We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Very good customer service at front desk, laundry, and restaurants. You get a free breakfast buffet with the room - has a good variety of Indian and western dishes. Eggs and dosas made fresh upon order, and served to your table by one of the many well trained wait staff.

I was there for a wedding and needed help wearing my sari - reception sent up a female receptionist to help me out!

Also, if you are traveling within India from Chennai, the hotel is willing to hold your extra luggage for you (internal flights DO charge for excess baggage!). Just remember, the hotel does not assume responsibility for your belongings so don't leave anything too important, and lock your luggage if you are concerned. We left ours unlocked and it was just fine.

The hotel's Chinese restaurant - Chin Chin - is very good.

The only downfall is that the hotel's bar draws a somewhat rowdy bunch on Friday and Saturday nights. If you are a single woman or traveling with only women, I suggest you request an escort to your room.

Room Tip: Housekeeping needs a tip BEFORE they fully clean your room. This is nothing to get upset about - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings,

We would like to thank you for having chosen The Residency for your stay in Chennai. It was truly encouraging to read your feedback on tripadvisor. It will help us to serve you better.

Looking forward to personally welcoming you again to The Residency.

Warm regards
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    251
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
139
58
43
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

bad experience. the rooms have damp smel and feels very lousy. the smells as if not opned for years.
the tv is 15 inches and so small that actually its iritaring to watch lying at bed.
the ac gives you the temp of its choice. no matter you change it temp of your choice.
the tv channels are taken from local cable poor picture quality.

i woukd never stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jk25x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Valued Guest
I have made note of your feedback on our product and I am extremely sorry for the all the inconveniences caused during your stay. I assure that remedial measures will be taken on the points highlighted by you. I am sure that you will notice remarkable changes on your next visit.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes.
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Its a nice, decent hotel located very much on the city, near to TNAGAR. The rooms are quite comfortable and equipped with required amenities to take care of your comforts. They have pretty good options for food, the buffet breakfast and dinner has a variety of spread. Chin Chin serves authentic spread of chinese. Loved the variety of Wadas and Chutneys which they serve during breakfast at the restraunt. Staff is very courties and helpfull in nature. Had been staying in this hotel for a good number of times during the past years. The service standard is very much maintained. Very much preferred to stay here.

Room Tip: I found most of the rooms very comfortable and free from any noise pollution, inspite of being locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeru_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings.

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay. I truly appreciate your efforts to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor.

Looking forward to welcoming you to The Residency.

Warm Wishes

D.Charles Fabian
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Nice Location,

Good Service ,Good Buffet with decent options -

Spacious Rooms

Good Eateries outside ,In close proximity to Mount Road ( if you intend to be working out of there)

In House Restaurants are also good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAR0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this review, 21 August 2015
Dear Valued Guest ,

My team and I would like to thank you for taking the time and posting your positive review on The Residency Hotel, Chennai on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable. Encouraging feedbacks from our guests will motivate us to serve you better.

We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to your return.

Kindly feel free to call me for any assistance.

With Warm Regards

S.Venkat N Reddy
General Manager
044 28253434
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2012

the coffee shop & The buffet restaurant are very good places to have a multicuisine food in chennai.Chin Chin , the chinese restaurant is also very good serving excellent hai, indo chinese and the best vegetarian dimsums and stir fried veg. in the whole of chennai.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solomon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 395 in Chennai
835 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 395 in Chennai
970 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 395 in Chennai
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 395 in Chennai
866 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai
319 reviews
Clarion Chennai
#48 of 395 in Chennai
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Property: The Residency
Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 395 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,875 - ₹ 6,136
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing