We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenburn Tea Estate
Ranked #4 of 98 Hotels in Darjeeling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We have just returned after staying at Glenburn for 4 four nights. It was just the rest I needed after having a very busy few days in Sikkim at a Wedding. The Host was perfect, the staff were wonderful the place is just perfect. No stress, no hassle just relaxation. Thanks to all the staff. Yes it is a long journey but worth every penny expecially if you do see the mountains perhaps next time for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinnieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 197 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

We love this elegant small hotel, here's why. The approach? Okay so Its down a very long, winding, bumpy dusty narrow single track lane through the vast tea plantation and you'll prpbably be exhausted by the time you reach the house and wonder what all the fuss is about, you're about to find out.  What about the welcome? Great. We were greeted by an attractive young lady who immediately puts you at your ease by offering tea or coffee before showing you to your suite. So what about these suites, what if I'm travelling alone? No worries because there is a room which used as a single, the rest are suites, seven of them. These suites are in two separate buildings quite close together in the grounds overlooking the tea plantation. The main house or Burra Bungalow has three of the suites and the room. It also serves as the general meeting place for lunch and dinner,  unless you'd prefer to dine alone, this, we were told would be no trouble. There are no suite numbers just names, we had 'Camellia'  in The Water Lily Bungalow, no need for keys, unless you insist. Our suite was perfect with a small terrace offering picture perfect views of the glorious mountains and the Sikkim Hills, the suite next door is almost the same but has a four poster bed and two terraces for you to enjoy the same view. The bathroom? It's huge with a separate shower room, the freebies are green tea based soaps and shampoos. And lets not forget the fluffy white towels. The bed has beautifully locally embroidered cotton sheets. At night it gets cold but you have two heaters in your suite together with an electric blanket and hot water-bottles if you so wish. There is no television in any of the rooms and no Wifi. A further nice touch is the freshly cut flowers everywhere. In each 'Bungalow' there is a common lounge area, outside of which is a large sun terrace where you can sit and meditate, there's chequered marble flooring, potted plants and flowers everywhere alongside the obligatory white wicker furniture. We sat there enjoying tea from a proper teapot, drinking from bone china teacups gazing at the towering hills of Sikkim in front of us. The only sound likely to disturb you are the birds and the soft breeze, apologies for romanticising but frankly it's hard not to, it is an extraordinarily romantic place. Lunch is at the one table so you get a chance to share your thoughts and experiences with the other guests. The food? Delicious! The best to date during our five weeks of travelling in India. The staff? Impeccable, the best. Anything else? Yes. You get a fresh basket of fruit in your room, as much tea and coffee, snacks, cakes, biscuits, soft drinks as you like whenever you want it, all inclusive with the room rate, not bad.What about the booze? You can get what you want, as for wine, here's how it works, you pay for the first glass, the second and third are complimentary and you start to pay again after that, and if you like your G&T's, sorry but you're going to have to pay the full price for all spirits, but if it helps, they are 'healthy' measures. But please note, booze is not cheap here, but you probably guessed that already, besides, whose counting, you're on holiday, enjoy. We did meet guests who told us that they thought the booze was all inclusive, they never thought of themselves as big drinkers, until they got the bill, but that's Devon folk for you. Things to do? Lots! It's a working tea plantation so you can do a day tour, camping, rafting, fishing, hiking, bird watching, visit schools, local villages, main towns, cookery classes, in other words there's plenty to do and enjoy, and if the weather doesn't permit enjoy the complimentary tea and home cooked brownies. By the by they offer complimentary laundry and ironing, it just gets better and better. Any downsides to this piece of heaven on earth? Very few but if I was really nitpicking I'd say that if you decide to stay in Water Lilly you've got a lot of steps to climb to Burra where everything happens in the evening, however I believe the views from Water Lily out-weigh that, after all you're here for that incredible view of Kanchenjunga. Anything else? Well breakfast is served under the tree at Water Lily level, again you share a table with fellow guests. Dinner is like an informal dinner party, all together at one grand table, we loved it and they take into account the guests nationality and prepare appropriate dishes. You might want to pack a few smart items, casual but elegant. There must be some faults surely? Okay there is, but I'm scraping the bottom of the barrel now, there ought to be an impressive fine whiskey collection or brandy for after dinner drinks, there is no heater in the bathroom unless you count the heated towel rail, no minibar, no phone in the room, no sun loungers or hammocks for the sun worshippers and the bathrobes are ridiculously small and the perhaps the greatest sin of all...the plastic hangers!! Lastly, you do feel cut off in the Water Lily, there I've said it. But apart from that I think you'll be very, very pleased with your stay at the most perfect place in India. Our Recommendation: if visiting West Bengal and Sikkim use this hotel as your base, forget other hotels with the possible exception of the Windermere (see my reviews for full explanation) anything worth seeing is a short drive away, I urge you to stay at Glenburn it offers everything the others don't.

Room Tip: Every suite is unique so you'll be fine. The water Lily bungalow offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank caribbeanskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Glenburn is wonderful.our room was truly great and the staff were really helpful. Can't recommend this place enough. Wish I could have stayed longer as the was plenty to do and keep you occupied

Room Tip: I think the waterlilly bungalow rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arden1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in October 2011 and wished we could have stayed for another 5 nights. We arrived at 8 pm on the first night to be greeted by Neilu with drinks in hand as we got out of the car. The service remained this way throughout our stay. We stayed in the new bungalow which are very spacious and private with morning views to the mountains from the windows and verandas. The king size + bed, large bathroom and reading areas were real luxury. The bed tea in the morning on the verandah was a real treat. Drinking our tea and coffee, looking out over the the mountains and hearing the prayer bells in the distance were mermories to last forever.
We enjoyed the nightly BBQ and dinner with the other guests which was a great way to complete another wonderful day at Glenburn. Sanjays presence at most of our dinners was a highlight. Listerning to his stories of the history and charaters of the region were a real highlight of the nights.
A must is the walk to the river camp and the suspension bridge, the tootie dara walk and a walk through the tea picking areas. Lunch at the river camp and tootie dara were to die for. The guides were fantastic, paricularly Prakesh, Neeilma and Sabin. They are all very proud of working for Glenburn are very happy to share their knowledge of the plantation and the region. We took a day trip to Darjeeling from Glenburn. Prakesh was an excellent guide on the day and has an enormous knowledge of the town and the key areas to visit and shop. A must to do in Darjeeling is visit the zoo, the moutaineering muesum and a ride on the toy train ride.
Our 5 night stay at Glenburn exceeded our expectations, the room comfort, the meals, service and friendly staff has left us with memories we will keep forever. We wished we could have stayed another 5 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new bungalow. Large rooms and plenty of privacy. The bed tea in the morning on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peterdeane47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This was our first trip to India. We wanted a special family holiday. We stayed for 5 nights. We really loved the experience and it was very relaxing. We could not have done all we wanted to without Najma organising our trips. We were treated to a special family meal with champagne and cake on the last night and that really ended our trip on a high. The tea tour is so interesting and really makes me appreciate all the cups of tea you get to drink. The guides we had were fabulous, especially Prakesh and were great with the kids. We were in the main house. We loved the rooms but there can be noise from other guests. Not everyone is appreciative and considerate to other guests. We loved the food and ate way too much! We were sad to leave but have memories for life. Would highly recommend this as a family holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rosalind W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
8.0 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 98 in Darjeeling
647 reviews
8.0 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#3 of 98 in Darjeeling
544 reviews
9.1 km away
Cedar Inn
Cedar Inn
#1 of 98 in Darjeeling
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Ging Tea House
Ging Tea House
#7 of 98 in Darjeeling
81 reviews
7.9 km away
Windamere Hotel
Windamere Hotel
#6 of 98 in Darjeeling
324 reviews
8.6 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburn Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburn Tea Estate

Address: Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darjeeling
#3 Family Hotel in Darjeeling
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenburn Tea Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Glenburn Tea Estate Hotel Darjeeling
Glenburn Tea Estate West Bengal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing