We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back to Imperial India - Quirky & cheap!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pineridge Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pineridge Hotel
Ranked #71 of 120 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Step back to Imperial India - Quirky & cheap!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We loved our 4 night stay at the Pineridge - it is a huge hotel and one of the few remants of the Raj era that is cheap! We had the gigantic blue room that is pictures with the massive bay/turret window seat overlooking the Mighty Himalaya. It wasn't completely clean, but it was completely charming and the sheets were clean and crisp and they gave us extra heavy blankets!

It was winter when we visited, so it was freezing, but the staff brought up bundles of firewood and lit it for us and for about £1-2 per day it was lovely and cozy! Plus there was a huge clawfoot tub so we had a hot bath each morning before going out to the little bakery called Glenary's that was 2 mins walk down the Mall.

The hallways were empty and we nosed around a fair bit - if we had the money, I'd buy it and restore it to it's former glory. Darjeeling is one of my favourite places in India and for the same price as you'd pay for a basic boring guestroom, you get a quirky & cheap place to stay! I think we paid £10 or £12 a night and other boutique style hotels with character are all at least £25 to £100 per night. You could easily charge £100 a night if it had a good clean, lick of paint and some minor updates!

Room Tip: Ask for the blue room with the fireplace, bay/turrett window and clawfoot tub!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    21
    22
    11
    19
See reviews for
43
13
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Refrain from staying in this hotel at any cost if you want your baggage intact at the end of your trip. Me and my husband had a horrible experience during our one-night stay at this apparently safe and well-located hotel. At around 11PM, while noticwe were watching the TV, we suddenly noticed some movement behind the window curtain, and in the span of another 3-4 seconds a man put in his hand through the window, which we believed was closed, lifted up my handbag which was there on the sofa adjoining the window, and fled through the back compound. We raised a cry but it was all too late by the time the sleeping guard was awakened. I had large nos. of valuables in the bag.

Imagine the horror we spent the rest of the night in, in another room of that hotel, after which we left in the morning, but not before we had charged the owner with a compensatory amount. When we later went to the Darjeeling thana (police station) to file a General Diary (as I had several identity cards in that bag), the police confirmed that there have been various similar instances that have happened in this hotel in the near past.

I suppose this is a lesson to learn for us who think that having paid a fair amount as the hotel tariff, we can remain assured throughout the day and night. I am sure the hotel was directly or indirectly involved, or else how would the thief have known which particular room's which window was defective??

Beware of this hotel, friends!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asm1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Darjeeling hotels

Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

One can not miss this hotel. It is just the last building on the left hand side on the way to mall, the chowrasta. Its a 150 years old palace with very poor maintenance. However, we got hot and cold water round the clock which is hard to get in Darjeeling. Rooms are spacious and offer good view of the town as well as the mountains. The rooms - the corridors- the furniture gives a feel of British India. You also feel like that the floors, the carpets, and the upholstery were last cleaned in those days. It is quite amazing to walk along the corridors after 11 PM when the lights are put off. Although it is a large palace only a few rooms are used for the guests. You therefore never meet another guest. That gives you a feel that you are staying in a haunted palace. We did not get our morning cup of tea before 8 AM. But what do I care? A few steps and I am in the mall. We got our tea at 5'o clock in the morning. Everything taken into consideration I shall again come to this hotel if they do not hike the price too steep.

Room Tip: Avoid room no 128 129. Others are good. I Liked 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Arunabha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

nice hotel, beautiful views from hotel, This hotel has very nie prime location.Nice restrauant nearby and Jeeps and taxi are available nearby for sight seeing.Hotal manager mr sooraj is very helpfull and arranged our tours and taxi at very reasoanable rates.Hotel is quite a budget hotel but we only paid 1000rs for tripple room hence cannot complain against the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ddave786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kolkata
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

I visited darjeeling with my family (my wife and two sons) for three days(30.10.10 to 01.11.10) and booked the hotel pineridge on line through cleartrip web site.The first very point which satisfied me is the location of the hotel just on the mall and the safety because of the locational primeness.The hotel looks to be very old (heritage structure) & aristocratic having very big size rooms / spacious but not so well maintained. As the hotel is very prmely located so absence of room service didn't play a big role regarding having foods - all excellent restaurants are well with in very close reach. We enjoyed a lot in Darjeeling in general and because of staying at prime location in particular as during our stay we enjoyed regular cultural program being performed at mall.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gaugang1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.3 km away
Olde Main Bellevue Heritage Hotel
0.7 km away
Hill Crown Retreat
Hill Crown Retreat
#50 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#52 of 94 in Darjeeling
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Seven Seventeen
Seven Seventeen
#12 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.1 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#4 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.7 km away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#17 of 94 in Darjeeling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pineridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pineridge Hotel

Property: Pineridge Hotel
Address: 19 Nehru Road, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,113 - ₹ 2,095
Hotel Class:2 star — Pineridge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing