final verdict:
Pros:
Very good hotel with well decorations.
You can seats common place lobby which is extremely well decoration.
Food is just awesome you should try chinese chopsuey.
There is a bar inside. Some extent I feel price is little high for restaurant.
Location is good, 15 minutes climbing will reach you Mall.
Local market is 5 minutes.
You can get a little shop inside to get some gifts with reasonable rates.
Room no 301 is good view.
Water is no problem here.

Cons:
Hotel is good but service is poor. You need to submit you room keys in order to get room clean up. No fixed time when they have chance they will clean room no customer preference, manager says this is rules.
Smoking should not permit inside restaurant.

Advice to management: Please look after the service and staff attitude. Otherwise I can say this is the best hotel.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank souravr923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear Sir,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen.

We are sorry to hear about the problems you faced with housekeeping and with the attitude of some of the staff. They have all been spoken to and we shall ensure that this does not happen again. With regards to "No smoking" in the restaurant, we have divided the restaurant into "Smoking" and "No smoking" zones. Our restaurant staff should have asked you regarding your preference and you should have been seated accordingly. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food, ambience, and the Gift Shop which is well loved by all our guests.

Regards,

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Beautiful, ornately decorated hotel with the friendliest staff. Well situated in the heart of Darjeeling, hotel seven seventeen is well worth a visit.

With staff available for every eventuality, I would thoroughly recommend a visit.

The restaurant and menu offer a wide range of food for all appetites. I would definitely try the steamed chicken momo for lunch or dinner.

A special mention goes to Narendra, Asish, Tshering, Sambu and Rahul who all went above and beyond when my dad was taken ill during our stay.

If you find yourself in Darjeeling, Hotel Seven Seventeen captures the heart of the town and the local people.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear Brittany,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen. Thank you for your wonderful review.

As I mentioned in my earlier comment, all of us were just happy to be there for your father and we were all very happy, relieved when he was declared fit enough to leave the hospital the next day. The boys you mentioned have all just resumed work. They were away to spend time during the festive/puja season with their families and they are now back to welcome/serve our valued guests once again.

Best wishes,

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely traditional style hotel. The rooms are comfortable and can have stunning views depending on which ones you get. The restaurant is varied in what it offers, food is good. Try the steamed chicken momos.

The decor is quite beautiful all paintwork done by hand with a high attention to detail.

I unfortunately was taken ill and had to spend a night in hospital while there and was humbled by the concern and care exhibited by the owner and staff, the following are worthy of mention Prem, Narendra, Asish, Tshering, Sambhu and Rahul. This spoke more than food, fixtures and fittings.

If you are visiting Darjeeling consider 717. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank claytonf2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear Sir,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen.

All of us here at Hotel Seven Seventeen take pride in serving our guests and ensuring that they have a comfortable stay. We were very worried when you got unwell and had to be admitted into the local hospital and so we were very glad when your health improved significantly the next day. Thank you for the box of chocolates. It was shared among the guys you mentioned and they enjoyed it thoroughly.

We wish you and your family good health and we look forward to serving you, your friends in the future.

Regards,

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

Hospitality 100%. ,Stayed only one day but had agreat time. Do visit here. Darjeeling is beautiful can't express in words but the hotel is also best, interior carvings so beautiful nice cozy ambiance. And the best part is it's owner she is really the best lady,hats off to her.

Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 171178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 18 October 2016
Dear Sir,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you may know, this is a family owned hotel and all of us are involved in the day to day running of the hotel. My Mom and Aunt whom you must have met at the gift shop are always there to interact with guests and ensure that our valued guests have a comfortable stay. I will be sure to pass on your compliments and kind words to my Mom and Aunt.

We hope you had a safe journey back and we hope that you think of us, the next time you or your friends are planning to visit Darjeeling.

Regards,

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
3.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,671 - ₹ 3,677
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelGuru, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing