We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel to Stay in when in Chennai - Highly Recommended”
Review of The Residency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residency
Ranked #31 of 403 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2012

On our recent visit to India we stayed at three different cities and by far "The Residency" in Chennai was the best ! On our first leg of the holiday I stayed for three days at "The Residency" and I was so pleased with the service that I did go back for another 3 days on the last leg of my trip to stay again. The staff are friendly and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable and to top it all , it is very reasonably priced. The toilet and bathroom was very clean and this was surely a reason to go back there again.The residency has a very beautiful dining and breakfast area and you do feel welcomed as soon as you enter it. You have a choice of both continental and Indian food and the chefs are on standby to whip up an item of your choice if you so desire. The hotel has a nice waiting lounge with good decor.Free and fast internet WiFi broadband is also offered to all rooms and I was able to take care of important business matters without any frustration. The service is quick and efficient and we did not have to wait and waste time anywhere. The hotel also has a reasonably priced rental car service with friendly and efficient staff providing this service. I also like the personal touch of the General Manager Mr Charles Fabian who takes time on the background to see that all the guests are well looked after and takes time to even come over to the dining facility to ensure that the guests are well looked after. Overall "The Residency" ticks all the boxes and surely made our overseas holiday a memorable one. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay when in Chennai - India. I am sure alot must go into this by the Management Team to make me have such a high opinion of this hotel ! Thank you to all staff at the Residency !

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darell-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheResidencyChennai, General Manager at The Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest.
Greetings!
I am extremely delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay at "The Residency" and I truly appreciate you taking the time and posting your feedback on The Tripadvisor.
We look forward to your return.
With best wishes
D.Charles Fabian
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 476 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

A good business hotel with all amenities required for a pleasant stay. Staff was very helpfull and courteous. Food was good and reasonably priced. The breakfast buffet is adequate and has a large spread. Rooms were comfortable. Location is good. Only shortcoming is that there is no proper lobby to sit and wait for guests. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Residency ( 8th Jan 12 to 11th Jan 12 ) was a blessing after the Horrible experience at The Checkers. I checked out of The Checkers & checked in at The Residency & was most comfortable then on.The hotel is clean & the rooms are of a good size with all necessary amenities that one would need. Comfortable bed, good lighting & a clean bath area with good quality supplies. The food at the buffet restaurant was great & so also at the Chinese restaurant on the property. For the volume of people that the buffet restaurant handles it is always well maintained the dishes never run empty. Certainly a great experience in Chennai.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The good
Fast trip from the airport.
24 hours check in (you check in at 10pm - you keep the room until 10pm next day). I didn't know and I found it hugely attractive.
Descent breakfast - descent room service at descent prices.
Rooms at 100usd, suites at 150usd.
Very helpful and reactive staff.
Bed and shower ok.
The bad and the ugly
Maintenance - well there is none - only cheap fixing.
Minibar fridge not working - hot coke - hot juice. No one ever showed up excepted someone to replace the warm drinks with chilled ones, which got warm within minutes.
Most of the electric sockets not working or in a very poor condition.
Aircon, when working, at full speed resulting in sub zero temperatures or switch off resulting in tropical temperatures. Nothing in between.
Door lock had to be repaired, internet up and down, and, and, and...... the list goes on and on.
Too much noise waking us up in the wee hours.
Changed rooms 2 times because of problems.

The hotel could be very attractive IF they had a motivated maintenance team. Now, even with a relatively attractive 24hrs check in price I may look for more stable alternatives

Room Tip: check the rooms before committing to one. Go to the higher floors. avoid the elevator area's. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rybremnazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I checked in to the hotel past midnight. the staff were very courteous and friendly. The room (executive room) was spacious and clean. Internet is free, good wi-fi reception in room. Many amneties were provided such as tea/coffee maker, iron and iron board, bath robe, bath slippers etc.
Very good room service. You find many types of foods around the clock and the food was served quite fast! If you are hungry, order the food and go for a quick shower. by the time you return food will be available. I stayed 3 nights, every day i got different meals ordered by me and all of them were quick and tasty.
As in many hotels AC is bit noisy and you can never get them to work... They are either too cold or too warm.
The bed was very comfortable and so were the pillows. You can enjoy the sleep.
Cable TV is available with so many channels.
Complimentary breakfast at the restaurant was very good. They have quite a large buffet spread, from Indian food to continental.
I didn't have time to explore other facilities like the Gym, but i am sure they will be good.
Place is very close to shopping centers of Chennai. It costs about Rs. 50 by trishaw.
If you intend travelling to hotel from airport by Taxi, go for government taxi service at the airport. It takes only 30 to 45 minutes from the airport. Government taxi is only 310 rupees whereas other taxis will charge you from 650 to 750 rupees. Only difference in government taxi is there is no AC and the appearance may not appeal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zamtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 403 in Chennai
881 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 403 in Chennai
953 reviews
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 403 in Chennai
929 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residency

Address: No 49 GN Chetty Road, Chennai 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 403 Hotels in Chennai
Price Range: ₹ 3,438 - ₹ 6,552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residency 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, Expedia, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, Agoda, TravelGuru and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing