We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (604)
Filter reviews
604 results
Traveller rating
283
213
59
27
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
213
59
27
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cherry brandy mr badal heritage property old world charm piano player public rooms british era breakfast and dinner charming hotel lounge area hot water bottles reading room high tea the ground floor every evening dining hall common areas
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 604 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

This was one of the best short trips I've had and the credit goes to Darjeeling and the Elgin which hosted us during our stay. However, I believe a hotel is as good as the people who run it and the owners who imbibe the spirit into the property and my heartiest congratulations to all the great people who made sure to look at the smallest details to make sure the trip went better than expected. From Ashok who was most attentive at the dining area, to the ever courteous and most helpful Mr. Badal (not to forget Manish), they have more ownership than many other star properties that I have stayed at, and this is what makes me want to come back again and again... Did I forget the very entertaining piano man, no I shouldn't because he made the food taste better. Mr. Diamond, You have maintained this solitaire so well, hope it remains so in the coming years.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank prosenjitg18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Sir !

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your Himalayan holiday with with us and have returned back with fond memories ! Your feedback is very encouraging for me and my team members and I will certainly be sharing your feedback with Ashok in the dining room and he will be delighted !

Once again thank you so much for your feedback and appreciation! We look forward to serving you again !

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Holidays n the destination chosen was too good n the top up was the images on internet of Elgin Darjeeling . As a luxury vacation for my family we booked the suite room based on the images portrayed. But to our disappointment, they were large truly but was not maintained at all. Same old upholstery, carpets n verse case was the water leakage from several places inside the rooms. Unbeatable fact that after the house keeping did the room, you come and see a towel on the floor duevto water leakage... Of course monsoons are inevitable.
The location, food, restaurant services makes you feel at home and equally privileged to check in each passing day, but the maintenance was definitely not worth the charge we had to pay.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Madame!

Thank you so much for your feedback ! We apologise that we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations !

As the property is a very very busy hotel we have a master plan in place to refurbish and upgrade the suite room and its amenities, this is being already done in a phased manner because we cannot close down the entire hotel and undertake a mass scale refurbishment as this would disrupt normal operations entirely .

We are happy to also let you know that we are soon to open our brand new Tenzing Norgay Wing on the other side of the garden with stste of the art amenities and facilities .

We look forward to serving you again and once again we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the plumbing in your bathroom!

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Lovely to look at - driving up to the Elgin transports you to another time - with its flower beds, quaint gate, driveway and even the short walk to the Reception in the rain...

Indeed the Property is charming and seemingly very well maintained - all freshly painted walls, B/W photos of Nehruji etc on the walls, the beds of Pansies, Petunias...and the nice Lounge to meet for an evening drink. Very civilized.

But sadly the attention to basic details (like broken flush, clogged sink, no control on Hot water in the shower, health faucet suddenly getting hot (yikes!!) etc...was rather sharply disappointing.

In all our 3 days (we were in a group of 5 Botanists), never saw the Manager. Staff were obsequious and ineffective. We were told the Manager has rooms within the hotel - but clearly no impact to the functioning...

Motheaten is the word, not in terms of "modernization" but more to do with lack of caring attitude.

Startlingly, the teabags in the room were also quite poor. Maybe the current Owners/ Managers just don't care - and are quite satisfied with resting on old laurels

Must say the rooms had lovely tall windows - that let in beautiful fresh breeze and scents...

Room Tip: Request Front Garden view
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Dear Sir!

Thank you so much for your feedback and appreciation! As The Elgin is a very old and busy priperty and the management does its best to upkeep the property we apologise that in your case with regards to the bathroom and plumbing issues we were unable to meet or exceed your expectations !

As the property is a very very busy hotel we have a master plan in place to renovate and upgrade the bathroom and amenities of the existing Heritage wing where you were staying . This is being done in a phased manner because we cannot close down the entire hotel and undertake a mass scale renovation as this would disrupt normal operations entirely .

We are happy to also let you know that we are soon to open our brand new Tenzing Norgay Wing in the other side of the garden which State of the art amenities and facilities . Once the Tenzing Nirgay wing is open we will be renovating the remaining rooms and bathrooms in the Heritage wing .

We look forward to serving you again and once again we would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you with regards to the plumbing in your bathroom!

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Beautiful Property. Well Maintained. Nicely Located. Staff is very nice and co-operative and also very good food. Excellent place to relax. Really worth staying. Overall Hospitality is very good. Will like to stay again if ever visited that side in future.

Room Tip: Rooms are well designed. Quite place. You can enjoy the nature.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkgupta999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Sir!

Thank you so much for your feedback and appreciation! We look forward to serving you again ! We are also happy to know that you enjoyed the cozy atmosphere of the various lounges and dining areas of the hotel and the service rendered to you by our team members.

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We visited Darjeeling on 28th may and stayed for 3 nights at Elgin. I must tell that the hospitality given by them was really good and specific requests for food for my 4 year old daughter was well served. I would specifically appreciate and thank Mr. Manish for taking extra care of travel requirements and Ms. Sabina for taking care of our food requirements.
I would specifically urge not to miss

Stayed: May 2018
Thank nirmals371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElginGuestRelations, General Manager at The Elgin, Darjeeling, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Sir / Madame !

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your Himalayan holiday with your family with us and have returned back with fond memories !

Thank you so much for your feedback and appreciation! We look forward to serving you again ! We will certainly let Manish and Sabina know that you were very happy with their personalised service and they would be delighted .

The Elgin was built in 1887 and being a listed heritage property, the Elgin management is doing its level best to preserve the history and ambiance of the property and at the same time also provide our guests with the best of the modern amenities , the idea is to strike the right balance between the old world charm of the yesteryears and the modern amenities of our current times to make the guest experience a truly delightful and memorable one .

Warm regards,
Mr Badal Majumdar,
General Manager,
The Elgin , Darjeeling,
Telephone - +91-354-2257226/2257227
Front Desk Mobile- +91- 8420199177
The Elgin Central Reservations -
+91-33-40646300/301/22269878
Email - reservations@elginhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews