We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
kolkata
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“surprisingly pretty good”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I must admit at first i was quite apprehensive especially with the walk from below the mall with our baggage having to be carried by porters as there is no direct access to the hotel by car(as is the case with most hotels on mall road).But check in was smooth n quick.And room 107 was nice & big on the lowest level of the hotel.By the way reception is on the top level as the hotel is situated on the mountain slope.
Now room 107 has the most windows as its the corner most room and has a door which leads out into the garden come sit out straight frm the room.!! The views into the valley just cleared my mind & the freezing fresh air seemed to brush aside all tiredness frm the long road trip to Dareelingj.
Room service is prompt & there was adequate hotwater thru out the day which was quite unexpected & a pleasant surprise.Food is decent in buffet dinner.Breakfast has both Indian( very good) & choice of eggs.
But at night i found out that having room 107 also has a drawbk.It was around 1 degree & the single room heater was woefully inadequate due to the size of the room.
Overall a gud stay & would def recommend the hotel to all.
A couple of tips, there is a nice blanket which is there on top of the quilt on the bed.Just do the reverse.Put the blanket over u & then on top snuggle under the folded quilt.It will keep u warm and allow u to sleep.Second room 107 is a single double bed.I hv no prob with that but if u r looking for two seperate single beds then room 106/105 would be better.

Room Tip: Room 107 with its size, at the lower level, with a nice sit out area has probably the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keysman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    135
    75
    26
    32
See reviews for
185
82
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Overall the stay was quite disappointing. Every day we had trouble with the electricity supply and that although we asked the manager about it before checking in. Well, when the problem occurred the 1st time, we were told that with the generator we just would have light. The worst happened on the 2nd day though: We came back from a long walk in the cold rain and there was no electricity at all in our room. And just in our room. So basically we had to sit close to 2hrs in a dark, cold room and were not even offered hot drinks. I called the reception numerous times and was always told that the problem would be solved soon. The manager did not even come down once.
Another issue we had was the food. We were told that the only offered package included dinner. Well, so when we ordered the 1st evening there was half of the stuff not available. Only Indian and Chinese was. And even what was available was very disappointing: My husband ordered Chilly chicken which was chicken in some tomato gravy. The french fries were extremely soggy and tasted old. Half of the food we did not eat because it was just too bad. We complained the next day and then - all of a sudden- it was possible to change the package to one without dinner.... Breakfast was ok but not great: as fresh fruits just banana and apples, the juice was also not good and they added lots of water and sugar.
A further issue was the shower: There was no proper shower head, instead they have put a bum shower! No further comment....
Nevertheless there were also a few good things: The view was amazing, it was more quiet than the hotels at the mall, and they gave hot water bottles in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

It was very good experience in the hotel, location of my room with back garden was really good. staff was very co-perative, service was good. i really appreciate it. i will recommend it for the stay. The location of the hotel is bit away from the main area you have to travel on yourself as car does not go there.

Room Tip: Room on Ground are really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ront304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was here for two nights in October 2011. Like most other buildings in West Bengal, this hotel clings to a cliff with its Reception on the top floor i.e. street level.. The layout of the guest areas are on mezzanines with the rooms letting off corridors, as you descend the stairs. On the lowest level is a large patio with 3 rooms letting off that - I had one of these. Notable that, during my stay, a well known UK tour group was staying and a Senior Indian Army Officer, so the hotel must be reliable. My room was large, as was the bed. Room TV and full complimentaries were provided. Staff visited to see if I was warm and turned on a large elecric fire. If I was still cold they would light the coal fire in the large hearth - I was not. Other guests later commented that they had not liked the smell of soot and had therefore changed rooms but it didn't bother me. Like other hotels, when there is a large group going through the showers you won't get much hot water and so it was here but I managed. The hotel implores you to save water yet did not supply a sink-plug which, to me, means a waste of hot water. Upstairs the public rooms are nicely laid out with very good views. Large flower displays are attractive. Wide-screen TVs tuned to satellite football at various points. At dinner, guests are served in the Dining Room from a reasonable Euro/Indian menu. However breakfast is a buffet affair which means carrying stuff from one mezzanine to another although, presumably, the staff will serve if required. Food portions and quality are satisfactory. Moreover the staff are are all helpful and considerate which makes the stay memorable. It is located about a 15 minute walk from the Railway Station and further up the hill but not difficult to find.

Room Tip: If stairs are not you, then request a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldcodgerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Fortune Resort Hotel is in 2 parts either side of Robertson rd in Darjeeling,One side appeared to be closed for the season but it is a good quality hotel that was very comfortable,clean and welcoming.The room we had was huge and looked out towards the snow capped mountains. The twin beds although rather hard had a duvet sheets and a blanket with 1 firm and 1 soft pillow. 2 armchairs and a cofee table situated in front of the tv comprised the rest of the furnishings plus the usual drawer space and hanging space. The bathroom was spotless with unlimited hot water and a wet room type shower!
The restaurant had a limited menu but the food was very good especially at breakfast when a choice of freshly cooked egg dishes were available along with many other excellent choices.
The staff are very helpful and extremely attentive, arranging a car for some local excursions and finding us some heaters for the chilly evenings .
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone,,

Room Tip: ask for either 121 or 122 which are on a seperate lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marmaliser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.2 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 97 in Darjeeling
650 reviews
3.8 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#6 of 97 in Darjeeling
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#12 of 97 in Darjeeling
309 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.5 km away
Central Gleneagles Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling

Property: Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
Address: Robertson Road, Darjeeling 734101, India (Formerly Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling)
Phone Number:
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,782 - ₹ 5,887
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Heritage (formerly Fortune Resort Central) is a luxury holiday resort in Darjeeling, offering an experience of British heritage which has been a part of Darjeeling for more than a hundred years. The luxurious hotel is located near ‘the Mall’ and ‘Chowrasta’, the most famous spots and centre of all leisure activities of this beautiful hill station. The heritage block of this classic hotel was built in 1905 and offers elegantly appointed rooms with all the modern amenities. Experience the lavish 'British Raj' lifestyle as you take time off to relax and unwind yourself amidst breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ClearTrip, TravelGuru, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Resort Central, Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Fortune Hotel Central Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing