We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and the Best Thai Cuisine in Chennai !”
Review of Benjarong

Benjarong
Ranked #22 of 7,021 Restaurants in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Alwarpet
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Very interesting and authentic menu. When it comes to Pan Asian cuisine, I am bit choosy, but Benjarong makes me feel at home. Great food, good ambiance, excellent service.Benjarong, one of my favorite restaurants in Chennai has introduced "Sea Food Festival" on 28th Jan till 14th Feb 2018. Unlike normal times, this season, first thing that will catch your attention is the array of sea food display at the lounge! You can pick your Fish, Crab, Lobsters a..n..d...you can select from a list of sauces and the kind of cooking you prefer:- steamed, fried or gravy! Wow..! Total delight:). What I like about that place is the authenticity in their cuisine. Like any food enthusiast, drooled over their menu and got to indulge in some of their best Hamour Steamed Fish, Mud Crab Coconut Gravy with steamed rice, Sole Fish crispy fried - from the festival menu. Could not resist their classic items like Tom Yum soup, Som tam Thai (yummy raw pappaya salad), Pandan leaf chicken, Pad Thai Noodles and closing note with Water Chestnut Dessert, not leaving the jasmine tea:). Some of my other favorites are Tung Tong (golden pouches), Grathong Thong Je (non veg tartlets), Tom Kha Keiyw Phak (Soup) and Khao Hom Mali. Special note of thanks to Chef Ramkumar for his effort!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SHarshaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Benjarong a brand of Oriental Cusines Pvt Ltd (OCPL), was the oldest restaurant to bring Thai Food to the city. This has been people’s pick for ages and the quality and taste remain the same after years.

This was the first time at this restaurant and I loved the entire dining experience.

Ambience and service

There is a Buddha statue with lamps. The restaurant was lit beautifully. Care was taken to serve extremely fresh and hot food.

I have to specially mention this. It was pouring the minute I reached the restaurant. We had people bring us in with umbrellas and drop us back to the car the same way. This was an extremely sweet gesture.

Soup

1. Tom Kha (with a surprise) - Traditional Thai coconut cream soup with a tinge of lemongrass and chilli oil, served with prawn wantons. I enjoyed the burst of flavours and textures when I popped the huge piece of wanton in my mouth (You are not supposed to cut it, else you lose the surprise).

Starters

1. Tung Tung - Chicken, water chestnut and vegetables wrapped in wanton paper in the shape of tiny money bags or pouches. The mouth of the bag is wrapped tied with a lemongrass and then deep fried. The tung tung is served with sweet chilli sauce. You are supposed eat the whole piece! That's when you get to taste all the flavours. Don't be awed by the size, this just melts away :)

2. Grathong Thung Gai - Gai translates to chicken. Chicken is wok tossed with rice and pepper. The filling is served in cute little tartlets. (Do read up on how the tartlets are made! This small piece which vanishes within minutes takes hell a lot of time!). Soft and spicy filling with crunchy tarts.... the textures blend so well.

3. Poh Pia Sod Goong - Fresh rice papers are wrapped with vermicelli noodles, fresh vegetables, lemongrass and steamed prawns. This looks like a piece of art when it comes to your table. You can literally see the placement of ingredients inside the rice paper. The dish does not have any spices and has only the taste of the fresh vegetables and prawn. However this comes with a bean sauce, so you're supposed to dip the rolls in the sauce (let them soak) and then take a huge bite.

4. Goong Pakchi Le Prik - grilled prawns with coriander and chilli marinade rolled with zucchini . The prawns were succulent with flavours soaked. The zucchini added the texture to it!

Main Course

1. Kaeng Gai - a huge piece of chicken leg buried in jasmine rice topped with egg. The combination of creamy chicken curry with spices and coconut milk, soft pieces of chicken and the jasmine rice is just

2. Drunken Noodles Gai - Flat noodles stir fried with chicken, bell pepper and basil leaves! Must order dish! This was my favourite

3. Khao Pahd Keow Wahn Gai - Don’t get overwhelmed by the name! Green curry (made with basil) fried rice with chicken. This is again served with a fried egg.

4. Mee Kati Gai - Vermicelli noodles, vegetables and shredded chicken are cooked with rich coconut milk and spices. The dish is served with chicken satays (tastiest).

Dessert

1. Water Chestnuts in Sweetend Chilled Coconut Milk - Doesn’t that sound delicious? There’s a lot happening in your mouth when pop in a spoon of coconut milk and the water chestnuts.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank nithyalakshmisundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

If you want Thai food that does not taste like Indian or Indo-Chinese then Benjarong Chennai is your choice. I ate here twice and was very happy both times.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vijaysekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

On a rainy evening having a festival food is like a luxury. Specially when the chef and the other staff are courteous enough to explain each and every dish to you with patience.
The starters were mind blowing with:
The Tung Tong, golden pouch with water chestnuts and minced vegetables served with sweet chilli sauce was crisp inside out the chestnuts were crunchy.
Gratong thong je minced chicken and veggies served in rice canapes was a blast of flavour.
Poh pia sod je garden fresh rolls filled with choice of veg or prawns. Is a healthy way of eating a spring roll. It's more of a Vietnamese spring roll that is a common thai roll too.
Goong pakchi lae prik grilled prawns with chilli corriander marinate rolled over on strips of zucchini. Succulent and tasty.
The soup needs a special mention for its bursting flavor. Tom Kha keiyw phak, traditional Thai coconut cream soup served with choice of veg or prawn wonton. We totally fell in love with this soup. The subtle flavour of the coconut milk soup bursted with flavor when had with the prawn wonton.
The main course had its own story with each dish.
The beef dish with Jasmine rice, the seafood rice noodles and the Thai green curry rice. All need a special mention.

The dessert with chestnut was a good end to a lovely festival dinner.
Don't forget to light the lamp at the entrance and make a wish this will make your visit to Benjarong complete.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yogitauchil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Very interesting and authentic menu. When it comes to Pan Asian cuisine, I am bit choosy, but Benjarong made me feel at home. Great food, good ambiance, excellent service.My favorites are Tung Tong (golden pouches), Grathong Thong Je (non veg tartlets), Tom Kha Keiyw Phak (Soup) and Khao Hom Mali.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank SHarshaRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benjarong also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Benjarong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing