We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Travellers”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #224 of 398 Hotels in Chennai
Neyveli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for Travellers”
Reviewed 19 December 2009

I usually come to chennai on short trips often. I make sure i stay near a railway station as my preferred travel is by trains. Egmore has many hotels. Victoria Hotel is strategically located very near the railway station. I have stayed at this hotel two or three times. The hotel is quite good and decent. Room service is also fast and quite good. Last time i stayed there, renovation work was going on. There was no life working because of this and so it was a bit tedious climbing stairs everytime but the staff seemed apologetic about it. The response at the reception is not that great, as they are a bit indifferent, it seemed. Usually room service is what i look for in hotels, as we visitors will need much assistance, for newspapers, water bottles, etc. The prices of food items and water bottles in the hotel were a bit on the higher side, i felt. Though they claim it is a 2 star hotel, i somehow did not get a feel of 2 star. Rooms were ok in size. As i was a single person did not have much problems. Restaurant was also not so great and neither the food. They were ok. Maybe improvements have been made now. It was at least some 3 months back when i went there. They told me that renovation would be over soon. On the whole, the stay was ok.

  • Liked — Very near Egmore Railway station and Central Railway station Chennai
  • Disliked — Ambience and Restaurant
  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeyveliRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    16
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
6
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2009

1] Was in Chennai for my 19 year old son Sanchit's medical check up for one day. Stayed at New Victoria Hotel in two single-bed rooms.
2] Cleanliness inside the hotel & the rooms was quite good.
3] Location, though in front of Egmore railway station, was inside a small, untidy lane.
4] Rooms, though fine as far space & other things were concerned, tvs provided were not of good quality and in one of the rooms, phone was not working properly.
5] Service as such was good.
6] Value wise would rate 2.5-3 points out of 5.
Staff was really good & helpful. Full marks to them.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Pal_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2009

During my stay at Victoria Hotel at Chennai I was allotted Room No. 204. The room was damped and wooden floor without any carpet/ foot mat. Floor was dirty.
No action was taken initially and finally one foot mat was put but the floor was not cleaned.

They have not given proper attention since it is paid by Cleartrip.

Please do not send any guest to this hotel in future.

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Somnathc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel seemed recently renovated & i loved the experience there. The rooms are sparklingly new and spotless, the bed & room clean. Bathroom is also very clean with bath tubs etc. Room service is quick & nice. I stayed in an AC room & i found it pleasurable.
The rates are a bit higher priced but decent enough for a couple of days. They charge around 2200 for a 2 bedroom AC room.
The only problem is the restaurant where the food quantity is very less & the service is slow. They serve the alcohol drinkers fast. Bad restaurant service.
There are restaurants nearby, so no major problem.
Overall nice stay. Rooms are a bit small but enuf for 2 persons.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBloggr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I have been read bad reviews. But nothing like that the hotel New Victoria really Good place to stay with all amenities and many restaurants surrounds. It's really Good place to stay for all Age/ Couples.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maheshmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Hotel Pandian
#90 of 398 in Chennai
181 reviews
Alwarpet South
Treebo Select Fortel
Treebo Select Fortel
#259 of 398 in Chennai
100 reviews
Hotel Park Plaza
#254 of 398 in Chennai
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Marina Inn
Marina Inn
#87 of 398 in Chennai
107 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 398 in Chennai
140 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#277 of 398 in Chennai
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 3 Kennet Lane, Chennai 600008, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 398 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,692 - ₹ 4,423
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Agoda, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing