We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Great Service Excellent Breakfast”
Review of Southern Crest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Southern Crest
Ranked #284 of 398 Hotels in Chennai
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great Location Great Service Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I have stayed here in a group as well as individually. The staff was very accomodating, patient and went out of the way to make our stay comfortable. The rooms were ok and comfortable and a great value for the price. The inroom wired free internet was giving us trouble but the staff changed our room and made us happy. The location is excellent in TNagar with walking distance to Usman Rd, Saravana Store, Pothy's etc. The breakfast was excellent with many new dishes everyday and the lunch/dinner at the restaurant in the hotel was good too at very reasonable prices. I will stay here again when I am in Chennai.

Room Tip: Check internet rates and call hotel directly. You may get a better room if you are willing to wait a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PanditAnil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    36
    19
    8
    16
See reviews for
31
8
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Southern Crest is located Opposite to T-Nagar Social club atVenkat Narayan Road. Close to Many good Restaurants and Shopping malls. Good locality and easy to reach. Approximate 8KM away from Airport. It was pleasant stay in the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor are little spaces
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachinbhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I was told that this is 3 star category hotel and heart of the city.
My entire 8 days stay was ruined based on the above wrong statements.
During check-in, i was asked to fill the form. While filling, the staff asked me that how many years (!!) i was going to stay?
No drinking water offered in the room.
in these days, room was shifted w/o my concern.
Lot & loads of insects found in the room.
Very poor lighting.
Though the break-fast is complementary, food was horrible like their staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rshivv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

I and my family stayed more than a week in this hotel which we found enjoyable. The spice restaurant lived up to its name serving various delicious indian, and singapore delicacies. I particularly liked the fried chicken rice which is a singapore dish found in the hotel's restaurant menu. The waiters are prompt and fast in serving the food in the hotel restaurant.

In the rooms we had clean towels. The staff was slow in cleaning the loo but the laundry service was fast and efficient. All the staff had ready smiles on their faces.

The free morning breakfas buffet was best and won us over. The food was delicious, especially the tasty and aromatic coffee. Briyani for lunch was great too. Everybody was fast in serving in the hotel's restaurant.

We could sleep well in our room. We had to made do with the family room which accomodated the five of us. Only once we had to squeeze in a room where there were only three single beds and then we had two extra beds put in.

The hotel is located well in the city of chennai and near T. Nagar. We liked the food, service and location of the hotel. Last thing, only the air-con was a bit too cold for us to take. Overall, it was the best experience for a holiday trip.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anu_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This hotel returned value of money in city of Chennai. I reached late night and was wondering for quality of sleep in hotel, but really my experience was excellent. I just entered sleep, the moment, I lied on mattress.

Other things were also relatively good in this budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anilkumawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Hotel Raj Palace
#127 of 398 in Chennai
86 reviews
BKR Grand Hotel
#274 of 398 in Chennai
120 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Suriya International Hotel
Suriya International Hotel
#217 of 398 in Chennai
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#37 of 398 in Chennai
261 reviews
The Iris Hotel
#60 of 398 in Chennai
193 reviews
Nungambakkam
Mala Inn
Mala Inn
#283 of 398 in Chennai
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Crest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Crest

Property: Southern Crest
Address: #2 Old | T. Nagar, Chennai- 17, Chennai 600017, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 398 Hotels in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,631 - ₹ 4,685
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We Southern Crest located in the area called T. Nagar ( Entire Shopping World) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Yatra, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Southern Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing