We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Darjeeling
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

i was impressed with the hotel. Conveniently Located, just below Glenary's and Keventers. Its a 5-8 min walk from the chowrasta (mall). It's a well maintained property, rooms properly furnished. The 'Orchid' bar is really impressive. The hotel staff are good, Room service is prompt. The only bad thing about the hotel is that it does not have a view of the mountains except from the main hall. I stayed in the Club room which is beautifully furnished. All in all, I would rate this hotel as very good and would certainly recommend it as a good place to stay in Darjeeling...

Soumya Dev Mitra
Kolkata, India

Room Tip: Club Rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDM_Kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    120
    63
    25
    29
See reviews for
161
71
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kolkata
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I had stayed in the annexe building (3 storied) hotel for 4 days & 3 nights (27th to 30th Mar'12). The room in the 2nd floor was quite spacious & well furnished. The hospitality was excellent. The back up generator is working fine. Experience of having breakfast in a flowery room ( natural + photos) & a 110 years old bar is really good. The smiling staff behaviour is very pleasing. Breakfast is good but the Dinner is average.
However they are not really part of Welcome Group & facilities offered to Cutinary Plus members could not be offered.

Room Tip: The room facing the road on 2nd floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sivaranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

I must admit at first i was quite apprehensive especially with the walk from below the mall with our baggage having to be carried by porters as there is no direct access to the hotel by car(as is the case with most hotels on mall road).But check in was smooth n quick.And room 107 was nice & big on the lowest level of the hotel.By the way reception is on the top level as the hotel is situated on the mountain slope.
Now room 107 has the most windows as its the corner most room and has a door which leads out into the garden come sit out straight frm the room.!! The views into the valley just cleared my mind & the freezing fresh air seemed to brush aside all tiredness frm the long road trip to Dareelingj.
Room service is prompt & there was adequate hotwater thru out the day which was quite unexpected & a pleasant surprise.Food is decent in buffet dinner.Breakfast has both Indian( very good) & choice of eggs.
But at night i found out that having room 107 also has a drawbk.It was around 1 degree & the single room heater was woefully inadequate due to the size of the room.
Overall a gud stay & would def recommend the hotel to all.
A couple of tips, there is a nice blanket which is there on top of the quilt on the bed.Just do the reverse.Put the blanket over u & then on top snuggle under the folded quilt.It will keep u warm and allow u to sleep.Second room 107 is a single double bed.I hv no prob with that but if u r looking for two seperate single beds then room 106/105 would be better.

Room Tip: Room 107 with its size, at the lower level, with a nice sit out area has probably the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keysman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Overall the stay was quite disappointing. Every day we had trouble with the electricity supply and that although we asked the manager about it before checking in. Well, when the problem occurred the 1st time, we were told that with the generator we just would have light. The worst happened on the 2nd day though: We came back from a long walk in the cold rain and there was no electricity at all in our room. And just in our room. So basically we had to sit close to 2hrs in a dark, cold room and were not even offered hot drinks. I called the reception numerous times and was always told that the problem would be solved soon. The manager did not even come down once.
Another issue we had was the food. We were told that the only offered package included dinner. Well, so when we ordered the 1st evening there was half of the stuff not available. Only Indian and Chinese was. And even what was available was very disappointing: My husband ordered Chilly chicken which was chicken in some tomato gravy. The french fries were extremely soggy and tasted old. Half of the food we did not eat because it was just too bad. We complained the next day and then - all of a sudden- it was possible to change the package to one without dinner.... Breakfast was ok but not great: as fresh fruits just banana and apples, the juice was also not good and they added lots of water and sugar.
A further issue was the shower: There was no proper shower head, instead they have put a bum shower! No further comment....
Nevertheless there were also a few good things: The view was amazing, it was more quiet than the hotels at the mall, and they gave hot water bottles in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

It was very good experience in the hotel, location of my room with back garden was really good. staff was very co-perative, service was good. i really appreciate it. i will recommend it for the stay. The location of the hotel is bit away from the main area you have to travel on yourself as car does not go there.

Room Tip: Room on Ground are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ront304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
1.1 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
4.1 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 90 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 90 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 km away
Summit Yashshree Suites and Spa
1.0 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 90 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Property: Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Address: Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling)
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,063 - ₹ 7,556
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Heritage (formerly Fortune Resort Central) is a luxury holiday resort in Darjeeling, offering an experience of British heritage which has been a part of Darjeeling for more than a hundred years. The luxurious hotel is located near ‘the Mall’ and ‘Chowrasta’, the most famous spots and centre of all leisure activities of this beautiful hill station. The heritage block of this classic hotel was built in 1905 and offers elegantly appointed rooms with all the modern amenities. Experience the lavish 'British Raj' lifestyle as you take time off to relax and unwind yourself amidst breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, OYO Rooms, Stayzilla, TravelGuru, Hotels.com, Expedia and ClearTrip so you can book your Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Fortune Hotel Central Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing