We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Darjeeling- Gangtok”
Review of Mayfair Darjeeling

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Darjeeling
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Darjeeling- Gangtok”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

we had searched a lot for good hotels in Darjeeling and were certainly not disappointed with our choice of Mayfair. we were 6 Adults and 6 children and visited in May 2009. The Rooms were big enough for a family of 4. Nice spread of breakfast and meals at the restaurant. The weather was cool in May. I remember this big library which had lots of good books and even videos on travel and about history of darjeeling. The toy room/Kids room was also good as it kept the kids busy while we shopped around. The entrance was near the market and thus convenient to explore on foot. All in all a very nice property and well managed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Viroo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    219
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
276
202
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

After going through a list of hotels in Darjeeling on Tripadvisor, I chose Mayfair hill resort for my honeymoon. The choice was really good indeed and below are my experiences.

Had booked for a 6 nights stay at the Mayfair hill resort. Reached Darjeeling during November'11 end and it happened to be the best time to be there. Very good weather and a off-season for tourism made that a pleasant time. We were offered a room at first floor in the main building. After 2 days of our stay there we asked for a room with a valley view and we were given. All the rooms are different and they are really well maintained. Rooms have heaters and fire places to keep us warm in the nights. The hotel staff also provides hot water bags in the nights and they are really helpful.

The resort is located on one side of the hill with a valley view. The other side of the hill, which is at a walk able distance, faces the Mt.Kanchenajunga. The resort is very well maintained and there is nothing of this kind in Darjeeling. Important tourist places like the Chourasta, Himalayan mountaineering institute, zoo garden, nightingale park, railway station, etc are at a walk able distance from this resort. We even walked up to the happy valley tea estate from here. The morning walks on the path behind the resort facing the Mt.Kanchenajunga is something which me and my wife will remember forever.

Food in the resort is excellent. In terms of variety and taste, its truly good. I am sure I have added some weight after going there. The staff at the restaurant are really courteous and serve well.

The library at the resort has lots of valuable books and movie DVDs. The DVDs can be rented for watching in the rooms. The rooms have TVs with Tata sky connection and a DVD player.

Only one problem I had was it used to be very cold in the bathroom and the hot water supply was very limited. It used to take a lot of time for the geyser to heat the water and it had a very limited capacity. Also, the bath tub in both the rooms we stayed are quite small.

The hotel staff some how was not aware the we went there for our honeymoon. I had spoken with their sales manager for booking and some how I think it was not communicated for the people in the reception. So, the welcome was just ordinary. When we asked for a room change, we were given a room with 2 single beds joined together. I asked the room attendant to change it to a single bed and he said it cannot be done. The next day when I asked the same thing to the receptionist, it was changed! Would have been nice if the hotel staff had taken care of this thing without me asking for that.

Darjeeling at the end of November was fantastic. The view of the Mt.Kanchenajunga from the city and the Tiger hill was amazing. We got the clear view of it for all the 6 days we stayed there. Walking on the streets of Darjeeling, a journey on the toy train and the weather are something which cannot be forgotten.

Overall, our stay at Darjeeling and the Mayfair resort will be a memorable one for me and my wife, which we will carry forward for our whole life.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank santhoshn1681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I were originally going to stay for 3 days at The Mayfair, Darjeeling. Just a week prior to arriving we decided to extend our stay by another 2 days. Despite the rapidly filling vacancies, on account of the rapidly advancing tourist season we were lucky enough to be accommodated.

The Room: The hotel gave us one of the best rooms we could have asked for. With a delicious view overlooking the valley, every morning was magical. The rooms are large and comfortable. The only thing we missed was a minibar but that's just a minor inconvenience. From the wood feel, to the little fireplace, replete with fire building paraphernalia, it was all very charming. But the icing on the cake has to be the little window, by the bathtub in the bathroom, that opens out to the valley. If only there was enough hot water to fill the bathtub the picture would be complete. Unfortunately, the heater only gives you enough water for two showers at a go. However, water is a precious resource in the mountains so it would be considered pretty wasteful and irresponsible to let a bathtub's worth go waste for half an hour of bliss.

The Property: The entire hotel runs a decent length of the hillside with two storey cottages that overlook the valley. There are rooms at a lower level but in the mountains, I always believe, the higher the better. There's a small gym, a pool table and a carrom board. Internet access is through a desktop PC in the lobby but if you need print-outs you'll need to mail the document to the hotel address where they'll oblige you.

The Restaurants and Service: The true test of a hotel's service standard lies in its ability to tackle a hairy situation and we were able to apply this test on our second night at the hotel. A particularly ill-mannered family had inhabited the restaurant that served the dinner buffet. Their kids were creating the kind of racket that would've woken the mountain spirits. We made a couple of mentions of it but the restaurant management didn't seem to be able to do much. Finally exasperated, we just walked out without really even starting on dinner. The staff at reception was very apologetic but it's not an apology that was needed, it was action. The only action that came was in the form of a boy who came to our room to charge me for my drink. Members of the staff also showed up to offer to send something to our room but our appetites were far gone by then.

Now, there are a number of hotels that would just say, "look we tried" and leave it at that but The Mayfair, Darjeeling overwhelmed us with their response over the next few days. The staff went out of their way and beyond with a single-minded agenda to erase the memory of the unfortunate incident. And they very nearly managed, if not for my obsession with authentic documentation. Pravin, the manager of one of the restaurants was always at our service, leaving nothing to chance and ensuring our every need was met. The other staff had also clearly been instructed to take special care and they did. From the chef behind the breakfast counter to the waiters who milled around us responding to the slightest nod, the staff was nothing short of exceptional. The change was dramatic. All the way to ourof bad departure we were made to feel, in no uncertain terms that the hotel was really trying to redeem itself and by the end of it my wife and I thoroughly agreed that they had succeeded.

Value: The Mayfair, Darjeeling presents the most bang for your buck. The rooms are simply magnificent and the lobby and library are warm and inviting. On the final day it felt as though we were leaving home. Darjeeling is largely a friendly place with very few specimens of bad behaviour but The Mayfair has some of the finest people managing your stay. Pooja, at reception is a very warm and attentive host and Sabyasachi who handles reservations and guest affairs is incredibly competent and always wears an inviting smile. We're already thinking about our next trip to Darjeeling and while the dates aren't fixed yet, where we will be staying on our next trip is. For us, hospitality in Darjeeling is synonymous with The Mayfair.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the second level of one of the cottages. The view is breathtaking and you only miss o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kunalpuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel arranged pick up for us in Bagdogra. The hotel is in an excellent position, using the top gate, for getting out and exploring the town. We had a lovely room with a fire which was lit for us each night and hot water bottles placed in the bed. The service was excellent and staff were very willing to be of help. The food was tasty and plentiful. I was disappointed there was no free wifi in the room but there was free internet access at a computer off the lounge. We had a deal for a stay in Mayfair, Darjeeling and Mayfair,Gangtok. Be aware that the Mayfair, Gangtok is not actually in the town and transport is needed to leave the resort.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the car park which may be noisy. It was misty when we were there but it would seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here while on a tour of Darjeeling. Lovely property, the lawn ornaments are almost kitsch, but somehow they make sense in the blend of Indian culture and British colonial style. Buffet dinner was average. Buffet breakfast also average. Internet access available on lobby computer. We had a cottage and it was a lovely room. Quite large with a fireplace. Small hot water heaters, but great water pressure. Located at the top of the hill in Darjeeling, it is actually quiet! This resort was an oasis. Warning, as charming as the fireplace is - don't have them light it. We did and it was a disaster. They burn charcoal (not wood) and used a lighter fluid that made the entire room smell like diesel fuel. We had to leave the door open during dinner to air out the room, negating the cozy warm affect!

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanLinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.4 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 98 in Darjeeling
543 reviews
1.7 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
466 reviews
1.2 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
4.4 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#8 of 98 in Darjeeling
344 reviews
4.9 km away
Darjeeling - Khush Alaya, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Darjeeling? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Darjeeling

Property: Mayfair Darjeeling
Address: | Opposite Governor House, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Luxury Hotel in Darjeeling
#1 Spa Hotel in Darjeeling
#4 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,392 - ₹ 19,725
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Darjeeling 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAYFAIR Darjeeling - located in the lap of Mother Nature, is a star category deluxe heritage hotel that was once the summerhouse of Maharaja of Nazargunj. Located at prime location (opposite Governor's House) in Darjeeling, MAYFAIR Darjeeling is known for world-class facilities, state-of-the-art services, superb amenities, and a home like surrounding that pleases ever tourist. With 43 well-decorated and fully furnished rooms,the leading luxury hotel in Darjeeling provide you accommodation with the motive of "Stay with Us, Stay with Nature". Being over a century old, it still maintains the charm of the old world while having modern amenities and a young and vibrant staff. Warm fires in each room, spectacular sunsets, the stellar Spa, an exclusive Tea boutique and extensive dining options are just some of the reasons guests come back here time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MakeMyTrip, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Yatra, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mayfair Darjeeling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Darjeeling Hotel Darjeeling
Mayfair Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing