We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money and comfortable place”
Review of Revolver

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Darjeeling
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Revolver
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and comfortable place”
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Booked this hotel for the first two days of our summer trip this year (no rooms were available for the next three days and so, unfortunately had to shift to another place). This is just few minutes from the clock tower. So location was great. The place is really well maintained. Room and washroom was clean. They allow the use of geyser for longer duration, which helped a lot.

The room we got (George) had a wonderful view (not mountains. We actually do not care about mountain views. We love anything which looks good). There were more than one charging point, which is a big plus. This hotel is Beatles themed and the posters in the rooms and also the corridors and common areas add to the ambiance. The owner have a great Beatles related collection. Also there are some good comics in the ground floor dining room common area. So even if the weather is bad you can spend time here.

As this is not a typical hotel, there are certain rules you must follow. But for us most were fun, so we actually liked them. Like keeping the keys in the small letter boxes with combination lock (combinations for both the main gate and your room will be given to you once you check in) and locking the main gate if you are the last to return.

Food here is great. But they do not operate a regular restaurant. So you will have to order in advance. The breakfast platter and the naga dishes (some are really hot) for lunch / dinner are must try items here. They buy the sausages from Keventer's, but cook them much better. We bought their home made Thamba (bamboo shoot and dalley pickle) and it was awesome.

Only problem we faced was the bed was too soft for us. We prefer walking a lot during our travels. And after walking for 6-8 hours, sleeping on a bed that soft was a little uncomfortable.

It was a really enjoyable stay and we hope to book it again on our future trips.

Room Tip: The room 'George' was big and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    58
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
44
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I stayed with my wife for 2 nights in the room "Ringo" of hotel Revolver.The stay was very peaceful.The room is very nice and clean.The ambience is great. Its very attractive. The location of hotel is very good. Just 10 mins walk from Mall Road and Chowrasta.The speciality of this hotel is its food and service. The food is very very tasty. Really finger licking food. Each and every food item in the Menu is excellent in taste be it fish curry, local nepali food, chilli chicken or Omlettes.Special thanks to Mr. Shailesh for being a wonderful host. Very nice,polite and humble guy.Exceptional service. Highly recommended.Looking forward to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 785vivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We visited in 1st week of July for 4N/5D in Revolver where we stayed in room Brian.
Pros:
1. The room was very clean, well maintained, decorated.
2. It was a family kind of hospitality we got from owner, not like a normal business hotel person.
3. The resturant was awsome with very good and homely food and presentation. It was full with lots of good books as well which were our companion at heavy rainy days.
Cons-
Nothing as such, but only cons is that you need to be very punctual about ordering the dinner which they dont accept after 6PM. But this is managable.

Its a great experience staying there and will surely go again.

Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

A wonderful well organised, clean, cozy place .Loved every moment of our stay.A wonderful host Vikas and Manager Sailesh met all our needs with a smile.. ( even arranged our outings amicably).No luxury but a truly memorable stay.Highly recommended budget stay.

Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Subarna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Revolver - We read up the reviews and had to book this place - because of the positive reviews and because it is a themed place to stay. We had no issues with the booking. We mailed Vikash (the owner) and booked the room John, by transferring a minimum amount.
We live a hectic travel life (on work), so we needed to relax. We reached on Sunday, around 4 pm, and just walked down to the mall and chowrasta after freshening up. We had all our breakfasts there, and 3 out of 4 dinners as well. What do you need to go out for when you can stay home and have such excellent meals? The platters, especially the Naga platters were awesome! The breakfast is so filling, especially if you take the morning delight. You don't need to have lunch then, so we just ate out having the roadside momos, which are light and just right. The lobby downstairs has some lovely books and comics to read and also a guitar, which my husband enjoyed playing.
I also loved the locking system. They have a little letter box on the door to each room and you can leave your room key there when you go out. This little key box has its own unlocking number. This is helpful for housekeeping.
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and we will definitely be back. Unfortunately, we didn't meet Vikash till the last day when we were leaving as he hadn't been keeping too well. However, Sailesh made up for it, looking after every need that we had!

Room Tip: Check out the floor plan from the Revolver website and you can choose your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Darjeeling hotels
0.7 km away
Central Heritage Resort and Spa, Darjeeling
0.6 km away
Hotel Sonar Bangla - Darjeeling
0.1 km away
Aliment Hotel
Aliment Hotel
#66 of 98 in Darjeeling
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sinclairs Darjeeling
Sinclairs Darjeeling
#13 of 98 in Darjeeling
312 reviews
0.2 km away
Snow Lion HomeStay
Snow Lion HomeStay
#16 of 98 in Darjeeling
193 reviews
1.0 km away
Central Nirvana Resort, Darjeeling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Revolver? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Revolver

Property: Revolver
Address: 110, Gandhi Road | Behind Union Chapel, Darjeeling 734101, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Darjeeling District > Darjeeling
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 154 Speciality Lodging in Darjeeling
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,000 - ₹ 1,200
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revolver, Darjeeling is a small, cosy hotel with five rooms. When the owners decided to start a small hotel, being fond of music, particularly the Beatles, the owners decided to base the decor on the Beatles memorabilia that they had collected over the years. Accordingly, the hotel was named after the most critically acclaimed album of the Beatles.Based on guest feedback, since the latter half of 2012, all the rooms have been made non-smoking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing