We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Footprint Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 394 Chennai B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After seeing what money could buy in other parts of India this was an incredible surprise. It is a guesthouse not a home stay however Rucha the manager lives upstairs and one of the staff is here at all times. This is what we would consider a nice place to stay by Aussie standards!
Our room is quite large with AC, tastefully decorated and a clean bathroom. The whole apartment is clean and modern looking and the staff helpful and attentive. They can arrange anything you like. There is even a fridge for self catering (and to keep your beers cold!). Breakfast is supplied and consists of fruit, cereals and eggs your way.
There is a computer with fast internet (Indian fast) that you can access for free and a good rotating library where you can swap books. Rucha supplies plenty of information about the area and one of Chennai's best restaurants is right around the corner. It is not located right in the center of Chennai but in a nice leafy suburb which is only a short TUK TUK ride away from the beach and other sites.
We were originally staying for 2 nights but ended up staying for 5 because we felt so at home. Rucha is the most helpful and friendly person we have met in India. She is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kafmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    37
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
47
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Friendly staff, excellent service, clean and modern rooms and a central location. The staff could not do enough to ensure our comfort. I have no hesitation in recommending footprints to anyone wishing to stay in Chennai. A great place to escape from the hustle and bustle of Chennai. A great thai resturant just down the road too.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squirrel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Myself and my family have been regulars to Foot Print due to various reasons.

It is a simple place with all the facilities. The management and the staff add value to their product. Staff is wonderful and attentive. I must be frank enough to say it is one of the safest places to stay in Chennai. Room rates are affordable to any traveller. Their Indian Breakfast is simple and tasty. Rooms are clean and all the equipment are functional in rooms. What else do you need !!!
My family was more than happy at Foot print. Congratulations to the Management & team ! Please keep up your good work continuing !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Quiet, clean, friendly staff, nice amenities, good neighborhood...can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dct37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at the Footprint for a month while I was in Chennai for work. Upon arriving we were warmly greeted by the caretaker (because the owner was out of town at the time) and checking in was a breeze. The accommodations were amazing! As soon as you walk in you feel calm and at peace, which was extremely important after having to deal with the auto drivers and running around to meetings in the city.

The room was very clean, roomy, and the beds were extremely comfortable. There was always plenty of hot water and the rooms were cleaned regularly.

It is very evident that Rucha really caters to everyone that stays: there were pamphlets on places to eat (including how far it was from the B&B and the price ranges), pamphlets on places to shop, little cards with common Tamil phrases, and also a card with the address, map, and directions in Tamil for those autos drivers that spoke very little English. In addition to this, there were also maps on the walls in the common areas with shopping and restaurants marked in relation to Footprint. All of this information at my finger tips made me feel like I really knew the city/area and made it much easier to get around.

Also, the breakfast that was served every morning was absolutely delicious! Such a treat to also have freshly made dosas, iddlys, poa, or upma; and if you prefer a more western style breakfast they will make eggs and toast for you!

There were a few instances where Rucha really went beyond providing a nice accommodations:

1) My colleagues and I booked the rooms very late, and initially there were a few days were she didn't have rooms free and had offered for us to stay at the Madras Club and pay for the difference! This was extremely sweet of Rucha. It turned out that there were a few cancellations so we could stay at Footprint, which we were very happy about.

2) There was one day where there was a terrible storm and the power was out for most of the day. Rucha felt so bad about this, because it was quite hot (even though with the generator we still had fans), she offered to pay for us to go across the road and spend the day swimming at the Madras club. This was well beyond being accommodating!

3) One night Rucha made dinner for a large group of people from Omaha that were staying there. She offered food for us as well but we had already ordered food. Still she felt bad that she didn't invite us sooner that she brought up Rasmalai and ice cream for desert, which was given to three of us and another couple!


Like I said I was there for work, and unfortunately the nature of our work kept us up late on a number of phone calls back to Boston. I noticed that there were some comments that this B&B felt more like a frat/sorority then a B&B and I found this to be quite unfair to Rucha and does not describe this place at all! But I would like to apologise because I believe that this was directed more towards my work colleagues and I, and not at the place it self, since we would be up late working. We tried to be as quite as possible while we worked, but if we were too loud I wish that we were told this because we would have been extremely accommodating. So I am very sorry and like I said those comments are not a reflection of Footprint by any means.

As long as you like common areas (which there was a common sitting and dining area) and then with very large rooms attached to it, then this is the place to stay! I will be highly recommending this place to everyone, and really believe (after staying in other hotels and B&Bs in Chennai) that this is the only place that people should stay when they visit Chennai - the accommodations, food, location were all perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Somerset Greenways Chennai
#32 of 398 in Chennai
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Alwarpet South
Crowne Plaza Chennai Adyar Park
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 398 in Chennai
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Footprint Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Footprint Bed & Breakfast

Property: Footprint Bed & Breakfast
Address: 108 Chamiers Road | B-4, RM Towers, Chennai 600018, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,145 - ₹ 4,364
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footprint is a private 6-room bed & breakfast located in a quiet, up-market residential neighborhood close to the Boat Club Area in South Chennai. Our B&B is located on the 2nd & 3rd floors of an eight-unit apartment building, situated just behind the ITC Park Sheraton Hotel. The character and interior design of Footprint is contemporary Asian - a fusion of the clean simple lines of Europe with the soft natural feel of South Asia. The rooms are spacious with generous beds, air conditioning, direct dial telephone, television with DTH cable, tea/coffee makers, and ensuite bathrooms. Our B&B is ideal for travellers who want an upmarket accommodation alternative without the stiff price tag of a luxury hotel. It is suitable for - expatriates or corporate travellers on relocation or temporary assignments, leisure travellers transiting through Chennai & corporate travellers. Footprint is open all year-round and available for short and long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Footprint Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Footprint Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Footprint Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing