We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dekeling Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dekeling Hotel
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVELY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Yes, flippin' lovely hotel, staff and owners and a view of the mountains from some rooms and the lovely cosy living room

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jroacheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    211
    77
    22
    12
See reviews for
137
233
95
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We were a group of eight adults and three kids which stayed at Dekeling hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the location. It is right on the main road and easy access to the mall road and various restaurants. The only drawback was that our rooms were facing the wall so we did not have a good view, though there other rooms in this hotel that have a good view. Also it is up three flights of steep stairs so it might not be recommended for people with physical limitations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller4ever4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I stayed at Dekeling Hotel, Darjeeling from 28th April, 2012 to 1st May, 2012 with my wife and my two and half years old son. We booked the super deluxe timber room over the internet. We appreciated the room which was allotted to us. Though the room was not mountain facing, it was a huge room and very aesthetically decorated. One side of the wall had huge glass windows which allowed ample light to enter the room. The floor, ceiling and walls had wood panels adding warmth to the room. The bathroom was small but it was fitted with the best sanitary ware (Roca). Hot water was available from the geyser fitted inside the toilet. The room as well as the bathroom earn full points on cleanliness. There was a huge Samsung LCD television fitted close to the queen bed.
The hotel had two eateries, the vegetarian Lunar restaurant and the popular Dekevas on the ground floor. Dekevas, through not a proper restaurant serves delicious tibetan dishes. Room service is also available.
Dekeling was both a hotel and a home stay since the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Norbu Dekeling both stay within the same premises. We found a wonderful host in Mr. and Mrs. Norbu Dekeling. They took the pains to prepare breakfast as well as lunch for us when the entire Darjeeling, including the restaurants were forced to shut down on the 1st of May (some last minute whimsical decision of the party in power). Mrs. Norbu was extremely courteous and helpful and made our stay a truly pleasant one. The top floor of the hotel had a lobby overlooking the mountains. There were hundreds of books stashed inside the shelves. Visitors could borrow a book or hook up to the internet (paid service) while in the lobby.
Also worthy of mention is the fact that this hotel does very clean business and provided us with proper bills for every penny that we paid.
The hotel was located on the Mall almost opposite to Keventers. Tourists who prefer to stay near the Mall and will not mind the crowd will appreciate the location.
The entrance to the hotel was very narrow and a flight of stairs to the reception left us breathless for a while. However, once you step inside, the warmth and the hospitality will make you happy and contended.
I would recommend this hotel in Darjeeling.

Reviewed by Soumya Kundu

Room Tip: I would strongly recommend the super deluxe timber rooms even though the tariff is higher than the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sku26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Everything about staying here was a pleasure. From being loaned the right cash to pay our taxi driver when we arrived through the personal send off when we left 4 days later. We had a great view from our room which spacious, comfy and had a bathroom with plenty of hot water. The lounge was fantastically comfortable and we almost drifted off there most evenings. Breakfast was decent and the laundry service speedy. Advice was on hand whatever your question was. If we had had longer, we would have stayed much longer.

Room Tip: We liked being in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, WA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent six nights in March and found the positive Trip Advisor reviews were right on. The hotel has a great location just off the Mall with nearby restaurants and shopping. Everything is within easy walking distance. We booked a mountain view room and I'm sure the views would have been good too, but it was cloudy and foggy the whole week. Even with no mountain views, it was interesting to watch the activitiy on the streets below.

Our room had comfortable twin beds, 2 chairs, a small table and TV. The room was right above the lounge area and the heat from below kept it warm. The bathroom worked fine and there was hot water.

Mrs Norbu was helpful with local knowledge genuinely cared about her guests. The rest of the staff was very professional. We booked the room by email and they asked for an advance deposit of Rs 3000 by emailing our credit card info. The balance had to be paid in cash when we checked out of the hotel.

Breakfast was ample with eggs, toast, porridge or cereal, fruit, juice and tea or coffee. A couple of mornings there was a buffet breakfast and other mornings they took individual orders. I recommend the cheese omlette with Nepali cheese.

The lounge area has a couple of computers that you can pay to use, but they didn't always work. The lounge area also has a table with at least a hundred oil candles burning. Monks used a room off the lounge during the day and it was really atmospheric to listen to their chanting.

Other visitors have commented on the stairs. The hotel is far above street level and there is no lift. I have to admit, it was a bit daunting to lug our bags up when we first arrived. After almost a week, we were getting used to the elevation of Darjeeling.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.2 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.5 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.9 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
Summit Grace Hotel & Spa
#9 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#11 of 95 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dekeling Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dekeling Hotel

Property: Dekeling Hotel
Address: 51 Gandhi Rd, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Best Value Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,176 - ₹ 4,084
Hotel Class:2 star — Dekeling Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Dekeling Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dekeling Hotel Darjeeling

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing