We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Cascade

Cascade
Ranked #533 of 6,659 Restaurants in Chennai
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Nungambakkam
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I have visited this restaurant many times in the past 10 years. The food is very good and the quantity served is large. It is a value for money when you compare the serving per dish.
It is located at a prime place. Shop for Sarees and dress material - Manmandir is located below. The parking is through Vallet and they park it on the road infront of the restaurant. They have an additional space available for larger family / kitty parties of say 25 members.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    44
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Москва
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The restaurant is very poorly lit - I know that one shouldn't expect to find oneself eating in a limelite when going to a restaurant. Still it was too dark there and I hate eating in poorly lit places. Aircons freezed us.

As for food it was ordinary, without typical Chinese aroma we expected to find (no sesame oil, no trace of wǔxiāngfěn). Dumplings or wantons are nothing special. Soy sauce was terrible.
At least this place is not overpriced. Still for us (me and my husband are well familiar with authentic Chinese cuisine and frequently cook some of its dishes at home) it was just one more place in Chennai we never go to second time. Better cook at home or go to China for authentic dishes.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank M-ia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If you are a tomato soup fan..this is the place”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I tell you this is one of the best places it serves a Tomato Spinach soup which is one of the best I have ever had. Just could not stop from writing a review just for the soup.. :)
You can find it on the menu card that says "Tomyum Spinach Egg Drop".
The rest of the food is that is served is the usual chinese. But definetely tasty.
Definetely value for money.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeepuVivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good chinese food”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

The restaurant looked like to be in one of the posh areas of Chennai - Nungambakkam. We had to wait a while even on a weekday as it was full. I am not sure if they take any prior reservations but it would be worthwhile to find out. The food was pretty good. We also tried out the Phuket fish which was pretty good. The Dim sums are pretty tasty here. We ordered Hakka noodles and Tiger prawns in Hunan style. I think I will go back again to try out other dishes.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RM_732010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Don't miss the 'fried ice-cream'...”
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Been to this place yesterday for lunch with a client. Although this was the first time, I took a client for lunch here, I've been to this place umpteen times for dinner and keep going again for four primary reasons
1. their Chinese stuff is slightly different from the regular joints, so if you are bored of the standard stuff try this
2. their service is quick
3. their portions are king sized. For eg. a bowl of soup here can be shared between 3-4 persons) and hearty hence VFM
4. their fried ice-cream.

Located conveniently at Khadar Nawaz Khan Road, this place has a lot of regular patrons like me and most of us are never disappointed.

Even though their service is quick, the staff is not in a hurry and one doesn't get a 'push' to hasten. Hence with hearty portions, one can have a comfortable time.
Tip: Order leisurely and enjoy the food

Their fried icecream is something which shouldn't be missed. Overall, good VFM for Chinese cuisine in Chennai

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PraksMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascade also viewed

Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 
Chennai, Chennai District
Chennai, Chennai District
 

Been to Cascade? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing