We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, nice and nice!!”
Review of The Royal Regency

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Regency
Ranked #122 of 398 Hotels in Chennai
Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice, nice and nice!!”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I have stayed there for 5 nights, from 29th October 2010 until 3rd November 2010. What can i say about this hotel... hmm... Good, really good, I will recommend this hotel to others. The food are really nice, every night we ordered food from the hotel's restaurant, The front desk staff, waiters also very friendly. Every queries from us will be entertain nicely by them(my wife is the one ask so many questions). Even they will recommend places which we should visited during our stay they. Cleanliness.... also very good. I have read somewhere where the people have commented that the hotel is filthy and smells like toilet... very bad comment because we can find which place is filthy and smells like toilet. Noisy? hahahahaa.... Chennai is a noisiest town. From my room can view railway track and trains will pass by almost every hour. The sound is not irritating as the honk/horn sound from the vehicles. Me and my half sleep peacefully during the nights, Another advantage of the hotel is situated near the public transport. Just a 3 to 5 minutes walk u can reach Chennai Railway Station. U no need to waste u time find a public vehicle to travel, u just have to stand in front of your hotel and in a minute time, a auto(3 tyre vehicle) will be at ur service. hmm.... as a conclusion, we are happy with the Royal Regency Hotel. -Shankar-

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neshdgr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
24
14
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We have booked a Heritage room at this hotel but when we went in the room all we found was cheap furniture, stinking sheets and endless noise from the road.

Inspite of repeated requests to change sheets, nobody turned up till 2 hours. We reached hotel at 4 in the evening, when we ordered food from the menu of 24X7 food service, all they had was sandwiches.

The breakfast(included in price) will be charged if we want to have it in room.We got go into restuarant to have it. The so called WIFI available is at a price of 150 Rupees Per Hour or a Wonderful package of 1500 for two days..I have never seen anybody charge so much for internet all my life.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HCReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chennai hotels

namakkal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

The Rooms are neat & clean....good front desk staff.....very near to railway station...overall relaxed stay

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Good place to stay and good value for money. Rooms are spacious and comfortable.Could do with a couple more room amenities.Staff and service very good. Sumptious breakfast include with room rate.
Would definetly recommened to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jono2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Hotel Royal Regency Chennai, is located at walking distance from chennai central railway station. Good place to stay and good value for money. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. would definetly recommened to others

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank may78bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Pandian
Hotel Pandian
#88 of 398 in Chennai
181 reviews
0.2 km away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 398 in Chennai
140 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Himalaya Residency
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#193 of 398 in Chennai
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Pearl International
Hotel Pearl International
#93 of 398 in Chennai
146 reviews
2.1 km away
La Woods Hotel
La Woods Hotel
#13 of 398 in Chennai
335 reviews
5.0 km away
Sangeetha Sea View
Sangeetha Sea View
#230 of 398 in Chennai
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Regency? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Regency

Property: The Royal Regency
Address: 26/27 Poonamallee High Road | Periamet, Chennai 600003, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,157 - ₹ 4,884
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royal Regency 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Regency is a Boutique hotel with 103 well furnished rooms, a Multi Cuisine Restaurant and 5 Banquet Hall. It is located in between Chennai Central and Chennain Egmore Railway Stations - only 1/2 Km from each. 24 hrs public transport is available from Koyambedu Interstate Bus Terminal and Airport is 18 Km apart. Egmore Museum, Marina Beach, International Leather Hub, Chennai Port, J. Nehru Stadium, Govt. Madras Medical College etc are nearest attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ClearTrip, Yatra, OYO Rooms, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, MakeMyTrip, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Regency Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing