We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
59
27
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
27
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange garden home stay evening snacks play guitar super deluxe cottage home away from home host mr city life food quality modern facilities room service great hospitality room heater warmth balcony nature tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Tinchuley is a small village on the way to Kalimpong and Gurung guest house is the best of Tinchuley. Nice location. 5 minutes walking distance from sunrise point. Staffs are very good and homely. Owner Mr. Dipendra Gurung is a nice human being. Fooding is excellent and the service is very good. They can arrange sight seeing around Tinchuley. We loved and relished the entire period of staying here.

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016

We booked four rooms:- 1 super deluxe, 2 deluxe and 1 cottage. These are the only four standards rooms available for this stay.

1. Not only me, nobody others from my group really like the location, why? After so many incredible reviews from Tripadvisor; we expect something great from this home stay like the location which is most important, the food, the bed, the facilities etc. But when we reach there we found something else. Absolutely no mountain view from this resort/stay, just forgot any view from the rooms too, except the super deluxe is a bit better than the lot. We didn’t expect more from Tinchuley as we know this is a small village with 12-15 families. But we have a belief to get a great view of Mt. Kanchengunda from the resort at least. If you want to get this Mt view then need to walk 10 mins from there, which seems difficult for someone with small children in such cold weather. If you could walk around 4-5KM then the view of tea garden is awesome, else than that only a narrow street in front of the stay and that’s all. I couldn’t say more than ** stars in this location.

2. Cleanliness is quite satisfactory and the kitchen is really very clean. But the towels they offered had stains. For cleanliness we could give only *** star.

3. Most of the staffs act to be friendly, but no warm welcome or sendoff as I except or had seen earlier from maximum mountain people. Maximum of the staffs are their family members. In many cases when I ask for some special food like mutton for dinner or simply momo they instantly deny on that. Room service was not up to mark. As there is no intercom facility we need to walk every time to the kitchen/office room for any service. For staff, friendliness, courtesy/behavior, service **.

4. Rooms are ok with proper but limited furnishing. But the bad is the heating facility. Only one small heater is available which could beat the cold. When I ask for another one, they explained about the load capacity. My point is that when you are charging 3.5K-4K(only room charge) for each room provide with enough amenities. Also water greaser and room heating could not work side by side. One needs to put off to put the other on. I couldn’t give more than ** for their room and amenities.

5. Food is at satisfactory level and reasonably priced but seriously nothing great that we could say wow, also comes with very limited items. Breakfast and lunch is homely and less spicy as compared with dinner which is really spicy. As mentioned in the website, children below five are not chargeable but they charged us half the price for children, whereas each child only consume one katori rice/dal for lunch and one roti for dinner. Really not expectable. So for food I could say only **.

Our overall satisfaction level is ** star and never recommended for family or even for solo traveler. If you want off bit destination there are many hotels/stays within few km away from Darjeeling, I will suggest try those.

Room tip: Only opt for Super Deluxe or Deluxe rooms
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nilanjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

great place with great food. hospitality is wonderful too. we had live music at night from the gurung brothers. we travelled as a big group with seniors and kids. everyone enjoyed. food is really really good

Date of stay: July 2015
1  Thank debKolkata_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We travelled to Gurung Guest House after staying in Darjeeling for a few days, and we loved it. Dependra Gurung and his family were so welcoming and made us feel comfortable and at home. The traditional food, cooked and served by the family, is absolutely delicious. We enjoyed two days , including a visit to a local tea plantation, an incredible walk and bird-watching in the forest, and the treat of some guitar-playing and singing by the Gurung family! It was a lovely place to stay, and if we ever return to that area, we will be sure to go back again. Thank you.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank verycoldsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We visited Gurung Guest House, Tinchuley Darjeeling between 22-10-2015 and 25-10-2015. We were three famly of friends having 6 adult members and 4 kids (age between 2-7 yrs.). Thanks to Durga Puja Holidays and Indian Railways we had to plan insanely early for the trip in the month of May. It was then we first interacted with our host Mr. Dipendra Gurung. A man of very few words but prompt action and responses we had developed a mixed image of our host at Tinchuley during our planning and booking stage. After a lot of uncertainity and lot of incidences we finally set off for NJP by Darjeeling Mail on 21-10-2015. Pick-up at NJP was arranged by Mr. Gurung only @ Rs. 2800 (Innova/Xylo category) and he shared the Driver's no. before our departure from Kolkata. The driver was there at station for pick-up as comitted. All of us loaded up in the car with our humungous load of luggage stated off for our destination. The journey was so scenic with the Teesta river accompanying you at times and then winding roads through tea gardens leading the small hamlet much before than you expect within 3.5 hrs. We had breakfast in between at Rambi Bazar at a nice family run shop who served very nice Ch. Momos.Upon reaching Gurung Guest House we were greeted by none other but our host Mr. Dipendra Gurung. As we got the chance to meet him in person we found out that he along with his entire family id one of the best host we have come across and the place is o beautifully positioned and so well maintained that you will hardly feel that you are in a home stay.The most important highlight about the palce is FOOD and the way you are fed by the Gurung family. The menu is fixed for a day @ Rs. 600 per person per day for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner but the you can eat your heart out and the Gurung family, especially Mr. Gurung's sister will ensure that you are not let to get out of the dining room without over-eating and happily so. Cooking is out of the world. Simple items like veggies and chicken gets a different makeover by virtue of their cooking. Quantity is endless to the extent we were sent an additional serving of chicken during one of the dinners as Ms. Gurung thought that what has been given to us was not enough for all. It was actually more than enough already.

The entire Gurung family takes care of everything during your stay at their place and they arrange evening snacks and even bon-fire upon request on additional cost. You might even have one of the family member with guiter to light up the bon-fire with music.

We did one full day sight seeing to Monestry, Fruit Orchards, Tea Gardens, Teesta River, Lover's Point, Lamahata etc. @ Rs. 2400/- (Innova/Xylo category). Next day we went to Darjeeling for full day excursion (same rate & category as above, infact same vehicle & driver). On our way back to NJP we came via Mirik where we had our lunch NJP drop was again @ Rs. 2800/- + Rs. 800/- via Mirik (Xylo/Innova Category).

I would suggest to stay at least 4 nights if you want to do similar sight seeings like us else forego trip to Darjeeling (If you can evade wife's demand for marketing spree) and enjoy a full day at this quaint location tucked high up Darjeeling hills (5,800 ft.). You can start the day with a brisk walk to the sunset point nearby to enjoy same sunrise as seen from Tiger Hill without the crowd and hassel. Then you take a walk back again to the Guest House through the Pine trees filling you rlungs with fresh mountain air. After an unconditional heavey breakfast, courtesy Gurung family, you can explore around on foot or rent a mountain bike from guest house or take a car down to Takdah Bazar and explore local life. You can enjoy the sunset from the Guest House balcony itself of Cottage or Dbl Bed Rooms. After 4:30-5:00 pm you have stay in the guest house as it will not be very safe to venture out due to lack of population and harsh weather. Fg gathers very quickly, without any warning and disappeares almost as fast. But while fog is around visibility goves even below zero at times.

Best place to visit Oct - Jan I guess with protective wollens for all ages. Do not forget to carry back the pickels prepared by Gurung Family. DO let them know a bit early in case you do.

Overall wonderful experience. My suggestion is:

Go by Mr. Gurung's suggestions. He is always trying to help.
Eat to your heart's content. It is OK to be greedy even. They enjoy feeding their guests.
Enjoy the location more than focusing on running around.
Last but not the least, pls remember that this is a home stay at the end of the day. Don't expect services and facilities like a city hotel. Be co-operative, inform requirements early, keep you fault finding self under the carpet for the period and you will see you are being supported beyond limits by this family.

We would look forward for an exclusive visit to Tinchuley only in near future.

Room tip: Cottage, Dlx & Super Dlx rooms have television in case it is absolute necessary.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Tathagata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews