We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excelleant Stay the Hotel Special Thanks to Jigme D Bhutia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seven Seventeen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seven Seventeen
Ranked #12 of 93 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excelleant Stay the Hotel Special Thanks to Jigme D Bhutia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2016

I have seen some people is complaining about water scarcity and timing. I think I should write this review.
1. If you go to any of the Hotel in Darjeeling water is the common problem. Guests are lucky that get enough water. The scarcity is because of the natural position of darjeeling being at the top of the mountain.
2. I could not find any issue regarding hospitality.
3. We were two couples and was given two rooms in 3rd floor. The rooms were well maintained and good and add to this it had an excellent view of Kanchanjangha.
4. We did not had time to eat at the restaurant as we were packed with our tours.
5. They will offer the best hospitality as it is a family business.
I traveled on 22nd Jan 2012. Sorry Mr. Bhutia for a late review. I wish I could have reviewed earlier.

Room Tip: Choose the 3rd floor right side rooms. Will have the view of Kanchanjangha
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2015, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amabandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Dear Sir

We are so happy that you cherish your stay here with us even after so many years for which we are so thankful.

Over the years our Hotel has been renovated and refurnished.

Hope that you will visit us again in near future

regards

Jigme D Bhutia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    154
    39
    23
    20
See reviews for
128
101
27
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a lovely time.
Initially we booked for one night only with the intention of staying longer if we were happy with the hotel. On our first night we stayed in a basic room on the third floor and when we decided to stay on we were given a superior room with a balcony on the fourth floor at no extra cost.
This hotel is clean. They serviced our room thoroughly each day. The decor in the hotel is fabulous with incredible detail in the painting on the ceilings/ walls and the Tibetan themed furniture and decorations. There is a beautiful lounge upstairs with lots of books for guests to read.
Wifi is excellent in the rooms but didn't work downstairs in the restaurant for us.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly.
On our fourth day we met the owner and she is a really sweet lady who invited us for tea to her home which is on the top floor of the building. This is a real family run place and the family live upstairs. The owner was so kind and when we were leaving the next morning on a long journey to Delhi she gave us a bag of apples to eat on the road!
The only disadvantage was that the rooms were slightly damp owing to the fact that it was monsoon season and the whole of Darjeeling is pretty much in a cloud most of the time! However we looked at a number of other hotels in Darjeeling and they all seemed to have the same problem so I don't think there is much you can do to avoid it anywhere at this time of year.

Stayed August 2016
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
Dear Guest

Thank You so much for writing feedbacks for which we really appreciate .

We are so happy that we could make your stay here with us comfortable and memorable

Hope that you will keep us in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well.

regards


Jigme D Bhutia


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016

Definitely a Mediocre hotel choice in Just about every aspect and parameter. The Lobby and the overall common areas looks nicely decked up in classic tibetan style and that seems to be the only plus point to the hotel.

The staff speak limited english and the politeness of the manager in the front office is best left unsaid. Had originally booked for a superior room with a valley view, but all that we got was a small double bed barely fitting for 2 adults and a window which opens to to a sit out space with the employees clothes drying up on cloth lines. Hence upgraded to a so called "Suite Room" on the top floor of the hotel. It had a decent balcony and was spacious. The limited warddrobe space was damp and wet and almost unusable.

The highlight of the suite room is, it has a attached Toilet/Bath whose only air outlet window opens out into your suite room.. So if one is using the toilet inside... best left unsaid. Unbelievable as to how the hotel staff failed to see that.

Hot water is available only for about 3 hours in the morning and about 3 hours in the evening. If u miss this slot, good luck with a cold shower in cold Darjeeling..:)

The food at the inhouse restaurant is nothing much to write about and is average fare. The service levels are sluggish. wifi is present through out the hotel but is barely enough to connect. the buffet spread for the morning breakfast was mix of continental and indian, and quite sufficient.

Overall not a satisfactory stay if u are the frequent traveller.

Room Tip: Do ask to check the room before checking in, just in case..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veepy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for giving us feedback which we appreciate
Likewise i would also like to clarify certain points which you might not be aware of :-

1)Your booking was for a Deluxe room from your travel agent and was provided one but since we had low occupancy we provided you a Suite room with Balcony View without any charges .
2) In Darjeeling Town water is scarce and every one i mean every one residents of Darjeeling, shopowners, restaurants and hotels big or small have to depend on water tankers for regular supply of water.

We are so sorry that we could not satisfy your taste buds, perhaps if you could have expressed your desire to have food of your choice we would have definitely obliged

Sir we are indeed so sorry for the inconveniences you had to face .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2016

Very clean, but little old. Friendly staff. Breakfast only starts at 8 am which is silly since the first toy train leaves at 8. Hotel is 5 minutes walk to the train station.
Hot water is limited hours morning and nights. Wifi is not the best.
Staff is friendly and the restaurant is pretty good.
In the middle of the city, super close from the markets. View is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elannor88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Owner at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 29 August 2016
Dear Guest

Tashi Delek,

Thank you so much for giving us feedback for which we appreciate very much
Hope that you will keep us in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well.

regards

Jigme D Bhutia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz Department, Bolivia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

I stayed here with my partner for 4 nights in August. We initially only booked in for 2 nights but extended our stay as it was so nice. Clean hotel, beautiful views from our room and the owners of the hotel who were there were very welcoming to us.

Would also recommend the restaurant - we only ate there on the last night but the Tibetan momo's were delicious!

  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105717, Guest Relations Manager at Seven Seventeen, responded to this review, 14 August 2016
Dear Sarah,

Tashi Delek, greetings from Hotel Seven Seventeen! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and we thank you for writing such a wonderful review.
Feedback is important to us and we share all feedback, good/bad with the staff members. This one shall definitely get their day started on a good noted.

Our restaurant is very popular as you may have seen from the large number of local residents who frequent our restaurant. As you loved the momos, we would recommend you try "Paechi" next time you are here with us or at any other Tibetan restaurant. Paechi is basically momo served in a nice clear soup made of chicken/any other meat broth and is great specially when you are in a cold place.

We would be very happy if you could keep us in your mailing list and patronize us in future as well.

Regards

Tenzing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 93 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
3.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#10 of 93 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Seventeen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Seventeen

Property: Seven Seventeen
Address: H.D. Lama Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,613 - ₹ 3,696
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the town, Hotel Seven Seventeen is the ideal place to stay in whether you are here for holiday or on business trip. The Mall, main bus and taxi stands, local market, banks and entertainment centers are all within walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Booking.com so you can book your Seven Seventeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
717
Seven Seventeen Darjeeling
Seven Seventeen Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing