We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
vavasthi
Bengaluru, India

Good hotel, let down

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2014
This hotel is well appointed in terms of room and furnishings in the hotel. The hotel is let down by the general service.
Just across the restaurant, one can see large number of guests smoking. It may be great for smokers but for non smokers like me, it is a put off every time I have to cross the reception.
The food spread is pretty ordinary, deserts were good but the main course and appetizers were just average.
The approach to the hotel is also pretty bad. In day time one has to navigate a network of lanes to end up in the back gate of the hotel.
The chairs and sofas in the restaurant are all torn.
Hotel staff is also arbitrary in their behavior towards the guests. My daughter went to them few times asking for the air hockey puck etc. and they told us that the machine is not working while few minutes later we found some other kids playing there.
The hotel is also pretty pricey. A single room costs close to Rs. 9500/- including taxes. At that price I am used to much better service and food etc.
Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹4,153
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹4,537
  • Agoda.com
    ₹2,460
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹5,834
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹3,689
  • Hotels.com
    ₹6,015
1.5 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹6,160
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹6,166
  • Agoda.com
    ₹4,712
  • Hotels.com
    ₹5,514
1.2 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Restaurant
Room service
₹5,292
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹4,184
  • Trip.com
1.0 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Restaurant
Room service
₹2,240
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₹1,928
  • Agoda.com
    ₹2,240
0.9 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹2,010
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹1,586
  • Trip.com
1.1 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Room service
Bar/Lounge
₹5,268
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₹3,568
  • Trip.com
1.2 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₹5,443
₹4,712
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹4,932
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₹4,928
4.9 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Free parking
Restaurant
₹12,980
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹12,980
  • Vio.com
3.6 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Room service
Go to your Happy Price
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    ₹2,774
  • Trip.com
0.6 km from Mayfair Hill Resort Darjeeling
Restaurant
Room service
View more hotels in Darjeeling
Reviews (1,220)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
821
289
56
25
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
821
289
56
25
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orchid villa beautiful property game room governor's house tenzing norgay breakfast and dinner darjeeling tea the resort manager every evening old world charm travel desk hot water tiger hill special mention quality of food courteous staff memorable stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
921 - 926 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stay in this hotel in the 3rd week of March,2014. Great Location, Great Room, very prompt service, breakfast and dinner was very delicious very good courtesy in staff. Great view from the Hotel room. Very good welcome with Darjeeling leaf tea and cookies. Very good play area loading with Pool Table and many other games. My kids enjoy lot in this hotel. Very beautiful Lord Shiva temple in the Hotel premises. We used born fire in the Room that was a good experience.

the negative point was only entery of the hotel that was very conjusted and no driver room facility in the hotel. overall we recommend this hotel to Darjeeling traveler

Room tip: all locations are Good we stayed above the reception
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BKGOYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a lovely looking hotel with great views (on a clear day). The rooms are away from the main building which is not a problem unless it's raining, which it was on one of the days we stayed there. The room was very nice, although cold - a fan heater was provided which did keep the chill off. The reception and dining room, however, were very cold, the dining room unacceptably so. The dinner buffet was fine but the breakfast buffet was very limited and the staff were not very attentive. Coffee had to be requested several times before it appeared.

As with a lot of hotels in this area, ear plugs are a must as there is always a problem with barking dogs at night.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIZZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you have been to Mayfair's other properties then do no expect it to be the same because this one is a 3* property. Although the property is small(as compared to other properties of Mayfair), but the view is very good. Previously it was a bungalow of a British officer and then converted into a hotel.
The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and pillows. Service is very good and prompt.
Food is OK but could be better, you would feel it more(especially if you are coming from Mayfair Gangtok)
The library is well stocked with books and movies and I really liked the place.
Overall my stay was wonderful and i would advice, if somebody is going to Darjeeling and Gangtok & staying at Mayfair at both the places, then 1st go to Darjeeling.

Room tip: ask for a room above the reception and not in Orchid Villa as the rooms are small and do no have a fireplace
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kankariaashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed at the Mayfair Gangtok property before. That experience was so nice that it almost has influenced our decision while selecting a hotel for our stay at Darjeeling this time.
And we did not have to repent, thankfully:-)

The entry-point is surprisingly nondescript!
(The Gangtok Hotel has a royal entry-point)

But at the reception you will be greeted with the traditional silk 'khada' and exquisite Darjeeling tea. The ambiance is regal and majestic.
Though, little pretentious and artificial at times.

That is expected if we remember this was actually a Bungalow of a British officer in the late nineteenth century, then it was converted into an exotic summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj in the early part of twentieth century.
It was only during the late nineties of last century it was converted into a hotel.
The hotel is not a heritage one per se, but the property is.
The hotel has 44 luxurious options of accommodation surrounded by lush greenery and tranquility that include deluxe rooms, cottages, family rooms and suites offering supreme elegance in the blissful settings.
We stayed at the family room of 109 with two interconnected bedrooms with two toilets.
The view of the hotel from the doorstep of our room was excellent.
The Governer's house and the road surrounding the observatory hill is just a few steps away.
But, so nicely secluded from the din and bustle of the city.
The restaurants(Magnolia and Tiffany) are nice but you may think the food spread could have been better and varied, especially if you have already experienced the Gangtok Mayfair restaurant.
The chef will come to your table and take your opinion about the dishes served.

Do we have anything to complain?
Well not really, just a couple of suggestions to make the exceptional property even better.
1. The attached toilets become too cold during the winter time. Can something be done to make these comfortable?
2. The fireplace in the room is a must and you need to have a properly trained staff to keep it alight all the night long.
3. The library is well stacked with books and movies. But sadly lacking a section on books and movies on Darjeeling. I was searching for Satyajit Ray's 'Kanchenjangha' and did not get it:-(

Room tip: This hotel does not have any Kanchenjungha View room. Our room no 109 had a great view of the hotel itself, which we liked throughout our stay.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlahiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were 4 adults and 2 kids and drove to Darjeeling from Bagdogra. The approach to the property is not very encouraging and dont get disheartened by it as the place is beautiful, food is great, service is amazing and frankly you would want to enjoy the property for a day or two rather than going around in the city. One of the days we were very tired and enjoyed the foot massage, which was divine.
Only thing which left us little bit unhappy was the time taken to get the ala-carte dinner ready when the buffet was on. To give credit to the staff they were very proactive in giving the heads up that it will take time and they also provided some snacks / sweets from the buffet to the kids while we were waiting for our order to arrive.
Overall great experience & happy faces !!!!

Room tip: higher floor towards the corner, liked the location as there was no noise ....
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TanushreeGarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews