We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Vio.com$622
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
87
9
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
87
9
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern amenities tea estate shiva temple chirping birds sumptuous food beautiful resort approach road hot water valley hospitality lawns mr clouds property flush services properties
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2022 via mobile

Absolutely terrible... There is no proper road leading to this resort. Once we got there the whole place reeked of menthol balls which is very dangerous to health. The views were beautiful but not worth the terrible road. For senior citizens it is too much of a climb to go to the dining room.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vinee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit.
We regret to hear that your experience as you mentioned, at Chamong Chiabari Mountain Retreat did not live up to your expectations. Hence, we have taken good note of your feedback and scrutinized it thoroughly.

As we have informed your travel agent about the approach road condition of the tea estate before our estate and checked with them if they require a expert driver for your pick-up as all drivers are not comfortable driving inside tea estate roads.
We have also raised and resigtered these concern several times with the hills admistration where they finally decided to repair the road condition at their earliest.

We have also informed our room positions and our resort layout to your tarvel agent but they want only one big room for your family of 4+1. If they have ever mentioned about a senior citizen we shall not offered you the same family suite room.
After you reached the resort and as we found you were accompanied with senior citizen, our team has offered you "in room dining" and we prepared special food without onion and garlic as per your order and requirements. The team has also informed you that they shall shift you to the Bungalow rooms at dining room level after one night as we do not have those rooms free on that particular period.

As we are inside a bio organic tea estate, we cannot use certain pesticides/chemicals as they might contaminate the crops. Hence we have to keep certain amenities inside rooms to keep it fresh and pest free for your comfortability during stay with us. Our team has also informed you the same and offered you that they shall re-sanitize the entire room after removing the menthol balls from the cupboard drawers.

Honest feedbacks are always important to us as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide all our guests.

We are sure that you should have enjoyed your stay with our hospitality, delicasies and serenity if you haven't taken a decission of leaving the property within an hour time after reaching.

We still look forward to host you again in future so that you can experience a "True Tea Tourism" with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2022

Great place and one of the best heritage properties to visit. staff is caring. Excellent service. make us feel homely. Cudos to the management to have such trained staff. Excellent food. Chef Mahendra at his best. Property has been mantained in excellent condition. Just one minor suggestion: To increase hot water gyser capacity in all the rooms.

Room tip: All 4 rooms are well mantained and in best condition.
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RajeshS3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with our Heritage property, Tumsong Tea Retreat during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team Tumsong for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable, hence we have noted your recommendation about geyser capacity.
Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope to receive your experience about your stay at Chamong Chiabari Mountain Retreat also.

We are confident that you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
General Manager
Chamong group of resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2022

Entire team is service oriented and they go to any extent to take care of Guest. Though this is a leisure resort, they ensure they provide everything we need for day long meeting. Cant stop to mentioning, food is really awesome and you will miss once you are back. The entire team is really really good and for them Guest really come first.
People with travel sickness need to watch out, some travel will be really pain staking and time taking.
Rooms have all basic amenities, since the resort No fertilizer use resort, you need to watch out of centipede etc.
Overall its a safe, pleasant place. Minimum of Two nights of stay is required

Room tip: Try and get the valley view rooms
Date of stay: June 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrn_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
General Manager
Chamong group of resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2022 via mobile

I really loved this property .. Its far away from Darjeeling main Mall Road.. which i never want to visit again as it was too crowded .. but this was heaven .. we were living in middle of tea gardens .. so peaceful and beautiful ❤️❤️ .. looking forward to visit again

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Travellers1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
General Manager
Chamong group of resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022

We visited the place from 26th to 28th May, 2022 (2 nights stay) in Chamong Chaibadi. I do not want to lengthen my review. Overall, the experience was lifetime and celestial. The hospitality and food were excellent. I should mention Mr Praveen, Shubarna, Mukesh and team for their affection and concerns regarding every minute details. The chef was very mindful of our eating habits and took personal consideration of our cuisine. It is nestled in the midst of untouched nature, away from civilization.
Only 2 suggestions: to have a small cozy gym overlooking the mountains and to have a kids' play area. It is very difficult to have appetite for such delicious food without workout.
Lastly, you must pay attention to the road leading to resort. It is scary while it is raining.
I AM SO VERY SATISFIED WITH YOU.

Room tip: Room 201, 202, 203
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DRNILANJAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sanjoy Banerjee, General Manager at Chamong Chiabari - Mountain Retreat & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2022

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Chamong Group of Resorts!!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our services. I have conveyed your compliments to the team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service. We immensely treasure your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards
General Manager
Chamong Chiabari group of resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews