We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$159
View deal
Hotels.com
$159
View deal
Vio.com
$120
View deal
Travelocity$159
Priceline$144
ZenHotels.com$162
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (727)
Filter reviews
727 results
Traveller rating
342
241
72
41
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
342
241
72
41
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr badal heritage property old world charm tenzing norgay charming hotel breakfast and dinner british era the ground floor hot water dining hall welcome drink comfortable rooms cold weather wooden flooring oberoi indian fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 727 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2022 via mobile

The property is every inch british. The structure, the interior, the architecture everything Is heritage & british but sadly so is the attitude & the staff training. Least flexible & very tight, snobbish for even simplest of the requests.
breakfast is nice & the property is very close to the market-mall road.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nimish-Doshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2022

Dear Sir,

Our heartfelt gratitude to you !

We will certainly be sharing your feedback with our team members and will take appropriate steps for the same.
Once again we look forward to serving you again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

My Warmest regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Wonderful experience. Very polite and helpful behavior of staffs and delicious food. Amazing hospitality of this hotel really made us happy. Indian, English both types of food items are served in breakfast buffet everyday. Maintenance and cleanliness of this hotel is noticeable.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eugfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Dear Sir,

Our heartfelt gratitude to you !

We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback !

Once again we look forward to serving you again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

My Warmest regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2022

Recently stayed at The Elgin Darjeeling and the stay was excellent.
Staffs we very keen to help and thanks to the Front Office guys for considering all our requests.
Food was very tasty and were prepared as per our requests.
Don't know why there are lots of negative comments recently as per me the property was best for the price we paid.
Looking forward to visiting here again during December End.

Room tip: Book deluxe room if you prefer that heritage charm.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditya_Sen1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Dear Sir,

Our heartfelt gratitude to you !

We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback !

Once again we look forward to serving you again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

My Warmest regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022

Went to Darjeeling 26 to 29 May. Stayed at Attic Suite of Tenzing Norgay building of The Elgin. Rooms were good, staff friendly and property was well maintained. Whole city was visible from the room as were the nearby cloud covered mountains. Food menu though limited was excellent in taste. Best part was the child friendliness including food for children. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank drsaptarshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2022

Dear Sir,

Our heartfelt gratitude to you !

We will be certainly sharing your feedback with our team members and everyone will be delighted to hear of your praise and wonderful feedback !

Once again we look forward to serving you again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

My Warmest regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2022 via mobile

A heritage property as mentioned but maintained poorly. The charm and the legacy of the property is lost and does not give that feel.

I arrived in May for 2 nights but had a miserable experience. They gave me room 61 which was on top with a back road view. The room was warm and had a weird smell too.

Note there was no AC so during a sunny day you are bound to feel warm.

The tarrif for me was approx 14000 per night including breakfast.

The room was pretty warm, and we wanted to rest. As we opened the bed blanket we saw a large insect crawling. My first action was to snap and video to show them. I asked them for help to mere ignorance and saying nothing found.

From ground floor to the highest, the insect will not be at same position..

I was given the room an hour late than mentioned and then 2 hours of harassment for the issue. My only ask was please refund Il checkout. Because for 14000 Rs this was not the experience expected. They were not cooperating with the travel agent Agoda. As a customer I kept making calls to customer care and to Elgin Kolkata office.

At Elgin Darjeeling reception, I was told to talk to Elgin Kolkata office with a lady named Sonali and when I called Sonali she says she cannot help and told ask reception.

Poor hospitality was displayed. I also asked them to merely acknowledge what has happened they denied that too.

It took me 3 hours of my time to charge the travel agent to push for a full refund. Wasted a day of my vacation. I've spoilt my vacations first day and request you not to.

NEVER EVER MAKE A MISTAKE TO BOOK ELGIN DARJEELING.

Room tip: Good at 3000 INR and not worth 10000+ per night
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank rahul_villian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ELGIN GUEST RELATIONS, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2022

Dear Sir !

Darjeeling is a hill station & if you open up the window, insects may fly inside hence we keep the windows close before the guests arrival. On receiving complain from you end, when we inspected, we found that you have kept the windows open. This was not a hotel fault. Moreover, As per your booking policy, the hotel could have refused any refund but as a good will gesture the hotel has cooperated with you by not charging any retention for no fault of the hotel.


The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

My Warmest regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226 /2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations - +91-33-40646300
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews