We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet guest house in the centre of noisy Darjeeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Classic Guest house
Ranked #3 of 125 Darjeeling B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This old colonial-era house - the former Dant Kothi because its first Indian owners were dentists from Calcutta - is off the pedestrian Chowrasta in the heart of Darjeeling. Below and way from the noise of the Mall and facing east for the sunrise, it is extremely quiet (well barking dogs in this part of India are ubiquitous and not of the Classic itself). If you like the ambience of a decaying elegance of a middle-class house from the early 20th C or even late 19thC period of the Raj, you will enjoy the Classic. The 4-room guest house on the top floor off Das Road is run by Rajen Singh, a local businessman,while members of the extended family occupy the floors below. Staff are always available, friendly, English-speaking, and more than helpful (e.g. mailing postcards at the post office for me, insisting on accompanying me to ensure I met my car at the right rendez-vous etc.). I hope to return in 2013.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms face the sunrise and the two rooms I stayed in each had balconies. Beds were comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharingasecret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

We were unable to secure return accommodation in Darjeeling prior to our visit to a nearby farm. The owners of Tathagata Farm recommended Classic Guesthouse and helped us to reserve a room. Classic Guesthouse is a bit outdated, but it adds to charm. The rooms are large and comfortable. It is in a central location and most, if not all, rooms have porches with nice views. We had to leave early to catch our flight the next day and assumed it would be too early for breakfast service. They offered breakfast and delivered it promptly so that we left right on time. We were grateful to have a full belly for the ride back down the mountain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaimelthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We went back after visiting in 2011 and it is still the same as it was then.
Good family run guest house with staff who are happy to please you in every way.
well organised from first booking to check out.
We had breakfast every morning in our room looking out over the hills, we had the benefit of some lovely sunny days. Simple home cooked breakfast provided on time and with a smile
The rooms are spacious and clean. Heater and hot water bottles are provided on request as needed. There is hot water available at all times.
The location is superb, Near the Mall but not in the noise of the Mall. Other eating places for evening and lunchtime available within a 5 minute walk. 10 minute walks to see THE mountain, what more can you ask for.
We would not stay anywhere else in Darjeeling. Here's hoping we can come back in 2013

Room Tip: Each room has a charm of its own
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgirlandherdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked a suite for 4 days at xmas and found it to be a good homestay in great location. Wifi worked well, breakfast was served to us in our room (though no meals available) and staff keen to help. Great market atmosphere and tourist festival with music to celebrate xmas nearby. Main problems were constant noise from barking dogs during the night (We spoke to tourists in other hotels who had the same problem, bring ear plugs!). Room was very cold as Indian hotels generally do not have heating. Staff tried to compensate with small heater and hot water bottles. TV worked only 50% of time but plenty of hot water for shower. Lots to do in local area: Tiger Hill fantastic dont miss it, zoological park and mountaineering institute, toy train great. Overall would recommend it. Try to book direct, they speak great english so just call. Navin the booking agent takes lage fee and provides poor service.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bellethorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Classic Guesthouse is highly recommended. Quiet,good views,clean, very helpful and friendly staff.
I cannot praise them enough. It really is a home from home.

My husband arrived at guesthouse unwell and remained there for 10 days to regain his strength. He was looked after extremely well - hot drinks, hot water bottles and a very good doctor. By the time I returned he was much better,

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.1 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
0.4 km away
Dekeling Hotel
Dekeling Hotel
#5 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Summit Swiss Heritage Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Mayfair Darjeeling
Mayfair Darjeeling
#2 of 99 in Darjeeling
658 reviews
0.2 km away
The Elgin, Darjeeling
The Elgin, Darjeeling
#4 of 99 in Darjeeling
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Guest house? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Guest house

Address: C R Das Road | Below Chowrasta, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Darjeeling
Price Range: ₹ 3,359 - ₹ 3,488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Guesthouse is located just below Chowrasta on C.R.Das Road, one minute walking distance from Chowrasta Police Booth and Cafe Coffee Day, on a peaceful location away from the maddening travellers crowd and traffic facing the wide range of panoramic view from part of mountain to Tiger Hill and the lush green valley. All the rooms have its own private balcony. Guests can have breakfast in the garden or in the balcony on a clear day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Classic Guest house reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing