We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
31
36
12
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
36
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews happy valley tea estate pure vegetarian tea garden cart road hotel is located comfortable stay taxi stand view from the balcony local taxi the hotel staff water shortage main market living room paratha market place travel desk hot water
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We’re torn about how we feel about this hotel. On the one hand, we were treated well by the staff upon arrival, as they seem to be genuinely nice people and even helped us settle a matter with our cabbie (he wanted more money but we had a pre-paid arrangement). We greatly appreciated that, but on the other hand, we booked a jeep and driver through them and he didn’t deliver. We were supposed to hit 3 spots – Tiger Hill for sunrise, Ghoom monastery, and Batista Loop. We didn’t make it to the third stop and our driver just drove us back to the hotel without telling us we weren’t going. When we settled our tab at check-out it was like we were expected to pay the full amount even though we missed out on an attraction, as the staff said ‘it’s just a loop’ and shrugged his shoulders. We were able to talk the price down a bit, but ultimately this encounter just left us disappointed.

Onto the actual hotel – again, we are torn. The room was extremely spacious and offered an amazing view of Happy Valley Tea Estate. However, the linens had some stains, the curtain the living area and ceiling in the bathroom had mildew, and we found a humungous dead spider next to our bed. Also, you’d think that being away from the market would offer some quiet, but I was kept awake by the barking dogs the entire night. We know that’s out of the hotel’s hands because the strays are everywhere, but just something to keep in mind if you’re looking for a quiet stay.

All in all, one night’s stay was more than enough for us and we were more than happy to move on to another hotel for our second night in Darjeeling.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jenn_and_Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Highly recommend the hotel for Travelers with families. The rooms are large and spacious. You can have nice view of the tea garden right from your balcony. The location is great away from crowded market place. The breakfast spread is excellent and so is dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MSVPrasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Can you beat the feeling of enjoying great tea every morning, sitting in the clouds, looking at a tea estate?? That's what this hotel is.
Hotel is located just above Happy valley tea estate, 5 minutes away from Zoo, Rope-way and 30 minutes walk away from city downtown Chowrasta. I liked the location because I prefer to stay little away from City crowd.
Hotel has got almost every thing you expect in a comfort hotel. We got room with great Balcony, since we got suite, it had a nice drawing cum dining room. They pay attention to little things very carefully, like a provisioning of a thermos to keep hot water, jar to keep cookies, tea set, a heater in bedroom, extra quilt.
Hotel is very neat and clean and nicely maintained.
Now Hospitality, Hotel staff is really courtesy and helpful. I can not forget Digen Gurang who gave great tips about the city whenever we walked to him, always humble smiling and he brought everything on the table before you ask him. Security man was responsible and got us wake up early 3:15 am when we planned to visit Tiger hill.
Foooood, What a great food this hotel provided..delicious. I loved all north-Indian food here. Specially Khichdi was Suppperb. You get lot variety like Poori, Paratha, sandwiches etc. Breakfast was buffet and really good. Food is not pricy at all. It is a pure veg restaurant.

The few things were little off, During day time there is lot of noise of traffic, but that hardly matter to me because we used to leave hotel in the morning.
My room did not have many charging points, now a days we need many. Hope these guys can add that easily.

Room Tip: Get a room on 3rd floor to get good view of Tea estate.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeev A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2014

Firstly, as as first time Traveller to Darjeeling, I can say the stay at the Hotel was forgettable while Darjeeling town was an experience. I wouldn't recommend this Hotel to anyone .

We visited in end of Sept 2014 and had booked two months early anticipating the unavailability due to Durga Festival.The Single bedroom apartment we had booked is adequate . Don't be fooled by the brochure provided online, Except the Happy Valley tea estate view and the Darjeeling town view, there is nothing else to boast about the Hotel. The heating is in the form of a single tiny heater which will warm up only one room. Not sure about arrangements in proper Winter time.

The service is below average overall. No coordination between the work staff and Management. Not so accommodating to any requests by us. The weak strength Wifi is available only in the lobby and probably the first floor. No Lifts are available. If you have elderly parents or companions, better book at first floor or better not book this Hotel.

There is a an extreme sort of behavioral attitude in the staff. The Manager doesn't care about you and doesn't apologize for any inconvenience while the Work staff and help are too servile and apologizing for every mistake.

If you are a Non Vegetarian don't stay here. Vegetarians have it worst as the food is not good and there are no closely located restaurants or any sort of stores to begin with. The food is pathetic , don't even know how to make simple pakoras which was half cooked(No Aplogies from the management or the cook) They are located 2km away from Darjeeling town. You will end up shelling 200 rupees cab service just to get into town !!!

Breakfast Buffet (which we opted as meal plan) was alright. But they are preparing it as late as 8am. When majority of the travelers need to head out to town for attractions early as 6 am. Even if you request for an early breakfast , they promise you it will be ready but they completely forget(personally think they don't care). Had requested at least some sandwiches to be packed the previous night for early breakfast , they completely aloof to it. You will end up eating Momos outside somewhere.

Since the main road leading in and out of Darjeeling is located right in front of the Hotel, your sleep will be ruined during the daytime as early as 6am and till 9pm as a result of constant traffic of cabs and tourist vehicles . If you are planning to leave early and stay out roaming late , you have no issues there.

Personal Advice :

If you are a first time visitor to Darjeeling and want Darjeeling experience without the hassles of poor service ,noise and closeness to the town, I would recommend MayFair . If you looking for a Budget stay, you can stay at Hotels which are in the heart of the town like Dekling Hotel . Dekling is close to all the Taxi stand,ATMs, Eateries (Glenary's , Shangrila and even Veg Restaurants) . Rink Mall is a 5 min walk downhill. Chowrasta is 5 min uphill walk.

The reason i said that the Management doesn't care is that they don't have the basic courtesy of taking any sort of Feedback about the service. Written or otherwise.

If the hotel management is reading this(especially the Manager at the front desk), please change your Attitude towards the patrons and show minimum care and concern about the basic needs.

Also, please improve your Room Heating facility, the room was as cold as your indifferent behavior. Thank you.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the 3rd Floor like the one we stayed in . You will have to climb some Flights of stairs as there is no Lift. Please avoid booking this Hotel unless you have no other option . Good Luck
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Charan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014 via mobile

1. Hotel well located opposite the valley but far from main market & hotel denied committed complimentary ( appearing on brichure)drop to mall.
2. Hospitality staff arrives only after AM 8, wheres rooms not checked, cleaned & refills completed to meet requirements till next morning for such late arrivals.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sanjay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyanu1962, General Manager at Krishna Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time out to share your thoughts with us.

It is our constant endeavour to provide top class service to our customers in all parameters. In this regards please let me tell you that our housekeeping staff arrive at 8 am (as you have mentioned) and this is the first time we have received a complaint regarding the same. We have noted down this point and would try our best to resolve the problem. Regarding the complimentary drop to the mall which is there in the brochure, we have stopped the service as there was a complaint from a guest in the past and the same was advised to you when you inquired.

We are sorry for the inconvenience caused and we guaranty you a better stay in the future.

We do hope to serve you again.

With warm regards

Shriharsh Sharma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews