We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Ranked #4 of 386 Hotels in Chennai
Certificate of Excellence
gent, belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I had a 2 night stay at the hotel and can only comment in a positive way.
Staff is professional and very attentive, friendly and they care about your requests.
Food is good, nothing to say about that, I had a fine diner at the rooftop restaurant.
The only downside is that the bar was under renovation during my stay, so limited options for a drink.
Nice and clean rooms, good value for money, I would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling in that part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johanGent_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear johanGent_Belgium,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked the food in the hotel along with your two days stay. Feedback as yours really helps us do better & the team gets inspired.

We appreciate your point of view and welcome you back at the hotel whenever you are in Chennai.

Best Regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    237
    40
    17
    5
See reviews for
114
120
82
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

I guess my expectations for this hotel were rather high as I was coming from the Leela in Delhi but I did not expect my room to smell of mildew and poorly decorated. Furthermore, the bathroom was very small.

On the good side, I had a very good dinner on the roof-top restaurant, over-viewing Chennai and being served very well. The second night I went up to the roof for just a beer but the service was not as good; i.e. They took a long time to get my beer, forgot to bring me an ashtray and did not wipe off the table I sat down at when it was easy to see had a big puddle of water.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deQuincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear deQuincy,

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad you liked the food in the hotel along with the first day of service at our roof-top restaurant 'ASL'. We also are dissapointed to note that you were unhappy with the size of the room & second day of service at ASL. I apologize for the inconvenience caused and would want to ensure our best services on your next visit.

We appreciate your point of view and welcome you back at the hotel whenever you are in Chennai.

Best Regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The staff is very courteous. Rooms are spacious and well kept. And one of the best buffet spreads. Especially the desserts, they are some of the best I have had. I had a 3 day conference in their executive suite, and the service was great there as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RK-Blore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear RK-Blore,

Thanks a lot for your feedback. I am glad that you had a great event at our hotel & you liked the
room, buffet spread and service.

We would like to welcome you at The Raintree Hotel St. Mary's Road on your next visit to Chennai.

Best Regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Excellent large rooms with nice amenities. Food is of excellent quality and generous proportions.

But the only downside is that very close to the Apollo hospital and the Railway station (but bit far from airport). The bar also is a bit noisy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MK_GK_SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raintree18, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear MK_GK_SK,

Thanks a lot for your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you liked the room and food at the hotel, also you have mentioned that you have had the value for money.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
09176622029
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I had 3 nights at Raintree Hotel in Chennai.Hotel and service were really good.Special mention for a food and for a smile service at reception

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Dear Gerardo C,

Vanakkam!

We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful and perfect time at The Raintree Hotel, St. Mary's Road.

It was a delight having you with us. We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Sanjoy Kumar Das
General Manager
9176622029
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chennai hotels
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 386 in Chennai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's

Property: The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
Address: 120 St. Marys Road | Alwarpet, Chennai 600018, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chennai
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chennai
#5 Family Hotel in Chennai
#6 Business Hotel in Chennai
#38 Best Value Hotel in Chennai
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,498 - ₹ 9,556
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five star hotel with 108 state-of-art rooms including 2 suites, swimming pool, gym and health spa. The best "Eco friendly" hotel in South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary`s Hotel Chennai (Madras)
Rain Tree Hotel
The Rain Tree Hotel Chennai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing