We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worthwhile stay !”
Review of Pineridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pineridge Hotel
Ranked #77 of 124 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Kolkata, India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“worthwhile stay !”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I recetly went to darjeelingw ith m y family and stayed at pineridge for 3 nights . we had taken 3 rooms in total. the first impression of the hotel was good as the exterior of the building is like a british building .. reception area is also clean. the rooms were very spacious with hot running water all through the day . there is fireplace in every rooms.
i personally liked our stay there as its huge . we had a kid along with us . he got ample space to run around and play. there is a small well maintained garden where kids can play cricket . teh terrace of teh hotel is huge and from there one can get good overview of teh darjeeling town.

the hotel staffs were polite and well behaved too . the most important thing is teh location of teh hotel . its bang on the mall road. restaurents are available at doorstep .

a few disadvantages of teh hotel were its not well maintained . but i do not have complains as we had a good time staying there . its an old british building . although the hotel is part by part getting renovated , it will take time to completely refurbish the hotel. the hotel has all the things in it to turn into a resort . in some of teh reviews i read the building has spooky feeling but i did not get that . lights were on all through out the night . the corridor of the hotel is a great place to walk around. yes one thing some rooms were in dilapidated state and they can be disturbing to some tourists who are particular about neat and clean hotels. overall i loved the stay there .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuhinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    22
    12
    22
See reviews for
47
13
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Darjeeling, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

They were snoopy coming to my room for no reason, they wouldn't make a fire for me although there is a sign on the front desk saying it was always available for 300rupees. They kept asking me when I was leaving because my friend who was a man spent time in my room. They were rude, creepy and unhelpful. The room was not cleaned properly when I arrived and the plugs didn't work. Avoid at all costs. This was a cheap hotel at not cheap prices.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenafable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved our 4 night stay at the Pineridge - it is a huge hotel and one of the few remants of the Raj era that is cheap! We had the gigantic blue room that is pictures with the massive bay/turret window seat overlooking the Mighty Himalaya. It wasn't completely clean, but it was completely charming and the sheets were clean and crisp and they gave us extra heavy blankets!

It was winter when we visited, so it was freezing, but the staff brought up bundles of firewood and lit it for us and for about £1-2 per day it was lovely and cozy! Plus there was a huge clawfoot tub so we had a hot bath each morning before going out to the little bakery called Glenary's that was 2 mins walk down the Mall.

The hallways were empty and we nosed around a fair bit - if we had the money, I'd buy it and restore it to it's former glory. Darjeeling is one of my favourite places in India and for the same price as you'd pay for a basic boring guestroom, you get a quirky & cheap place to stay! I think we paid £10 or £12 a night and other boutique style hotels with character are all at least £25 to £100 per night. You could easily charge £100 a night if it had a good clean, lick of paint and some minor updates!

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room with the fireplace, bay/turrett window and clawfoot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Refrain from staying in this hotel at any cost if you want your baggage intact at the end of your trip. Me and my husband had a horrible experience during our one-night stay at this apparently safe and well-located hotel. At around 11PM, while noticwe were watching the TV, we suddenly noticed some movement behind the window curtain, and in the span of another 3-4 seconds a man put in his hand through the window, which we believed was closed, lifted up my handbag which was there on the sofa adjoining the window, and fled through the back compound. We raised a cry but it was all too late by the time the sleeping guard was awakened. I had large nos. of valuables in the bag.

Imagine the horror we spent the rest of the night in, in another room of that hotel, after which we left in the morning, but not before we had charged the owner with a compensatory amount. When we later went to the Darjeeling thana (police station) to file a General Diary (as I had several identity cards in that bag), the police confirmed that there have been various similar instances that have happened in this hotel in the near past.

I suppose this is a lesson to learn for us who think that having paid a fair amount as the hotel tariff, we can remain assured throughout the day and night. I am sure the hotel was directly or indirectly involved, or else how would the thief have known which particular room's which window was defective??

Beware of this hotel, friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asm1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

One can not miss this hotel. It is just the last building on the left hand side on the way to mall, the chowrasta. Its a 150 years old palace with very poor maintenance. However, we got hot and cold water round the clock which is hard to get in Darjeeling. Rooms are spacious and offer good view of the town as well as the mountains. The rooms - the corridors- the furniture gives a feel of British India. You also feel like that the floors, the carpets, and the upholstery were last cleaned in those days. It is quite amazing to walk along the corridors after 11 PM when the lights are put off. Although it is a large palace only a few rooms are used for the guests. You therefore never meet another guest. That gives you a feel that you are staying in a haunted palace. We did not get our morning cup of tea before 8 AM. But what do I care? A few steps and I am in the mall. We got our tea at 5'o clock in the morning. Everything taken into consideration I shall again come to this hotel if they do not hike the price too steep.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 128 129. Others are good. I Liked 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Arunabha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.7 km away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.1 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#17 of 98 in Darjeeling
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
0.5 km away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#16 of 98 in Darjeeling
193 reviews
0.3 km away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#83 of 98 in Darjeeling
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineridge Hotel

Property: Pineridge Hotel
Address: 19 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,414 - ₹ 2,120
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Yatra, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Pineridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing